Life Sciences
General -- Animals -- Boston Area -- Botany -- Ecology, Biogeography --Field Notes -- Genetics, Development, Molecular Biology -- Major Figures -- Women
Biodiversity Heritage Library. Documents dating from the 1500s to the present.
Biodiversity Heritage Library Guide
Animal Welfare Act History Digital Collection
AnimalBase: Early Zoological Literature Online offers digitized texts to about 1800 searchable by taxon or work.
Archives from the Boston Metropolitan Park Flora documents an 1894 botanical survey by Olmsted, Olmsted & Eliot of newly acquired woodland reservations.
William Brewster Papers William Brewster (1851-1919) was a Cambridge and Concord amateur ornithologist. His bird collection is in Harvard’s Museum of Comparative Zoology.
University and Jepson Herbaria (UC Berkeley) (1820- ) offers botanists’ correspondence, field notes, photographs focusing on California. Includes material on Mexican and Pacific expeditions, and the formation of the Sierra Club and the Save-the-Redwoods League.
Wellcome Collection includes botanical works.
Botanicus Digital Library offers full text historic botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library.
Early Classics in Biogeography, Distribution, and Diversity Studies: To 1950 is continued by Early Classics in Biogeography, Distribution, and Diversity Studies: 1951 to 1975
Field Notes - Original notes taken by field biologists
Smithsonian Field Books collection
Genetics, Development, Molecular Biology
Linus Pauling and the Race for DNA: A Documentary History Documents, images, audio and video clips documenting the discovery of the structure of DNA
The Embryo Project documents the history of embryos, development, and reproduction.
Codebreakers: makers of modern genetics The papers of 22 scientists and organizations relating to genetics research and biochemistry from the years 1863 to 2008.
The Barbara McClintock Papers at the National Library of Medicine. Barbara McClintock (1902-1992) was an American geneticist and discoverer of genetic transposition
Digital Collections: Cold Springs Harbor Laboratory Library and Archives. Includes personal papers of Barbara McClintock, Hermann J. Muller, James D. Watson together with oral histories of, largely, geneticists and molecular biologists. Also records of the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory.
UCLA Oral History of Human Genetics Project.
Darwin Online All of Darwin’s writings and much else besides
Darwin Correspondence Project offers all of Darwin's correspondence and essays about Victorian science (including women)
Darwin Manuscripts Project (American Museum of Natural History) mis an online, historical and textual edition of Charles Darwin's scientific manuscripts.On this site, you will find a large collection of full color, high-resolution images of faithfully transcribed Darwin manuscripts.
Charles Darwin Letters: UBC Library Digital Collections – Two groups of letters detailing Charles Darwin’s research
Charles Darwin’s Library is a digital edition and virtual reconstruction of the surviving books owned by Charles Darwin. Provides full transcriptions of his annotations and marks.
Darwin Manuscripts: Cambridge Digital Library – Contains nearly the entire extant collection of Darwin’s working scientific papers
Darwin-Hooker Letters: Cambridge Digital Library – Roughly 1,200 pieces of correspondence between Charles Darwin and Joseph Dalton Hooker between 1843 and 1882
Francis Galton includes full text of his publications
Sir Joseph Dalton Hooker was one of the most important botanists of the 19th century and Kew Gardens' most illustrious Director (1865-1885).
Joseph Hooker Collection: Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew - The personal and scientific correspondence of Joseph Hooker, 19th century naturalist and explorer who pioneered the discipline of geographical botany
Jean-Baptiste Lamarck: works and heritage
The Linnaean Correspondence - letters sent and received by Carl Linnaeus, often called "the father of taxonomy." English summaries.
The Linnean Collections contain specimens, manuscripts, letters, books and artwork online.
Alfred Russel Wallace Correspondence Project. More information.
Alfred Russel Wallace Online – The complete writings of 19th century British naturalist Alfred Russel Wallace
Women in Natural History- works by women authors, editors and illustrators