Search by geographical or an event name, and filter the results by resource type Videos/Film, or use these qualifiers:
For literary works: use “fiction”
For plays: “drama”
For films: “drama” or “motion pictures”
For photography: “pictorial works”
For artwork: “pictorial works”
Some suggested search strings:
World War, 1939-1945 -- Soviet Union -- Fiction
World War, 1939-1945 -- Soviet Union -- drama
World War, 1939-1945 -- Soviet Union -- pictorial works
World War, 1939-1945 -- Soviet Union (filtered by resource type Videos/Film)
Skatov, N. N. Russkai͡a Literatura XX Veka : Prozaiki, Poėty, Dramaturgi : Biobibliograficheskiǐ Slovarʹ. "OLMA-Press Invest,", 2005. (In open access)
Ledkovskai︠a︡-Astman, Marina., et al. Dictionary of Russian Women Writers. Greenwood Press, 1994. (Available online to Harvard users via HathiTrust)
Stevanovic, Bosiljka., et al. Free Voices in Russian Literature, 1950s-1980s : a Bio-Bibliographical Guide. Russica Publishers, 1987. (Available online to Harvard users via HathiTrust)
Bibliography. In Ellis, Frank. The Damned and the Dead: The Eastern Front through the Eyes of the Soviet and Russian Novelists. University Press of Kansas, 2019. (Available online to Harvard users via Project Muse).
Dmitriev, S. S. Khudozhestvenno-istoricheskai︠a︡ Literatura Po Istorii SSSR; Ukazatelʹ dli︠a︡ uchashchikhsi︠a︡ Sredneĭ Shkoly. Izd-Vo Vses. Knizhnoĭ Palaty, 1962. (Available online to Harvard users via HathiTrust)
Bibliography. In Komaromi, Ann, and Morson, Gary Saul. Uncensored: Samizdat Novels and the Quest for Autonomy in Soviet Dissidence. Northwestern University Press, 2015. (Available online to Harvard users via Project Muse).
Bibliography and Notes on Writers. In Seton-Watson, Mary. Scenes from Soviet Life : Soviet Life through Official Literature. BBC Publications, 1986. (Available online to Harvard users via HathiTrust)
James Von Geldern, and Richard Stites. Mass Culture in Soviet Russia: Tales, Poems, Songs, Movies, Plays, and Folklore, 1917–1953. Indiana University Press, 1995. (Available online to Harvard users via Project Muse).
Dralyuk, Boris. 1917 : Stories and Poems from the Russian Revolution. Pushkin Press, 2016. (not available online)
Literature and Arts resources on the Digital Handbook for Research on Soviet History
Columbia University Russian and Early Soviet Sheet Music Collection
Film and Theater: Bibliographic Resources
Many Soviet films and recordings of theater productions, as well as other kinds of visual and audio materials, are available on various social media platforms. You could consult this guide on primary sources for studying Soviet history on social media and browse social media resources on the Digital Handbook for Research on Soviet History.
HOLLIS Images (the Harvard Library’s image catalog, not a replacement for HOLLIS, but a convenient way to search for digital images)
Images. In Research Guides: Digital Resources for Slavic, East European and Eurasian Studies (visual resources at Harvard and in open access elsewhere)
Abramov, Nikolaĭ et al. Kino- i Fotodokumenty Po Istorii Velikogo Okti︠a︡bri︠a︡ : [Katalog, 1917-1920]. Izd-Vo Akademii Nauk SSSR, 1958. (Available online to Harvard users via HathiTrust)
Russian Archives Online (Catalogs for the Russian State Documentary Film and Photo Archive at Krasnogorsk)
Skatov, N. N. Russkai͡a Literatura XX Veka : Prozaiki, Poėty, Dramaturgi : Biobibliograficheskiǐ Slovarʹ. "OLMA-Press Invest,", 2005. (In open access)
Ledkovskai︠a︡-Astman, Marina., et al. Dictionary of Russian Women Writers. Greenwood Press, 1994. (Available online to Harvard users via HathiTrust)
Stevanovic, Bosiljka., et al. Free Voices in Russian Literature, 1950s-1980s : a Bio-Bibliographical Guide. Russica Publishers, 1987. (Available online to Harvard users via HathiTrust)
Bibliography. In Ellis, Frank. The Damned and the Dead: The Eastern Front through the Eyes of the Soviet and Russian Novelists. University Press of Kansas, 2019. (Available online to Harvard users via Project Muse).
Dmitriev, S. S. Khudozhestvenno-istoricheskai︠a︡ Literatura Po Istorii SSSR; Ukazatelʹ dli︠a︡ uchashchikhsi︠a︡ Sredneĭ Shkoly. Izd-Vo Vses. Knizhnoĭ Palaty, 1962. (Available online to Harvard users via HathiTrust)
Bibliography. In Komaromi, Ann, and Morson, Gary Saul. Uncensored: Samizdat Novels and the Quest for Autonomy in Soviet Dissidence. Northwestern University Press, 2015. (Available online to Harvard users via Project Muse).
Bibliography and Notes on Writers. In Seton-Watson, Mary. Scenes from Soviet Life : Soviet Life through Official Literature. BBC Publications, 1986. (Available online to Harvard users via HathiTrust)
James Von Geldern, and Richard Stites. Mass Culture in Soviet Russia: Tales, Poems, Songs, Movies, Plays, and Folklore, 1917–1953. Indiana University Press, 1995. (Available online to Harvard users via Project Muse).
Dralyuk, Boris. 1917 : Stories and Poems from the Russian Revolution. Pushkin Press, 2016. (not available online)
Literature and Arts resources on the Digital Handbook for Research on Soviet History
Columbia University Russian and Early Soviet Sheet Music Collection
Many Soviet films and recordings of theater productions, as well as other kinds of visual and audio materials, are available on various social media platforms. You could consult this guide on primary sources for studying Soviet history on social media and browse social media resources on the Digital Handbook for Research on Soviet History.