Images

Title

Coverage

Producer

Description

Davis Center Collection at the Fung Library : visual collections

Soviet Union

Davis Center for Russian and Eurasian Studies / Harvard University

Davis Center's holdings include fully digitized Soviet Information Bureau photograph collection of approximately 5,780 propaganda photographs from the late 1940's, [Soviet Anti-Bureaucracy Poster Collection], 1800-1993 (inclusive), 1960-1989  (145 images) and other visual collections.

Collection of postcards from various cities of the Soviet Union, 1970-1984 Soviet Union Harvard Library The collection contains 5 commercially produced sets of cards with landscape views of various cities of the Soviet Union and one card with a Primorʹe landscape view.

HOLLIS Images

Global

Harvard Library

The Harvard Library image catalog.  It includes information about slides, photographs, objects and artifacts in the university's libraries, museums and archives.

Russian Theatrical Designs in the Harvard Theatre Collection

Russia

Houghton Library / Harvard Library

The collection includes about 650 theatrical designs and portraits.

Slavic Poster Collection

Soviet Union

Widener Library / Harvard Library

A unique collection of over 1500 posters from Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Poland, Russia, Soviet Union and Ukraine, dating from the beginning of the last quarter of the 20th century until present. 

 

Title

Coverage

Producer

Description

AccuNet/AP multimedia archive

Global

AP

A database of over 700,000 photographs, charts and other graphics from the 1840s to the present. 

Americans in the Land of Lenin: Documentary Photographs of Early Soviet Russia, 1919-1930

Soviet Union

Duke University Libraries

A collection of “750 photographs of every-day life in the Soviet Union (1919-1921 and 1930) from the papers of Robert L. Eichelberger and Frank Whitson Fetter held” by Duke University Libraries.

Blavatnik Archive Soviet Union Blavatnik Archive 113,000 items across 17 collections, including video testimonies, postcards, photographs, posters, drawings, illustrations, diaries, letters, state-issued documents, leaflets, periodicals, and books, related to Soviet history, with emphasis on World War I, World War II, and history of Soviet Jews.

Children’s Books of the Early Soviet Period

Soviet Union

McGill University Libraries

An exhibit by the Rare Books and Special Collections Division of the McGill University Libraries "that draws on an important collection of more than 350 Soviet children's books published in the 1920s and 30s and which are remarkable for their original aesthetic quality, linguistic variety and thematic diversity.”

Explore the Hermitage : Collections Online Russia, Soviet Union, world The State Hermitage Museum Thousands of images from the Hermitage collections in all genres.

The Empire That Was Russia: The Prokudin-Gorskii Photographic Record Recreated

Russia

Library of Congress

“The Sergei Mikhailovich Prokudin-Gorskii Collection features color photographic surveys of the vast Russian Empire made between ca. 1905 and 1915. Frequent subjects among the 2,607 distinct images include people, religious architecture, historic sites, industry and agriculture, public works construction, scenes along water and railway transportation routes, and views of villages and cities. An active photographer and scientist, Prokudin-Gorskii (1863-1944) undertook most of his ambitious color documentary project from 1909 to 1915. The Library of Congress purchased the collection from the photographer's sons in 1948.” 

Hoover Still Image Database

Russia, Eastern Europe

Hoover Institution

Searchable by country and subject. Includes ab. 2000 images from Eastern Europe and Russia.

Natsionalnaia elektronnaia detskaia biblioteka USSR, Russia Russian State Children's Library A open access archive of digitized copies of books, periodicals and slide strips.
Images of Russia and Caucasus Region, 1929-1933 Russia, Caucasus University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee 800 images of Russia and the central Caucasus including the Republic of Georgia and Dagestan from the William O. Field Collection housed at the American Geographical Society Library. (From the collection description)

International Institute of Social History Poster Collection (Amsterdam)

Soviet Union

International Institute of Social History

Includes "posters from government publishing houses mainly from the 1920s and 1930s, and from the 1970s and 1980s," searchable in the catalog. One sampling can be found in the exhibit "The Chairman Smiles." Can also browse many of their collections on Russia.

Изобразительные материалы (НЭБ) Russia National Electronic Library Over 700 digital images from collections of various libraries in Russia, dating from 1699 to present.

Изографические материалы

Russia


Russian National Library

Historical photos, prints, postcards and posters from the Russian history collections of the Russian National Library. Open access. 

ГОСКАТАЛОГ.РФ Russia Ministry of Culture of the Russian Federation National online directory of museum collections of Russian Federation. Includes images of artwork, objects, documents, early books, etc.
Meeting of Fronteers Russia, USA Library of Congress A digital collection of mixed-format materials related to the exploration and settlement of the American West, the parallel exploration and settlement of Siberia and the Russian Far East, and the meeting of the Russian-American frontier in Alaska and the Pacific Northwest. Includes thousands of images.

New York Public Library Digital Gallery

Russia, Eastern Europe, Soviet Union

New York Public Library

Includes a great number of Slavic images, Special collections include:: Icons and Images of Cultures: Plate Books from the Russian Empire, Early Soviet Russia, and Eastern Europe, 1730-1935 , Posters of the Russian Civil War, 1918-1922 , Russia and Eastern Europe in Rare Photographs, 1860-1945.

Russian Posters Collection, 1919-1989 and undated

Soviet Union

Duke University Libraries


A Duke University Libraries’ collection of “75 Russian posters, documenting almost 60 years of Communist political advertising (1920s-1980s).” 

Visualrian.ru (RIA Novosti)

Soviet Union

RIA Novosti


“The RIA Novosti Photo Service is Russia's most comprehensive photo resource, and is the largest such archive in any former Soviet country.  The history of the RIA Novosti Photo Service began in 1941, when it provided visual news coverage for Soviet and foreign media.  Its rich archive includes historical photographs from the 19th century in addition to its unrivaled collection of images by world famous photographers.” 

The Code of Presence: Belarusian Protest Embroideries and Textile Patterns · Online Exhibit Belarus University of Michigan The online exhibit, curated by Dr. Sasha Razor, brings together the protest art of twelve women artists from Belarus, uniting such movements as craftivism and cyberfeminism alongside traditional textile arts.

The Jan Bulhak Digital Collection at the University at Buffalo Libraries

Poland

University at Buffalo Libraries

“The digital collection has 116 photographs from Warsaw, Krakow, Lublin, and the Kresy region, part of Jan Bułhak's 1939 collection entitled "Polska w obrazach fotograficznych Jana Bułhaka" ("Poland in Jan Bułhak’s photographic pictures") .” 

We are part of a larger puzzle Poland APP (Archive of Public Protests) A presentation of the collection of photographs and videos from Polish protests. The originals are hosted by the Instagram account https://www.instagram.com/app________app/.