Legislation
Start with the state government website, which you can find using the State Legislative Websites Directory. For a multi-state or all state comparison, use HeinOnline National Survey of State Laws or Nexis Uni. These sources can also be used to search for regulations or administrative codes and cases. For a comparison of state bills, try the National Conference of State Legislatures bill tracking database first.
Look up a state manual or "blue book." For an internet search, be aware that a state or city may use several domains (gov, us, edu, org, com). Look up the domains at Search government URL. The American Library Association State Agency Database Project lists state depository library programs. For older state publications, use HOLLIS to get Monthly Checklist of State Publications.
- State Legislative Websites DirectoryThis National Conference of State Legislatures database contains information from the home pages and websites of the fifty state legislatures, the District of Columbia and the Territories. Search Bills, Statutes, Constitution, Legislators, Press Rooms, and Program Evaluations.
- National Conference of State LegislaturesNCSL is a bipartisan organization that serves the legislators and staffs of the nation's 50 states, its commonwealths and territories.The site features a 50 state bill tracker database. Publishes State Legislatures (Harvard Login).
- National Survey of State Laws - HeinOnline (Harvard Login)Provides an overall view of some of the most sought-after legal topics in the United States. Users are able to make basic state-by-state comparisons of current state laws. The new 8th edition, along with the 5th-7th editions, are included in database.
For additional sources, visit the Harvard Law School Comparing State Laws and Constitutions research guide.
- Nexis Uni (Harvard Login)Provides access to state legislation, state court cases, bill tracking and state administrative code. In addition, the database can be searched for articles on state and city laws and policy.
- Open StatesThis site from the Sunlight Foundation provides access to state legislative information including pending legislation and legislator votes.
- UrbanLexUrbanLex is a free global database which aims to improve access to the legislation that regulates cities with a focus on housing and land development. Maintained by the Urban Legislation Unit, within the Urban Legislation, Land and Governance Branch of UN-Habitat
- State Legislatures, State Laws, and State RegulationsLinks to each state's legislature, state statutory code, and state administrative or regulatory code. Also provides telephone numbers to state government legislative assembly, legislative reference center, and state law library.
Code & Ordinances
There is no easy way to search all municipal codes at the same time. This HKS Library Fast Answer provides detailed instructions for locating municipal ordinances or codes in Nexis Uni. Please note that major metropolitan areas may have town, city and/or county ordinances that apply depending on what part of the metropolitan area you are researching. In some areas, you may have county and city codes that apply.
Search for reputable NGOs and think tanks in your policy area as they may have expert practioners that monitor changes to state and local code.
Other free resources that provide access to ordinances/codes are listed below:
http://www.amlegal.com/code-library/
https://www.codebook.com/listing
https://library.municode.com/ (links to county/local codes where available),