Library Research Guide for History 97g: "What is Legal History?"

The new Oxford companion to law, ed. by Peter Cane, Joanne Conaghan. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2008, 1306 p.
HOLLIS Record

The Oxford handbook of English law and literature, 1500-1700, edited by Lorna Hutson. Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2017.
Online resource

Handbook of Anglo-American legal history, by Max Radin. Holmes Beach, Fla.: Wm. W. Gaunt, 1993, 612 p. "
HOLLIS Record

Sources of English legal history : law, history, and society in England and Wales, 1750-1950, by A.H. Manchester. London : Butterworths, 1984, 443 p.
HOLLIS Records

English Medieval Legal Documents Wiki

English Medieval Legal Documents Database: A Compilation of Published Sources from 600 to 1535   Not linked to full text. Search in HOLLIS and Internet Archive

For general 15th-18th century British digital libraries, which include law books, see Early English Books Online and Eighteenth Century Collections Online in Finding Primary Sources Online: Digital Libraries/Collections by Region or Language

The making of modern law. Foreign primary sources, 1600-1970  includes regulations, session laws, journals, and codes and commentaries. Largely France, Germany, and Great Britain (and Ireland) with smaller amounts on other European countries and worldwide, especially Mexico and Argentina

The making of modern law. Legal treatises, 1800-1926 offers Anglo-American legal treatises together with some casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, speeches, etc.

Institutes of the Laws of England, by Edward Coke
Search Author: Coke and Title: Institutes in Early English Books Online (EEBO) Advanced Search.

Commentaries on the laws of England, by William Blackstone. 1765-1769. 4 v.
Reprints:
Law School | KD660 .B53 2002x
Location : Lamont KD660 .B52 1765a
Location : Widener WID-LC KD660 .B52 1765a
--Numerous editions in HOLLIS
--Several online eds. including Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) and Yale Blackstone Collection.

legislation.gov.uk. Statutes from 1267 if in force as of 1991. For coverage see their help page.

Statutes of the Realm: printed by command of His Majesty King George the Third. 11 v. in 12
Location : Law School KD130 1235 1993x Folio
Location : Widener Br 67.95 F
Contents : v. I - 20 Henry III to Edward III (1235-1377) -- v. II - Richard II to Henry VII (1377-1509) -- v. III - Henry VIII (1509-1547) -- v. IV pt.1 - Edward VI to 27 Eliz. (1547-1585) -- v. IV pt.2 - 28 Eliz. to James I (1585-1625) -- v. V. - Charles I & Charles II (1625-1660, 1685-1688) -- v. VI - James II, Wiliam & Mary (1685-1694) -- v. VII - William III (1695-1702) -- v. VIII - 1-6 Anne (1702-1707) -- v. IX - 7-13 Anne (1708-1714) -- v. 10. Alphabetical Index -- v. 11. Chronological index
--Via The making of the modern world
--Via Selden Society Publications

Statutes of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland with Notes, References and an Index
29 v. London: George Eyre and Andrew Strahan, 1801-1869
HeinOnline
HathiTrust

The statutes, from the twentieth year of King Henry the Third to the [tenth chapter of the twelfth, thirteenth, and fourteenth years of King George the Sixth] A. D. 1235-1948. Prepared under the editorship of Sir Robert Drayton. 3d rev. ed. 32 v. London, H. M. Stationery Off., 1950-
HOLLIS Record

The statutes at large from Magna charta to [the forty-first year of George III; edited by Owen Ruffhead, revised by Charles Runnington. London, Eyre & Strahan, 1786-[1800]. 14 v.
Location : Documents (Lamont) Br Doc 9000.210
Via Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Via Selden Society Publications (1st 10 v.)
--Appendix of "obsolete and curious acts" in volume 10 (Henry III through Anne) not found in the main sequence.
--Statutes at Large and Statutes of the Realm are compared in Chronological Table of the Statutes
--Contents: vol.1 -- Magna Charta to 33 Hen. VI -- vol.2 -- 1 Edw.IV to 43 Eliz.I -- vol.3 -- 1 Jac.1 to 9 Wm. III -- vol.4 -- 10 Wm.III to 12 Anne -- vol.5 -- 1 Geo. I to 8 Geo. II -- vol.6 -- 9 Geo. II to 25 Geo.II -- vol.7 -- 26 Geo.II to 6 Geo.III -- vol.8 -- 7 Geo.III to 18 Geo.III -- vol.9 -- 19 Geo.III to 25 Geo.III -- vol.10 -- Index of v.1-9 and Appendix -- vol.11 -- 26 Geo.III to 29 Geo.III -- vol.12 -- 30 Geo.III to 34 Geo.III -- vol.13 -- 35 Geo.III to 38 Geo.III -- vol.14 -- 39 Geo.III to 41 Geo.III
--Other editions of the Statutes at Large, are included in Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)

