Primary Sources
U.S. Supreme Court Library (HeinOnline) offers Supreme Court cases published in the U.S. Reports from volume 1 (1754), supplemented with the recent U.S. Reports Preliminary Prints and U.S. Reports Slip Opinions. Also includes several books and journals on the Supreme Court.
Supreme Court Insight offers full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases, including per decision, dockets, oral arguments, joint appendices and amicus briefs, 1933- .
U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs 1832-1978
- Choose Advanced Search
- Select a Specific Content type: Legal
- Narrow to Briefs, Pleadings and Motions on left.
- Under Source, enter Supreme Court
- Enter your search terms
- Narrow as needed on left
LII: U.S. Supreme Court Collection provides access to the full-text decisions (1990- ) of the U.S. Supreme Court.
United States Supreme Court Transcripts, October 01, 1979 through current in Nexis Uni
Landmark briefs and arguments of the Supreme Court of the United States: Constitutional Law. Washington: University Publications of America, 1975-
Law School | KF101.8 .K87
--Highly selective. Series begins with 1792.
Appellate case files of the Supreme Court of the United States, 1792-1831. 96 microfilm reels.
Law School | Mic | US 503 (Drawers 877-878) Guide in Mic Ref.
Law School | Mic Ref | US 503 Guide, 12 pp.
The Joseph Story Digital Suite combines all of the primary source materials produced by Joseph Story (1779–1845), a Supreme Court justice, 1811-1845, and held by Harvard Law School Library.
The Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr. Digital Suite combines all of the primary source materials produced by Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr. (1841 –1935), Supreme Court justice, and held by Harvard Law School Library.
Reference, Context, Background
Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States This new edition of the Companion has been fully updated and includes new entries on key cases and full treatment of crucial areas of constitutional law, such as abortion, freedom of religion, school desegregation, freedom of speech, voting rights, military tribunals, and the rights of the accused.
Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions Includes all 400 entries on major Supreme Court cases through history published in the Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States, in addition to approximately 45 new entries for the post-1991 decisions. It also gives entries on the U.S. Constitution, and the nominations and successions of justices. Terms covered in the Companion are briefly defined and explained, and a complete case list is given. Print version:
Lamont | REFERENCE | KF4548 .O97 1999
Law School | Harvard Depository | KF4548 .O97 1999
Widener | Harvard Depository
Supreme Court Compendium Presents historical and statistical information on the U.S. Supreme Court, including its history, development as an institution, the justices’ backgrounds, nominations, and confirmations, and the Court’s relationship with the public and other governmental and judicial bodies. Provides the ability to save data from many tables in Excel and export to quantitative data analysis programs such as SPSS.
Oyez Project A multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and its work. Authoritative source for: all audio recorded in the Court since the installation of a recording system in October 1955; information on all justices; and cases. Take a virtual reality 'tour' of portions of the Supreme Court building, including the chambers of some of the justices.
History of the Federal Judiciary
Biography
Supreme Court justices: a biographical dictionary, by Timothy L. Hall. New York: Facts on File, 2001.
The Supreme Court justices : illustrated biographies, 1789-2012, ed. by Clare Cushman, the Supreme Court Historical Society. Third edition. Thousand Oaks, California : CQ Press, 2013, 562 pages
HOLLIS Record
Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr. Digital Suite