Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Studying Religion and Media

Research tools for RELI 14 / HDS 2043

News Aggregators

The most efficient way to search for newspaper articles is through a newspaper aggregator. The major ones are listed below. These do tend to be difficult to use, so spend time looking at the search and browse options.

Nexis Uni (Harvard Login)
NexisUni features more than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources from around the world with a new interface allowing for personalization features such as saved searches, alerts, and shared workspaces.

Factiva (Harvard Login)
Database of business and news publications including the Wall Street Journal. To browse recent issues of popular publication like the Wall Street Journal, the Los Angeles Times, and Barron's select News Pages at the top of the screen, Factiva Pages, and then browse titles by date and section.

Alt-Press Watch (Harvard Login)
Full text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.

Ethnic NewsWatch (Harvard Login)
Full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press from 1960 to present.

Historic Newspapers

Major aggregations of historical newspapers dating back to the 17th century. There is also a comprehensive guide to searching newspapers.

America's Historical Newspapers (Harvard login)
Large compendium of newspapers published in the United States from pre-colonial times to the 1990s. Includes African American, Hispanic, and other ethnic papers, and local papers form all 50 states.

NewspaperARCHIVE (Harvard login)
Thousands of historical newspapers from the U.S. The strength of this tool is the inclusion of many small town papers.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers Online (Harvard login)
Another large collection of historical papers. Click the Databases link on the top banner to edit which resources you're searching.

World Newspaper Archive (Harvard login)
The World Newspaper Archive contains historical newspapers from the 19th to early 20th century. This ongoing project currently offers collections from Africa, Latin America, and South Asia. The regional collections can be searched separately or cross- searched with the resource "America's Historical Newspapers".