This guide provides links to resources and services to help with your paper for your EC 970 tutorial. If you have questions about Library resources and services, we would be happy to hear from you.
Finding Journal Articles
HOLLIS: HOLLIS is our discovery platform for materials and resources available in the Harvard Library. Includes individual journal articles available through many of the Harvard licensed databases, as well as books, journals, manuscripts, government documents, maps and more listed in a traditional library catalog. Sign in for full access. Our Hollis Help research guide has useful searching tips.
Econlit : Indexes international economic literature. Includes major journals, articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, full-text book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.
ABI/Proquest :Articles from over 1,000 academic management, marketing, and general business journals.
HeinOnline: Database of legal resources, including the Law Journal Library, laws, regulations, some trials and court reports, treaties, monographs, and a variety of other materials covering United States and foreign law.
JSTOR Economics: Full-text journal articles with focus on economics literature.
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Working Papers: Full-text of NBER Working Papers from 1973 to the present. They also have a Law and Economics Program and Working Group.
SSRN: A large collection of working papers mostly authored by prominent university faculty, both pre- and post-publication. These papers cover a range of academic subjects including law, economics, business and public policy topics.
LegalTrac: Indexes major law reviews, legal newspapers, law specialty publications, and bar association journals. [Can only be accessed by using Law Library computers]
Index to Legal Periodicals and Books: Indexes legal journals, law reviews, yearbooks, institutes, statutes, bar association publications, university publications, and government publications.
- Nexis Uni : Includes U.S. primary law and selected secondary sources such as law review articles and legal news.
- Westlaw Public Terminal: Includes U.S. primary law as well as selected secondary sources/commentary. Available in the Research Room on the third floor of the Law Library.
- VitalLaw: Offers primary law and practical commentary on several areas of law such as securities, intellectual property, litigation, etc.
- ALM Intelligence Legal Compass: Includes detailed information on law firms, individual lawyers, in-house counsel, surveys, research, and ranking. [can only be accessed by using Law Library computers]
- EIU Country Data: Economic indicators and forecasts providing data series on economic structure, foreign payments, exchange rates, external debt stock, external debt service, external trade, trends in foreign trade and quarterly indicators.
- Statista: A statistics portal that integrates thousands of diverse topics of data and facts from a wide range of sources onto a single platform. Sources of information include market research, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
- Social Explorer: Presents historical census data for the United States through the use of interactive maps and reports. Currently provides access to data from 1790 to present at census tract, county, state and national level. Also includes statistics on crime, education, health and more.
- Harvard Dataverse: Includes the world's largest collection of social science research data. Collections include data sets from government entities, universities, and individual researchers.
- ICPSR Data Archive: One of the world’s oldest and largest social science data archives; based at the University of Michigan. Covers a wide range of topics including economics and law.
- Additional Economic Data Resources: https://guides.library.harvard.edu/economics
- Additional Law Resources: https://guides.library.harvard.edu/empiricaldatabases
- Additional Financial Resources from Baker Library: https://asklib.library.hbs.edu/faq/205180
- Additional Data and Statistics Research Guides: https://guides.library.harvard.edu/sb.php?subject_id=62462
Citation and Research Management Tools
- Citation and Research Management Tools: Citation and research management tools help you organize your research and keep track of your references. They also make it easy to add citations into the documents you're working on and automatically generate bibliographies in most styles. Harvard supports the use of several citation tools including: EndNote, Mendeley and Zotero.