[FAS] Music: California in the 60s: Library Guide

Sex, drugs, and rock and roll: the world’s largest private collection of material documenting altered states of mind, mid-20th-century popular culture, and the counterculture. Collection materials are shared between numerous Harvard libraries.

Over 45,000 items from the Grateful Dead Archive at UC Santa Cruz and fan collections, including fan recordings, concert hotline recordings, annotated lyrics, photographs and posters, ephemera like tickets and tshirts, fanzines, and radio interviews.

The Pop Chronicles began airing on Pasadena radio station KRLA in 1969, and followed popular music through the 1950s and 1960s with music, commentary, and interviews. Streaming audio of the complete broadcast archive, from the University of North Texas.

Created by and about the San Francisco anarchist guerrilla street theater group The Diggers, this website includes a history of the group's activities and archival materials like leaflets, manifestos, news clippings, video and audio, and photos.

A freely accessible repository of digitized California newspapers from 1846 to the present. Most predate 1925, but an increasing number of titles include issues from later in the 20th century.

Timothy Leary (1920-1996) was an American psychologist and author, well-known for his experiments on the use of psychodelic drugs. This collection contains a composition written by Timothy Leary during his initial time in prison and letters to and from Leary while in prison and after his escape from prison.

Willis was a founder of Redstockings, a radical feminist group begun in 1969, and, in the 1980s, of No More Nice Girls, a street theater and protest group that focused on abortion rights. A professor of journalism at New York University, Willis was known for her political essays which appeared in The Nation, Dissent, and elsewhere, as well as for her writings on rock music which were published in Rolling Stone, the New Yorker, and the Village Voice.