Transportation Policy

Open access data and reports from the Bureau of Transportation Statistics, National Transportation Data Archive, National Transportation Library, Federal Highway Administration, Federal Transit Administration, and more.

Collection of English-language preprints in the mobility/transportation field focused on automobility, including ground vehicles, commercial vehicles, and aerospace and aviation.

Project of the Transportation Research Board. Largest and most comprehensive collection of worldwide transportation research. Includes research publications and data.

Dates back to 1938. Articles, special reports, interviews, business profiles, legislation, forecasting, late news, statistics and financial information on manufacturing and sales on all aspects of the automobile manufacturing industry worldwide.

Magazine about car culture dating back to 1958.

Annual reports from the Federal Highway Administration "containing analyzed statistical information on motor fuel, motor vehicle registrations, driver licenses, highway user taxation, highway mileage, travel, and highway finance. These information are presented in tables as well as selected charts. It has been published annually since 1945."

Journal of the Institute of Transportation Engineers. "Written by and for transportation engineers, transportation planners, and others responsible for the safe and efficient movement of people and goods on our surface transportation systems."

"A multidisciplinary publication that provides for the exchange of scientific evidence in all areas of safety and health, including traffic, workplace, home, and community."

Magazine covering the automotive service and repair industry.

"The Journal provides a forum for those involved in research, design, development, manufacture, operation, servicing and repair of cars, commercial vehicles, public service vehicles, off-highway vehicles and industrial and agricultural tractors throughout the world."

Scientific technical journal for traffic theory and practice.

Bimonthly magazine of the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA). The magazine covers "advances in highway/traffic research and technology, critical national transportation issues, important activities and achievements of FHWA and others in the highway community, specific FHWA program areas, and subjects of interest to highway industry professionals."

"The scope of material contained in the Stapp Journal includes new data on the biomechanics of injury and human tolerance, new methods and tools to study the biomechanics of injury, new developments in occupant protection systems, and new concepts on the biomechanics of injury based on experimental and analytical studies."

Focuses on research, interventions and evaluations within the areas of traffic safety, crash causation, injury prevention and treatment.

Publicly available research on the global automotive industry. Users can filter by geographic region, topic, and year.

Research on road safety from a National University Transportation Center, as designated by USDOT. Led by the UNC Highway Safety Research Center in partnership with five major universities.

Project of the U.S. Department of Energy and Environmental Protection Agency. Offers fuel economy information including statistics on emissions by different types of cars.

Project of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. Provides information about electric vehicles, vehicle emissions, fuel economy, and the role of transportation in global climate change.

Housed at the HKS Taubman Center for State and Local Government. "Aims to provide actionable analysis and practical help for the implementation of AVs to city, state, and federal governments."

Research across a variety of transportation topics focused on reducing motor vehicle crash fatalities. Search for research by topic. IIHS/HLDI also monitors state laws related to highway safety, searchable by topic.

Collection of reports on AVs, including autonomous military vehicles.

Annual compendium of data on transportation with an emphasis on energy consumption by cars and trucks.

"An informal consultative mechanism whose goal is to facilitate international cooperation and strengthen global and regional coordination among UN agencies and other international partners to implement UN General Assembly Resolutions on road safety."

Offers global production statistics dating back to 1999 and sales statistics for the most recent three years.

Road data from 200+ countries and 200+ indicators. Users must create an account to access the Data Warehouse.

Reports on motor vehicle trade data and instructions for creating custom tables with raw trade data. Users must create an account to access custom data.

Maps of over 50 U.S. cities showing the amount of land designated for parking. Created by the Parking Reform Network.

Map of over 1,400 U.S. cities that have changed or eliminated policies related to parking mandates and minimum parking requirements. Created by the Parking Reform Network.

Open access data and reports from the Bureau of Transportation Statistics, National Transportation Data Archive, National Transportation Library, Federal Highway Administration, Federal Transit Administration, and more.

Data downloads from annual compendiums of data on transportation with an emphasis on energy consumption by cars and trucks.

Project of the Transportation Research Board. Largest and most comprehensive collection of worldwide transportation research. Includes research publications and data.

Data and information on uninsured motorists in the U.S. from the Insurance Information Institute.