COVID-19 and the Harvard Library resources

Dear visitors! Please note that because of the COVID-19 outbreak Harvard library's services have changed. Please see the following updates:

The full update on the library services

COVID-19 Open Access Resources (available to Harvard users during the outbreak)

Of special note to researchers in Post-Soviet and East European studies:

National Electronic Library of Russia (Национальная электронная библиотека) created a stay-at-home portal with access to many books, periodicals, images and historical collections for free or with an online payment option (for current editions). In some cases a user needs to register on the government services portal for access.

East View Publishing has made the library's print subscriptions available online until they are able to resume shipping the print copies.

HathiTrust Emergency temporary online access to books that Harvard owns in print. Be sure to log in by choosing Harvard as the partner institution Details

For more online research options please see:

Digital Resources for Slavic, East European and Eurasian studies

Welcome!

The Harvard Library’s collection includes a robust and constantly growing collection of digital resources for research in Post-Soviet and East European studies. These include databases, indexes, e-books and journals, digitized archives, video streaming services, digital images and other resources. As we add new electronic titles to our collections on a regular basis, please consult HOLLIS catalog and its Databases section for the latest additions or consult our bibliographers for more information. 

In addition, more and more primary and secondary resources are becoming openly accessible online thanks to the efforts of international bibliographic services, national archives, libraries and research institutions. Many of these resources are essential for research in Post-Soviet and Eurasian studies and are included in this guide, along with those held by Harvard.

The guide is organized by resource format in alphabetical order and thereunder by access provider ("Harvard" or "Open Access", the latter broadly understood as all online resources produced and freely accessible outside the Harvard system).

See also:

Slavic and Eurasian Studies at Harvard : Library and Archival Resources

Soviet history: archival resources at Harvard university library and archives

Access to Harvard Library’s digital resources

Most of these collections are available to Harvard students, faculty, and staff members via the HOLLIS catalog.  If you are accessing these resources from within a library at Harvard you will not need to log in. However if you are using your own computer or mobile device, you  will be required to log in with your Harvard Key. If you do not have a Harvard Key, please go to https://key.harvard.edu/ to claim it.

On occasion you will come across an online platform that would require a subscription. There might be a chance that Harvard already has this subscription and in order to have easy access you can click the "Check Harvard Library" bookmark.