History and Literature 97: Decolonization and Migration

Use these databases for faster access to more relevant search results.

► But . . . won't I get all the articles I need with HOLLIS?
HOLLIS will give you a lot of articles, but specialized databases (like those below) can give you more focused results from specific fields of study.

Decolonization: Indigeneity, Education & Society
From 2012 to 2018, this peer-reviewed journal was dedicated to "centering the stories of the colonized and to displacing colonial forms of knowledge production."

Social Science Premium Collection
This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
♦ Sample article: "Becoming Imperialist: Italian Colonies in Fascist Textbooks for Primary Schools"

Africa-Wide Information
This collection comprises twenty-seven African, European and North American databases with close to 2 million records indexing printed texts, maps and music recordings on all topics in African studies.
♦ Sample article: "African Heimat: German colonies in Wilhelmine and Weimar reading books"

Bibliography of Asian Studies
The most comprehensive Western-language resource for research on Asia, with nearly 900,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
♦ Sample article: "American colonial education policy and Filipino labour migration to the US (1900-1935)"

Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies
This database indexes scholarly journals, books, and other sources on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia, and North Africa.

Historical Abstracts
Covering the history of the world since 1450 (except North America), this database provides abstracts for scholarly articles from nearly 2,000 historical journals, as well as books, book chapters, and dissertations. Many articles are available in full text.

America: History and Life
The primary bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, covering over 2,000 journals published worldwide.

Race Relations Abstracts
The primary bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, covering over 2,000 journals published worldwide.