Skip to Main Content

Digital Resources for Slavic, East European and Eurasian Studies

This guide describes online resources for research in Post-Soviet and Eurasian studies available via Harvard digital platforms or produced and freely accessible outside the Harvard system.

Web Archives

Harvard
Elsewhere

In this section we list web archives created by or with participation by Harvard Libraries

Title	Coverage	Producer	Description
Belarusian Politics and Society Web Archive	Belarus	Harvard University, Ivy Plus Libraries Confederation	The archive preserves websites, social media, and other digital content related to the 2020 presidential election campaign in Belarus and the events that followed.
Independence March (Poland) Collection at the Harvard Library	Poland	Harvard College Library – Americas, Europe, and Oceania Division	Web sites related to the annual Independence March (Marsz Niepodległości) celebrating restored sovereignty in Poland .
LGBTQ+ communities of the Former Soviet Union & Eastern Europe	Europe	Ivy Plus Libraries Confederation, Harvard Library	A broad range of websites maintained by and for the benefit of LGBTQ+ communities in the independent countries of the Former Soviet Union and Eastern Europe
Literary Authors from Europe and Eurasia Web Archive	Europe	Harvard University, Ivy Plus Libraries Confederation	This project aims to archive web content related to literary authors (of both fiction and non-fiction essays), translators, critics and publishers from Europe and Eurasia with the aim of preserving the history of the contemporary literary process as reflected in the non-print publishing activity of important literary figures and organizations.
Russia's War on Ukraine	Europe	Harvard Ukrainian Research Institute	The collection archives web content related to 2022 Russia's invasion of Ukraine.
Video Appeals to the President of Russia	Russia	Harvard University, Ivy Plus Libraries Confederation	A curated collection of online videos created as direct appeals to Vladimir Putin by various groups and individuals in the Russian Federation and a number of other countries

Title	Coverage	Producer	Description
East European Government Ministries Web Archive	Eastern Europe, FSU	Library of Congress	The countries covered are Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Hungary, Kosovo, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Romania, Russia, and Serbia. All of the websites in the collection are federal level sites, with the exception of those from Bosnia and Russia. For Bosnia, the collection includes sites from both the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina and Republika Srpska. For Russia, the collection includes sites from all 89 federal subjects (republics, oblasts, krais, autonomous okrugs), plus Crimea. April 2014-present.
Eastern Europe and Former Soviet Union Web Archive	Eastern Europe, FSU	Ivy Plus Libraries Confederation	The thematic and generic scope of the archive is deliberately broad, and includes websites published by political parties, non-governmental organizations and activist groups, artists and cultural collectives, and historians, philosophers, and other intellectuals.
Georgia and Russia Conflict, August 2008	Russia, Georgia	Web Curator of Atlantis	This collection of websites chronicles the August 2008 conflict between Georgia and Russia over the disputed South Ossetia region.
Macedonian Politics Web Archive	Macedonia	Library of Congress	In 2018 the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM) and Greece reached an historic agreement to allow Macedonia to change the name of the country to North Macedonia. The Library of Congress captured websites related to the subsequent national referendum on the name change. July 2018 to present.
Memoirs of Russian, East European, and Eurasian Women	Russia, Eastern Europe	Slavic Reference Service	Digitized (pre-copyright) memoirs, which were published in collected works, journals, and books. Open access.
Russia-Ukraine Conflict	Russia, Ukraine	Internet Archive	Items related to Russia-Ukraine war.
[Russian elections collections]	Russia	George Washington University	Several archives covering parliamentary and presidential elections in Russia, 2007-2008.
Russian Politics Web Archive	Russia	UCLA	Contains archived websites, blogs, editorials and other materials posted online by, or on behalf of, 17 Russian political and cultural figures who have expressed some opposition to foreign and domestic policy in Vladimir Putin’s Russia. The archive also captures eight websites that chronicle a range of contemporary political and human rights positions and events that reflect the prevailing climate.
Saving Ukrainian Cultural Heritage Online (SUCHO)	Ukraine	Internet Archive	A collection of cultural heritage documents and other materials downloaded in response to the Russian invasion of Ukraine.