Research Databases
- ProQuest Politics Collection (Harvard Login)Comprehensive database of journal articles, dissertations, working papers, etc., with a strong coverage of IR-related materials as well as non-U.S. based publications.
- CIAO Columbia International Affairs Online (Harvard Login)Continuously updated, comprehensive site that curates articles, working papers, policy briefs, conference proceedings, etc. on international relations and related fields, including security studies, international law, and human rights.
- IREON: The International Relations and Area Studies GatewayContains citations (and some full text) on foreign and security policy, international development,
European politics, transatlantic relations, regional and country studies, and global energy and environmental policies through access to the WAO – World Affairs Online database, which is curated by several German international affairs research institutes. - International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) (Harvard Login)Extensive bibliography of international social science literature dating back to 1951, including books, book reviews, book chapters, and journal articles.
- Military & Government Collection (Harvard Login)Indexes current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government and offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and related content.
Major International Relations Journals
The most influential International Relations journals include the following, according to InCites Journal Citation Reports (Harvard Login), and Scimago.*
- Millennium: Journal of International Studies (Harvard Login) Online content 1999-present only; issues from 1971-1998 available in print.
- British Journal of Politics & International Relations (Harvard Login)
- Chinese Journal of International Politics (Harvard Login)
- Common Market Law Review (Harvard Login)
- Conflict Management and Peace Science (Harvard Login)
- Cooperation and Conflict (Harvard Login)
- European Journal of International Relations (Harvard Login)
- Foreign Affairs (Harvard Login)
- Global Environmental Politics (Harvard Login)
- International Affairs (Harvard Login)
- International Interactions (Print Only / Harvard Login)
- International Organization (Harvard Login)
- International Political Sociology (Harvard Login)
- International Security (Harvard Login)
- International Studies Quarterly (Harvard Login)
- International Studies Review (Harvard Login)
- Journal of Common Market Studies (Harvard Login)
- Journal of Conflict Resolution (Harvard Login)
- Journal of Peace Research (Harvard Login)
- Marine Policy (Harvard Login)
- New Political Economy (Harvard Login)
- Review of International Organizations (Harvard Login)
- Review of International Political Economy (Harvard Login)
- Review of International Studies (Harvard Login)
- Security Studies (Harvard Login)
- Security Dialogue (Harvard Login)
- World Politics (Harvard Login)
* For more information on scholarly impact metrics, check the HKS Library Guide to Measuring Your Scholarly Impact.
More ways to explore...
You can also try searching HOLLIS, the library catalog, for journals with subject headings such as International relations -- Periodicals or World politics -- Periodicals.
Gray Literature: HKS Think Tank Search
For policy papers and other publications by international relations and foreign policy think tanks, try our HKS Think Tank Search, a custom Google search across the websites of 1,200+ U.S. and international think tanks.
Simply search using standard Google conventions (i.e. putting quotation marks around phrases):