Hispanic American
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection documents US Hispanic culture, colonial times-1960. Contains advertisements; broadsides, editorials, essays, letters, monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, periodicals, poetry, reviews, short stories, and other materials documenting Hispanic literature and political commentary.
Between the lines : letters between undocumented Mexican and Central American immigrants and their families and Friends, ed. by Larry Siems. Tucson, Ariz.: University of Arizona Press, 1995, 311 p.
HOLLIS Record
HOLLIS Record (1992 ed.)
Rostros y rastros : entrevistas a trabajadores migrantes en Estados Unidos, by Jorge Durand et al. San Luis Potosí, S.L.P.: El Colegio de San Luis, 2002, 204 p.
HOLLIS Record
Migrant Longing :Letter Writing across the U.S.-Mexico Borderlands, by Miroslava Chávez-García. Chapel Hill : University of North Carolina Press, [2018]
Online resource
La vida de los trabajadores latinos contada por ellos mismos, by Anne Bar Din. México: Centro de Investigaciones sobre América Latina y el Caribe: Siglo Veintiuno Editores, 2008, 118 p.
HOLLIS Record
Mexican Labor and World War II: The Bracero Program.
Collection of era photographs, documents, and oral history interviews.
Bracero History Archive
The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America.
Periodical Articles
Chicano Database overs Mexican-American topics 1967 to the present. Scope expanded 1992 to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. Includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database.
HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) (1970- ) indexes scholarly journals published in Latin America or treating Latin American and U.S. Hispanic topics.
Handbook of Latin American studies (1936- ) is a comprehensive annotated bibliography. No full-text available - need to look items in HOLLIS.
Full-text collections
Latino Oral History Collection (New Jersey) (NYPL)
Alexander Street Press Latino Literature
Latino Comics Collection (1993-2012).
Description : approximately 100 items ;
Summary : A selection of some of the country’s best comics illustrated, written, inked and published by Latinos in the US. Also includes two DVDs, several posters and other ephemera. Some of the artists represented in the collection include: Jaime Crespo, José Cabrera, Rafael Navarro, Brian Anderson, Javier Hernández and many others.
HOLLIS Record
Statistics
Census
The Hispanic Population in the United States: 2022
The Hispanic Population in the United States: 2001