Find Overviews & Introductions

Encyclopaedia Judaica
Comprehensive listings for concepts and people related to Judaic culture and history

Find Journal Articles

Index to Jewish Periodicals
English-language journal articles related to Judaism and the Middle East. Coverage 1988-present.

Old Testament Abstracts
English-language journal articles and books related to the study of the Old Testament, including theological interpretations and historical and archeological context.

RAMBI: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
Index to articles in English, Hebrew, Yiddish, and other languages. Coverage: 1966-present. Interface searchable in Hebrew and English.

Find Sacred Texts & Commentaries

Search HOLLIS (in Library Catalog) for Bible Pentateuch to find editions of the Torah.

Example:

Search HOLLIS (in Library Catalog) for Bible Pentateuch Commentaries to find commentary on the Torah.

Example:

Also search the name of a rabbinic commentary (e.g., Mishnah, Talmud, Tosefta).

Judaica Division

The Judaica Division on the 3rd floor of Widener Library contains the largest collection of materials related to Jewish life, outside of Israel. Any questions about consulting materials in the Judaica Division should be directed to juddiv@fas.harvard.edu.

Find Bibliographies

Oxford Bibliographies Online - Jewish Studies
Extensive listings of key resources related to sub-topics within Jewish studies.

Search HOLLIS Advanced Search (in Library Catalog) for [name of religion] + bibliography as a subject.

Example: