Seed Sources, Summer 2024
Note to students: Personalized suggestions should be considered additional resources to the databases that are described above in this guide.
Assume that if your topic is historically focused on the U.S., for example, you'll also have to use America History and Life; that if it has a political focus, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts will be essential; that if you're seeking materials of an IGO (UN) or an NGO, you'll use the links to custom search engines we've provided -- and so forth.
Research will require you to forage widely in the search environments available to you.
Brent
Potential Leads:
- Intermediate Sanctions (2022), Oxford Bibliographies Online
- Electronically-Monitored Home Confinement (2019), Oxford Bibliographies Online
- Belur, Jyoti, Amy Thornton, Lisa Tompson, Matthew Manning, Aiden Sidebottom, and Kate Bowers. 2020. “A Systematic Review of the Effectiveness of the Electronic Monitoring of Offenders.” Journal of Criminal Justice 68: 101686–18.
Additional Databases: Hein Online Criminal Justice and Criminology Collection
Expert Librarian(s): Michael Leach, Psychology Librarian; Hugh Truslow, Social Sciences Librarian
Brett
Potential Leads:
- Conflict in the Sahel (2024), Oxford Bilbliographies Online
- Plank, F., & Bergmann, J. (2021). The European Union as a Security Actor in the Sahel: Policy Entrapment in EU Foreign Policy. European Review of International Studies, 8(3), 382–412
Additional Databases:: JSTOR Security Studies; AJOL (African Journals Online)l
Expert Librarian(s): James Capobianco, Harvard Kennedy School Library Research and Data Librarian; Bassey Irele, Librarian for African Collections, Widener Library
Christina
Potential Leads:
- Harmon, Christopher C., Randall G. Bowdish, and Brookings Institution, issuing body. 2018. The Terrorist Argument : Modern Advocacy and Propaganda. Washington, DC: Brookings Institution Press.
- Lamloum, Olfa. 2009. The Social History of Hezbollah through its Media. System of Representation and Territorial Inscription. Politix 22 (87):169-187.[in French]
- Hezbollah (2015), Oxford Bibliographies Online
Expert Librarian(s): Keely Wilczek, Harvard Kennedy School Library; Sarah DeMott, Research Librarian for Middle East Studies, Lamont Library
Gabriel
Potential Leads:
- Šipulová, Katarína and David Kosař. Decay Or Erosion? the Role of Informal Institutions in Challenges Faced by Democratic Judiciaries. German Law Journal 24, no. 8 (2023): 1577-1595.
Additional databases: Hein Online
Expert Librarian(s): Deanna Barmakian, Harvard Law School Library; Keely Wilczek, Harvard Kennedy School Library
Grant
Potential Leads:
- Cooper, Camilla G. 2024. Ensuring Lawful Use of Autonomous Weapons: An Operational Perspective. Journal of International Humanitarian Legal Studies, 1–30
Additional Databases: DTIC (Defense Technical Information Center); Hein Online; EBSCO Military and Government Collection; Homeland Security Digital Library
Expert Librarian(s): James Capobianco, Harvard Kennedy School Library Research and Data Librarian
Jasmine
Potential Leads:
- Florant, Aira, Tonyel Edwards, et al. Philanthropy’s Role in Reparations and Building a Culture of Racial Repair. The Bridgespan Group, September 27, 2023
- Reverby Susan M. "An Opportunity of this Kind:” The Milbank Memorial Fund and the U.S. Public Health Service Study of Untreated Syphilis in Tuskegee, A Report to the Milbank Memorial Fund. https://www.milbank.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/04/Reverby_report_4.24.pdf. Published April 4, 2022
Additional Databases:
- Nonprofit Sector Research Guide, Harvard Kennedy School Library
Expert Librarian(s): James Capobianco, Harvard Kennedy School Library Research and Data Librarian
Lawrence
Potential Leads:
- United States-China Relations Since 1949 (2022), Oxford Bibliographies Online
- Zhang, Feng and Richard Ned Lebow. 2020. Taming Sino-American Rivalry. New York, NY: Oxford University Press.
