U.S. Government & Politics
Sources for Context
- CQ Electronic Library Includes the resources CQ Researcher, Encyclopedia of the First Amendment and the Supreme Court Yearbook, among others.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online is a series of selective, discipline-focused, online guides to the essential literature in a subject.
- Oxford Handbooks Online: Political Science offer introductions to topics and critical surveys of the current state of scholarship.
Resources for Journal Articles on U.S. Politics, & Policy
There are hundreds of journal databses to which the Harvard Library subscribes. You can find additional resources on the Databases page.
- Political Science Database indexes the journal literature in political science.
- Policyfile contains public policy reports and studies published by think tanks, university research programs, and other organizations.
- ProQuest Government Periodicals Index covers articles in approximately 170 current federal publications.
Resources for Articles in Interdisciplinary & Related Fields
Indexes in Related Disciplines
- America History & Life is the primary bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
- Historical Abstracts is a reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
- Sociological Abstracts
Finding Books at Harvard
Finding Books Beyond Harvard
Government Documents and Data Resources
- ProQuest Congressional is a collection of legislative and executive publications.
- CQ Press Library
- Data.gov: The home of the U.S. Government's open data.
- LexisNexis State Capital provides access to the legislation and administrative law of all 50 states.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight is a searchable database of statistical information from selected federal, state and international publications.
Selected News Sources
- Factiva is a database of over 8,000 business and news publications in over 20 languages.
- Nexis Uni features over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.
- Politico Pro comprehensive database providing legislative and regulatory insights for policy research.
- National Journal is a collection of resources on U.S.politics and policy, including Hotline and Race Tracker.
- Ethnic NewsWatch is a comprehensive database of publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press.
- Alt-PressWatch provides access to newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.
- ClimateWire is a daily environmental newswire. Includes access to Greenwire and Energywire.