Acts and ordinances of the interregnum, 1642-1660, ed. by C.H. Firth and R.S. Rait for the Statute Law Committee. London: HMSO, 3 v. Location : Law School Special Coll Ref KD130 1642 (Reprint)
Location : Documents (Lamont) Br Doc 850.3
Online version
--Contents : v. 1. Acts and ordinances from 5th March, 1642, to 30th January, 1649 -- v. 2. Acts and ordinances from 9th February, 1649, to 16th March, 1660 -- v. 3. Introduction, chronological table and indices.

Halsbury's statutes of England and Wales. 4th ed. London, : Butterworths, 1985-
HOLLIS  Record with link to online version
Organized by subject and includes the full text of statutes currently in force at the time of publication. Statutes by title via index.

The Laws of England: being a complete statement of the whole law of England, by the Right Honourable the Earl of Halsbury ... and other lawyers. London : Butterworth, 1907-1917
Note:  Vol. 30-31: General index
HathiTrust Full Text
–Laws arranged by topic

HeinOnline English Reports (1220-1865) contains over 100,000 cases published between 1220 and 1865. The English Reports is not a chronological publication. It is a reprint of hundreds of nominate reports, case reporters of specific courts referred to by their creators name. Each case in the English Reports has two citations, an English Reports citation and a nominative citation. Navigation tools include the Case Locator, Chart Tool, and Advanced Search. Browsable by volume, by index and by the Book of Charts.

English Reports available through Commonwealth Legal Information Institute.

The reporters, arranged and characterized with incidental remarks, by John William Wallace. Boston, Soule and Bugbee, 1882, 654 p.
HathiTrust Full Text

Cobbett's complete collection of state trials and proceedings for high treason, and other crimes and misdemeanor from the earliest period to the present time ... from the ninth year of the reign of King Henry, the Second, A.D.1163, to ... [George IV, A.D.1820]. London, R. Bagshaw [etc.] 1809-26.
HathiTrust Full Text

Reports of state trials. New series... 1820 to [1858]..
HathiTrust Full Text.

State Trials were trials for treason and other political offenses including cases where there was some wider political significance.

Old Bailey Online - The Proceedings of the Old Bailey, 1674-1913. The Old Bailey was the central criminal court. In London.

HeinOnline World Trials is a digital collection of transcripts and accounts of trials as well as works that analyze and debate famous trials and biographies of well-known trial lawyers.

Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926 contains books and pamphlets, official and unofficial trial documents and materials, legal transcripts, administrative proceedings, and arbitrations. Includes published trial transcripts and popular printed accounts published in Great Britain or the US.

The Gunpowder Plot of 1605: The trial of Guy Fawkes and other

Assizes were courts held periodically in each British county to administer civil and criminal law. Abolishes in 1972.

To find assizes in HOLLIS, search: Great Britain. Assizes as author.

Research Guides:
Assizes - Criminal Trials
Assizes: criminal trials 1559-1971

Court of quarter sessions were county courts held quarterly each year.

Early eighteenth century newspaper reports emphasizes reports of crime and punishment

John Johnson Collection: an archive of printed ephemera (18th-20th centuries). Collection, housed in the Bodleian Library, Oxford, documents everyday life in Britain. Includes section on Crimes, murders and executions.

Villainy detected!: crime and consequences in Britain and America in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries is an online guide for crime and criminality in the 18th and 19th centuries, both in fact and fiction. Includes contemporary reports and statistics, and fictional accounts.

Dying Speeches and Bloody Murders: Crime Broadsides (1707-1891) includes over 500 broadsides sold to audiences at public executions in Britain.

Locating histories of crime: a bibliographical study, by P King. British Journal of Criminology, vol. 39, issue 1, p. 161-174.