What is transit-oriented development?
Transit-Oriented Development (TOD) is an urban planning term describing development strategies that maximize the amount of residential, commercial, and recreational space within walking distance of public transportation. TOD typically hinges on mixed-used zoning and land use codes.
Find Books
For books, search for full titles or keywords in HOLLIS, Harvard's library catalog.
When you've found a relevant book, click on the linked subject terms in the book's HOLLIS record or scroll to "Shelf View" at the bottom of the record to find related books.
Featured Books
Find Articles & Reports
Find even more resources in our
Urban Studies & Urban Policy Research Guide
Urban Studies & Urban Policy Research Guide
- Center for Neighborhood Technology: Transit-Oriented DevelopmentResearch and practical publications on transit-oriented development from an organization working toward "equitable, sustainable, and resilient" communities.
- Harvard Joint Center for Housing StudiesHarvard research center focused on issues of housing policy. Reports and memos available on their website.
- Lincoln Institute of Land PolicyProvides a wealth of policy briefs, research reports, and data tools for urban and regional planning and related areas; some research projects have an international focus (particularly Latin America and China).
- RosaP: USDOT Repository & Open Science Access PortalOpen access data and reports from the Bureau of Transportation Statistics, National Transportation Data Archive, National Transportation Library, Federal Highway Administration, Federal Transit Administration, and more.
- TRIDProject of the Transportation Research Board. Largest and most comprehensive collection of worldwide transportation research. Includes research publications and data.
- ULI Case StudiesCase studies from the Urban Land Institute. Search by project type, location, metro area, site size, and more.
Find Data
- Center for Neighborhood Technology: TOD ToolsTransit-oriented development data tools including a Social Impact Calculator, Housing and Transportation Index, and National TOD Database.
- Housing Regulation Database: Massachusetts Municipalities"The searchable database contains a unique, comprehensive set of information on the zoning codes, subdivision requirements, and environmental regulations that as of 2004 governed land use in 187 communities in eastern Massachusetts." Joint initiative of the Pioneer Institute for Public Policy Research and HKS' Rappaport Institute for Greater Boston.
- HUD UserOffers research and datasets on housing, community development, and other topics from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.
- Lincoln Institute of Land PolicyProvides a wealth of policy briefs, research reports, and data tools for urban and regional planning and related areas; some research projects have an international focus (particularly Latin America and China).
- RosaP: USDOT Repository & Open Science Access PortalOpen access data and reports from the Bureau of Transportation Statistics, National Transportation Data Archive, National Transportation Library, Federal Highway Administration, Federal Transit Administration, and more.
- TODEX MAFrom the Center for Housing Data at the Massachusetts Housing Partnership, TODEX is short for "Transit-Oriented Development Explorer." "Developed in 2019, this tool allows you to review densities at all 261 Greater Boston transit stations and picture the great opportunity we have to build more housing near transit."
- TRIDProject of the Transportation Research Board. Largest and most comprehensive collection of worldwide transportation research. Includes research publications and data.