- Gries, Peter Hays, Jennifer L. Prewitt-Freilino, Luz-Eugenia Cox-Fuenzalida, and Qingmin Zhang. 2009. Contentious Histories and the Perception of Threat: China, the United States, and the Korean War—An Experimental Analysis. Journal of East Asian Studies 9 (3): 433–6
Additional Databases: Historical Abstracts; Bibliography of Asian Studies; East View China Databases; Homeland Security Digital Library
Expert Librarian(s): Nancy Hearst, Librarian of the Fairbanks Center for Chinese Studies, HU; Xiao-He Ma, Librarian for Chinese Collections, Harvard Yenching Library
Marilyn
Potential Leads;
- Schlesinger, Arthur M. 1979. Robert Kennedy and His Times. New York: Ballantine Books.
- Palermo, Joseph A. 2003. In His Own Right : the Political Odyssey of Senator Robert F. Kennedy. New York: Columbia University Press.
- Sullivan, Patricia. 2021. Justice Rising : Robert Kennedy's America in Black and White. Cambridge, Massachusetts: The Belknap Press of Harvard University Press.
Additional Databases: America: History and Life
Expert Librarian(s): Fred Burchsted, Librarian for History, Widener Library
Samuel
Potential Leads:
- Catalini, Christian, Alonso de Gortari, and Nihar Shah. 2022. Some Simple Economics of Stablecoins. Annual Review of Financial Economics 14 (1): 117–35.
- Fantacci, Luca, and Lucio Gobbi. 2024. Stablecoins, Central Bank Digital Currencies and US Dollar Hegemony: The Geopolitical Stake of Innovations in Money and Payments. Accounting, Economics, and Law 14 (2): 173–200
Additional Databases: ProQuest One Business [Econ]; Hein Online; ProQuest Congressional [for hearings and gov reports]
Expert Librarian(s): Emilie Codega, Baker Library, HBS ; James Capobianco, Harvard Kennedy School Library Research and Data Librarian
Savannah
Potential Leads:
- Cristosal Human Rights. One Year. Under the State of Exception; Human Rights: A Permanent Measure of Repression and Human Rights Violation, March 27, 2023.
- State of Exception in El Salvador, September 12, 2022. Tom Lantos Human Rights Commission, US House of Representatives.
Additional Databases: Latin American Newsstand; Hein Online; ProQuest Politics Collection
Expert Librarian(s): Anna Assogba, History and Romance Languages, Lamont Library; Deanna Barmakian, Harvard Law School Library
Sean
Additional Databases: Urban Studies Abstracts
Expert Librarian(s): Hugh Truslow, Social Sciences Librarian, Widener; Emily Bell, African American Studies, Lamont Library
Sima
Potential Leads:
- Oleinik, Anton. 2024.Telegram Channels Covering Russia's Invasion of Ukraine: a Comparative Analysis of Large Multilingual Corpora. https://doi.org/10.1007/s42001-023-00240-9.
- Ronzhyn, Alexander, Ana Sofia Cardenal, and Albert Batlle. 2023. Collective Action on Facebook and Telegram During the Russia–Ukraine War. European Conference on Social Media 10 (1): 223–30.
- Russia's War on Ukraine, Slavic and Eurasian Studies at Harvard [library research guide]
Additional Databases: East View Russian Databases; ABSEES (American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies); Think Tank Search
Expert Librarian(s): Hugh Truslow, Social Sciences Librarian; eim, Anna Rakityanskaya, Librarian for Russian and Belarusian Collections, Widener Library; Svetlana Rukhelman, Librarian for the Davis Center for Russian and Eurasian studies, Hu
Stephanie
Potential Leads;
- Kenny, Stephen Coleman, The long fight for connectivity in Milwaukee. December 22, 2022. Transportation for America blog.
- Transportation Policy: Research Guide from the HKS Library
Additional Databases: Urban Studies Abstracts; Hein Online; Think Tank Search
Expert Librarian(s): Alessandra Seiter, Research Librarian, HKS Library
