The Boston Women's Health Book Collective began in 1969 when a small group of women gathered after a workshop on women and their bodies at a Boston-area female liberation conference to talk about some crucial health issues and to confront a medical establishment viewed as paternalistic and condescending. Perhaps best known for their pioneering handbook Our Bodies, Ourselves, published first in 1971 and again with subsequent editions and international adaptations, the Collective helped to create worldwide networks of women involved in health education and advocacy. They also produced Ourselves and Our Children (1978), Changing Bodies, Changing Lives, A Book for Teens on Sex and Relationships (1980), and Ourselves, Growing Older, Women Aging with Knowledge and Power (1987 and 1994), among others. There is related material in the Audiotape Collection of the BWHBC, and the Additional Records of the BWHBC.

The Corner Book Shop, 102 Fourth Ave, New York City, was founded by Eleanor Lowenstein in 1940. It specialized primarily in books on food, cookery, and wine; other specialties were theater, radio, television, puppetry, crime, and psychology. Lowenstein, a Cornell graduate and former social worker, became an internationally renowned expert on cookbooks, and edited two revised editions of Waldo Lincoln's bibliography, American Cookery Books, published by the American Antiquarian Society, 1954 and 1972. The records of the Shop consist of correspondence with customers, some of whom were well known in the culinary field, as well as correspondence with and orders to publishers, shop catalogues and orders from them, and other administrative records.

The Tarentum Book Club was founded in 1901, its object "to bring together women interested in Literature and Science, for the purpose of mental culture." The club's membership was between 35 and 55 and it met once or twice a month between October and June. Meetings included the presentation of a paper by a member on a given topic. The collection consists of an account book, by-laws and constitution, and club yearbooks among other materials.

The Want to Know Club was founded in Martha's Vineyard in 1893 by a group of women active in the Woman's Relief Corps. Membership is limited to twenty women who meet regularly to present papers on topics of interest. Early topics included literary and historical themes, later the scope of the presentations widened to include current events and other topics. The collection consists of a history of the Want to Know Club entitled Twenty Voices, it is the second volume. It contains poems and reminiscences by members, biographies of current members, a short history of the club, and an autograph letter signed by the club archivist concerning the gift of Twenty Voices.

Chartered in 1952, the Wellesley Branch functions as a writing workshop; members criticize each other's manuscripts, discuss publishing problems, and hear guest speakers. The collection consists of a scrapbook containing clippings about the organization and its members, programs, meeting announcements, photos, and samples of the members' work.

Writers for Action is a group of women in Cambridge, Massachusetts, who meet regularly to discuss issues of concern and write letters outlining those concerns to politicians and other public officials. The collection contains minutes, group letters to public figures and some responses.

This collection contains records of student clubs, organizations, and publications at Radcliffe College. Student club records include minutes, financial records, manuscripts, correspondence, programs, and clippings. Included in this collection are the records of the Writing Club.