Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Studying Religion and Media

Research tools for RELI 14 / HDS 2043

Images

Books in the HOLLIS+ Catalog

For books and other materials that deal with satirical depictions, consider using the phrase "Caricatures & cartoons" in combination with geographic or other terms in the "Subject" pull-down of HOLLIS+.

Here are some examples:


Databases and Web Sites

AP Images (Harvard Login)
Searchable database of over 700,000 Associated Press photographs, charts and other graphics from the 1840s to the present. Accompanying captions and credits are also included. Images can be downloaded for later use. This database can be searched by topic, location, date and concept

Archives of American Art
More than 10,000 photographs, letters, sketches and sketchbooks, diaries, printed materials, ephemera, and other documents representing Archives of American Art collections. New images are added on a regular basis. Use keywords to search artists and art world figures.

ARTstor (Harvard Login)
Not-for-profit database of digital images and accompanying scholarly information for use in art history and other humanistic fields of learning, including the related social sciences.

Gallica
Gallica is the digital initiative of the National Library of France. Gallica contains over 1,00,000 digital objects including books, periodicals, maps, manuscripts, images, sound recordings, and scores. Several search options are available as well as themed exhibitions of digital collections, e.g., Voyages en Italie and Voyages en Afrique.

HOLLIS Images
HOLLIS Images is the Harvard Library's dedicated image catalog. It includes content from archives, museums, libraries, and other collections throughout Harvard University. Access to the catalog is open to the general public.

Images of America (Harvard Login)
Includes primary sources and photographs from archives, historical societies and private collections. Images and text can be searched by location, person, event, date, ethic group and organization.

Library of Congress: Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
This collection includes photographs, prints and drawings, and posters and focuses on materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the American people. Note in particular the Swann Collection of Caricature and Cartoon.

Library of Congress: Digital Collections
Library of Congress digital collections provide access to millions of written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas.

New York Public Library: NYPL Digital
Over 700,000 digital images from a wide variety of primary sources including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs, illustrated books, and printed ephemera. Images may be copied or downloaded.

Smithsonian Institution Digital Collections
Search more than 536,000 images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other resources from all of the Smithsonian's museums, archives & libraries. Included are more than 10,000 photographs, letters, sketches and sketchbooks, diaries, printed materials, ephemera, and other documents representing Archives of American Art collections. New images are added on a regular basis. Use keywords to search artists and art world figures.

World Images
WorldImages provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It contains over 80,000 digital images which may be freely used for educational purposes. The images can be located using multiple search indexes and are organized into some 600 subject grouping portfolios.


Grateful acknowledgements to Harvard Library colleagues Keely Wilczek and Jessica Evans Brady.