Research Guides: U.S. Federal Government Resources: Legislative Branch

Harvard Databases

HeinOnline U.S. Federal Legislative Histories Library (Harvard Login)
Provides access to the Sources of Compiled Legislative History Database and the U.S. Federal Legislative History Title Collection.
The HeinOnline U.S. Federal Legislative Histories Library provides access to the Sources of Compiled Legislative History Database and the U.S. Federal Legislative History Title Collection. The Sources of Compiled Legislative History Database is derived from the looseleaf publication Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories: A Bibliography of Government Documents, Periodical Articles, and Books by Nancy P. Johnson. All compilations for major laws are included in the database with the following exceptions: appropriations measures; ceremonial matters; laws that extend the life of an agency or authority; and laws that affect small numbers of persons or specific regions of the country. The sources for these compilations include congressional documents, legal periodicals, treatises and looseleaf services. The U.S. Federal Legislative History Title Collection is a collection of full-text legislative histories on some of the most important and historically significant legislation of our time. In addition to major complete legislative histories this collection includes texts related to legislative histories. ## ##Each page is represented in both high quality image and OCR text formats. As a cost saving measure, HeinOnline does not review the OCR scanned text for errors.
Leadership Connect (Harvard Login)
Contact and biographical information of members of Congress by name and legislative issue with contact information for legislative staff.
Leadership Directories researches contact and biographical data for hundreds of thousands of thought leaders in America - with emails, phone numbers, addresses, and background information. It provides web-based directories with in-depth organization profiles and verified contact information from companies, government agencies, Congressional offices, law firms, news media outlets, healthcare organizations, and nonprofits.

LegiStorm (Harvard Login)
Timely and comprehensive database of contact and biographical information for congress and congressional staff. This resource also includes social media activity, news, CRS reports, executive orders, and press releases.
Proquest Congressional (Harvard Login)
Coverage includes Bills and Laws 1798-present; Committee Prints and Misc. Publications 1817-present; Congressional Record Bound Edition & Predecessors 1789-2001; Congressional Record Daily Edition 1985-present; CRS Reports 1916-present; Hearings 1824-present; House & Senate Documents 1789-present; House & Senate Reports 1789-present; Legislative Histories 1969-present.

Free Resources

Congress.gov
Legislative information from the Library of Congress. Includes access to the full-text of Bills, Laws, the Congressional Record, and Committee Reports.
GovTrack
Government transparency tool which tracks the status of federal legislation and the activities of senators and representatives.
Congressional Budget Office
Produces independent, nonpartisan, analysis of economic and budgetary issues to support the Congressional budget process. Does not make policy recommendations.
National Academy of Public Administration
Chartered by Congress to serve federal, state and local governments, the Academy site contains reports, studies, Congressional testimony and other publications relating to the key public management issues and advisory services to government agencies.
Open CRS: Congressional Research Reports for the People
Project which provides access to CRSs already in the public domain and actively encourages Congress to make all CRSs available to the public.
Project Vote Smart
The backgrounds and records of thousands of political candidates and elected officials including voting records, campaign contributions, public statements, biographical data and evaluations of them generated by over 100 competing special interest groups.
Vital Statistics on Congress
Compiled and updated by the Brookings Institution since 1981, Vital Statistics’ purpose is to collect and provide useful data on America’s first branch of government, including data on the composition of its membership, its formal procedure, informal norms, party structure, and staff.