Reference Sources
Reference works like these -- known as subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, companions, introductions, or handbooks -- can be invaluable for providing an overview of a topic, as well as summarizing the scholarly conversation and pointing to key sources, both primary and secondary.
Colonialism: An International, Social, Cultural, and Political Encyclopedia
Includes an excellent survey article on education, with a helpful bibliography
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450
Includes articles on education in various colonial regions, with good bibliographies
Africa and the West - A Documentary History
A fascinating array of primary sources, such as "The role of missionary education for Africans according to the Holy Ghost Fathers, 1858" and "A University for Africa, 1881."
Also included are such unusual documents as Cecil Rhodes's will and a chart of the costs of African animals exported to Western zoos.
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century African History
With nearly two hundred and fifty individually signed entries, the Encyclopedia explores the ways in which the peoples of Africa and their politics, states, societies, economies, environments, cultures and arts were transformed during the course of that Janus-faced century. Combining factual description with evaluation and analysis, the entries tease out patterns from across the continent as a whole, as well as within particular regions and countries.
Post-Colonial Studies: the Key Concepts
This hugely popular A-Z guide provides a comprehensive overview of the issues which characterize post-colonialism: explaining what it is, where it is encountered and the crucial part it plays in debates about race, gender, politics, language and identity. For this third edition over thirty new entries have been added including: Cosmopolitanism Development Fundamentalism Nostalgia Post-colonial cinema Sustainability Trafficking World Englishes. Post-Colonial Studies: The Key Concepts remains an essential guide for anyone studying this vibrant field.
- Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450
Includes articles on education in various colonial regions, with good bibliographies
Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English
Post-Colonial Literatures in English, together with English Literature and American Literature, form one of the three major groupings of literature in English, and, as such, are widely studied around the world. Their significance derives from the richness and variety of experience which they reflect. In three volumes, this Encyclopedia documents the history and development of this body of work and includes original research relating to the literatures of some 50 countries and territories. In more than 1,600 entries written by more than 600 internationally recognized scholars, it explores the effect of the colonial and post-colonial experience on literatures in English worldwide.
