Finding Primary Sources in Print
USING SECONDARY SOURCES:
If you're searching for primary sources on a topic, one good place to look is a secondary source that cites original texts, manuscripts, and archives.
USING SUBJECT HEADINGS:
For archival sources, interviews, and memoirs:
► In the HOLLIS Advanced Search, add these terms as 'Subjects' to the rest of your search: Diaries • Interviews • Sources • Archival resources • Newspapers • Personal Narratives • Biography • Pictorial Works • Comic Books • Caricatures and cartoons • Photographs
► Example: Should I Stay or Should I Go?: To Live in or Leave South Africa
For stories, novels, plays, and films:
► For novels, plays, films, and stories about a topic, add these terms as 'Subjects' in the Advanced Search: Fiction • In Literature • Juvenile fiction • Drama • Poetry • Literary collections
► Example: Better Never Than Late, a collection of interconnected short stories about Nigerian migrants in Belgium
AN IMPORTANT SERIES: British Documents on the End of Empire
Sources for Feature Films and Documentaries
Streaming Video Resources at Harvard: A Guide with Links
Includes databases of historical newsreels, such as The March of Time, and other primary film footage.
The Internet Archive
This huge collection includes much rare historical film, both documentary and dramatic. In the Advanced Search, type your search terms and select the mediatype movies. You can narrow your search results by date, subject, language, etc.
To find films in HOLLIS, use the Advanced Search and limit the Resource Type to Videos/Film.
To find articles and other secondary scholarship about films, use the databases suggested on Film Research at Harvard.