Digital Humanities
The Imperia project was conceived and created under the direction of Kelly O'Neill (Davis Center for Russian and Eurasian Studies, History Departemnt, Harvard University). The project applies GIS (geographic information system) methods and tools to a range of historical maps, databases related to demographics, cultural institutions, and economy of the Russian Empire, mostly of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
The MAPA: Digital Atlas of Ukraine program, undertaken by the Ukrainian Research Institute at Harvard University and its partners, brings the latest innovations of information technology to studies of modern Ukrainian history and contemporary political geography. The researchers at HURI conduct their own studies and encourage scholars and students within Harvard community and beyond to use Geographic Information Systems (GIS) for illustrating and explaining economic, historical, political, and social transformations within Ukraine using spatial and temporal analysis. More details about the project.
Working Women of the East is a Digital Humanities Project that empowers users to make new discoveries about the Soviet Union through the lens of the pamphlet series, Truzhenitsa Vostoka (Working Women of the East).
The series was published by the Ministry of Maternity and Infant Care under the auspices of the Central Committee of the All-Russian Community Party between 1927 and 1928. The 30 pamphlets have been deconstructed—you can explore them by text, cover, illustrations, and other paratextual elements. You can compare texts and images across the series or find the pamphlets mapped by their subject.
|
Title |
Coverage |
Producer |
Description |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degenerate archives | Russia | Craig Campbell | The degenerate's catalogue presents an engaged randomization of the entire archive of photographs from the Endangered Archives Project collection originating in the Krasnoiarsk Krai Regional History Museum. This website presents digital companion works to the book Agitating Images: Photography Agasint History in Indigenous Siberia (2014, University of Minnesota Press). |
| Discuss Data | Eastern Europe, USSR | German Research Foundation (DFG), Research Centre for East European Studies at the University of Bremen (FSO), Göttingen State and University Library (SUB) | Open platform for archiving, sharing and discussing research data with a focus on the post-Soviet region. |
| Mapping Poetic Geographies of Revolutionary Russia, 1914-1922 | Russia | University of Virginia | "Mapping Poetic Geographies of Revolutionary Russia uses a set of DH tools to examine a large corpus of 600 literary works by 75 writers written between 1914 and 1922 for patterns of place-based consciousness." - Project description. |
| Осип Мандельштам Digital | Russia | Higher School of Economics | Project includes digital archive, bibliography and a number of digital representations of the archive's data. |
| Secondary Archive | Central and Eastern Europe | Katarzyna Kozyra Foundation | A collection of artistic statements, biographies and works of female artists from Central and Eastern Europe from 1960s through present. |
| Ukrainian Institute of National Memory | Ukraine | Ukrainian Institute of National Memory |
The Ukrainian Institute of National Memory houses several digital archive projects, including features on the Ukrainian Revolution of 1917-1921, World War II, Ukrainian independence, and contemporary Russian aggression against Ukraine. |
| Urban Media Archive | Ukraine | Center for Urban History |
A digital project pertaining to the urban history of Ukraine which includes images, videos, maps, oral histories and other archival materials.
|