Mind and Brain
The Mackie Family History of Neuroscience Collection: University of Calgary Libraries and Cultural Resources – Selected works from the collection’s nearly 2500 books and journal articles spanning over 350 years in the development of neuroscience
Women's Studies Archive includes the subcollection Women and Health/Mental Health (1965 to 1974) which offers pamphlets, speeches, newsletters, reports, memos, conference papers, mainstream and alternative newspaper stories, and academic journal articles. Also includes special issues of mass periodicals on women's health topics. Select Collections on the upper right
Charcot Collection: Jubilotheque – The papers of 19th century French neurologist Jean-Martin Charcot
Iconographie photographique de la Salpêtrière (Cushing-Whitney Medical Library, Yale University) – Images from the three volume Iconographie photographique de la Salpêtrière, a landmark in medical photography and neurology. Charcot's hospital.
PEP Psychoanalytic Literature Search (American Psychoanalytic Association) (1920-2003) offers almost 30,000 citations, with full text, of periodical articles, books, and book reviews.
PILOTS Database of the National Center for PTSD (Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder) indexes worldwide PTSD literature.
Ticehurst Psychiatric Hospital (a Victorian-era asylum in London) offers archival records, 1792-1925.
Personal narrative from Ticehurst: My Experiences in a Lunatic Asylum, by Herman Charles Merivale
Case Books, 1839-1937 (Wellcome Library) “Crichton Royal Institution Case Books, 1839-1885; Southern Counties Asylum Case Books, 1839-1885; Male Case Books 1840-1937; Female Case Books 1845-1937; Chronic Case Books, 1845-1904; Other Case Books, 1899-1906. Volumes contain the case notes for all patients admitted, and comprise details of admission and patient history”.
History of Phrenology on the Web – includes books, articles, and extracts on phrenology
Oral History of Neuropsychopharmacology offers interviews documenting the first 50 years of neuropsychopharmacology
UCLA History of Public Mental Health (UCLA and the LA County Department of Mental Health).
Personal Narratives
Mental health and survivors' movements and context offers first person narratives of madness
Successful Schizophrenia: Messages, Insights and Wisdom from "Psychiatric Survivors"
Asylum Magazine includes articles by psychiatric patients