Periodical Archives

Title

Coverage

Producer

Description

30 dnei Soviet Union East View The complete run of the popular literary monthly journal, 1925-1941.

Central and Eastern European Online Library (CEEOL)

Central Europe

CEEOL

An Internet library of scholarly and cultural publications from Central and Eastern Europe. Search articles, books, publishers, periodicals, and authors.

Chernobyl: newspapers collection (DA-ChNC) Ukraine East View UDB Includes three local newspapers -- Prapor peremohy, Tribuna ėnergetika, and Trybuna prat︠s︡i -- published in towns in the exclusion zone and its immediate vicinity.
Cult of body online : sports and physical culture in Russia, 1891-1919 Russia BrillOnline A collection of 14 digitized journals on sports and physical culture in Russia, 1981-1919, from holdings of the National Library of Russia, St.Petersburg.
Donetsk and Luhansk newspaper collection (DA-DNR) Ukraine East View UDB Includes 10 rare newspapers from the self-proclaimed Donetsk and Luhansk republics in Ukraine published during the period of military hostilities between the unrecognized states and the government of Ukraine (2013-2015)

Early Russian cinema online.

Russia

BrillOnline

This unique collection of Russian film periodicals from the last tsarist decade includes both sophisticated and more popular periodicals released by the major Russian film studios. Containing interviews with movie stars and now irretrievably lost screenplays, these journals will prove an invaluable source about the silent movie era and Russia's entertainment industry at the eve of the Revolution.

Export vooruzhenii Russia East View A scholarly journal published by the Centre for Analysis of Strategies and Technologies, covering issues related to the global production and trade of military goods and armaments. Coverage: 1997-2019.

Gudok Digital Archive (DA-GUDO) 

Russia

East View UDB

Gudok is a Russian daily newspaper in continuous publication since 1917 and is one of the oldest and leading trade newspapers in Russia. Since its inception it has covered a wide range of topics dealing with the railway industry. It has also provided important commentary on Soviet and post-Soviet Russian culture, politics, and social life. The digital archive covers 1920-2018.

Informatsionnyi sbornik shtaba ob"edinennykh vooruzhennykh sil gosudarstv-uchastnikov Varshavskogo dogovora / The Warsaw Pact Journal Digital Archive (DA-WPJ) 

All Slavic

East View UDB

This Russian language journal was published biannually during the last two decades of the Warsaw Pact’s existence until it ceased publication in 1990 with the dissolution of the Warsaw Pact itself. Coverage: 1970-1990.

Iskusstvo Kino Digital Archive (DA-IK)

Russia/USSR

East View UDB

The Iskusstvo Kino Digital Archive captures the complete run (1931-2014) of this illustrated analytical journal of film criticism in a complete online archive, in full-image and fully searchable text.

Izvestiia: 
1917-2029
1980-current
USSR East View UDB The daily newspaper of record of the Soviet government, after 1992 n- the national newspaper. 

JSTOR Slavic Studies

All Slavic

JSTOR

JSTOR is a full-text archive of important scholarly journals in Slavic Studies. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and related titles. Generally, the most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are not available in JSTOR. http://nrs.harvard.edu/urn-3:hul.eresource:jsslavic

Kavkazʺ : gazeta politicheskai︠a︡ i literaturnai︠a︡ (Kavkazʺ digital archive, DA-KVZ)  Russia, Georgia East View UDB The first Russian-language newspaper in the Caucasus, published in 1846-1918 in Tiflis (Tbilisi), Georgia.

Krasnyi Arkhiv digital archive (DA-KRA)

Russia/USSR

East View Russia Individual Titles (UDB-IND)

Krasnyi Arkhiv was published in Moscow from 1922 till June 1941 first by the Central Archives of the USSR and later by the Central Archival Administration. Digital Archive (DA-KRA) comprises the entire collection of the 106 published volumes, completely digitized (1,010 articles, more than 23,000 pages) 

Krokodil Digital Archive (DA-KRO)

Russia/USSR

East View Russia Individual Titles (UDB-IND)

The full-text full-color online archive of the satirical magazine Krokodil (initially a supplement to Rabochii and Rabochaia gazeta), from 1922 through 2008 (until it ceased publication).

Literaturnaia gazeta USSR East View A weekly newspaper published by the Union of the Soviet Writers,in 1929-1990. Independently published after 1990. Digital archive is available in two parts:
1929-2014
1997-current

Mass media in Russia 1908-1918 online : (parts 1 and 2).

Russia/USSR

BrillOnline

This unique collection contains complete runs of kopeck (penny) newspapers, the most widely circulated Russian newspapers in the beginning of the 20th century. They document political and social developments in Russia from 1908 to 1918 and are a mirror of the colorful social and cultural life of the Russian capitals. This collection gives access to a rare source practically unavailable in Western libraries. 

Moscow News Digital Archive (DA-MN)

Russia/USSR

East View UDB

The Moscow News Digital Archive contains all obtainable published issues (1930-2014, approx. 60,000 pages), including issues of the newspaper’s short-lived sister publication Moscow Daily News (1932-1938).

Muslims in Russia. Brill

Russia/USSR

BrillOnline

This collection introduces the uniquely varied and poorly explored Russian Muslim population during one of the most dynamic periods of their history (1861-1918). Materials published in Russia both at the center and on the periphery reflect the picturesque palette of life of Muslims in the Russian Empire, as well as the positions of their public and political figures. This collection presents works written by and about Muslims. The value of this heritage is especially clear now that the historical and spiritual past of Muslims in Russia is being actively reconsidered.

Nedeli︠a︡ digital archive (DA-NED) Russia East View UDB A complete run (1960-1999) of the popular illustrated Soviet weekly newspaper, that began as a Sunday supplement to Izvestia covering cultural, social, and political events. 

Niva Digital Archive, East View

Russia

East View UDB

The digital archive contains the complete set of 49 years of Niva (1870-1918) with more than 2,500 issues and 26,318 articles in total.

Novoe russkoe slovo Digital Archive (DA-NRS) 

Russian-American diaspora

East View UDB

Novoe russkoe slovo (New Russian Word) was first published in 1910 in New York under the founding editorship of the Russian émigré journalist and writer Ivan Okuntsov, who served as editor until 1917. Published initially as Russkoe slovo with pro-Communist leanings, the newspaper underwent nominal and ideological changes a decade later, in 1920.Ceased publication in 2010. The archive includes both Russkoe slovo and Novoe russkoe slovo and covers 1918-2001.

Ogonek digital archive (DA-OGN), East View 

Russia/USSR

East View UDB

The digital archive provides access to fully searchable full-text and full-color digital copies of issues of Ogonek (a long-running Russian illustrated weekly) from 1923 through 2016. 

Ogonek (St. Petersburg) Digital Archive Russia East View A weekly illustrated supplement to the influential St.Petersburg-based newspaper Birzhevye Vedomosti. Coverage: 1899-1918.
Pravda archive, 1959-1996 Soviet Union Readex Articles published by Pravda during the Cold War and the years immediately following, from 1959 to 1996, collected and translated into English by the CIA (publisher's introduction).
Pravda Ukrainy digital archive Ukraine East View UDB A 1938-2014 archive of Pravda Ukrainy (originally Sovetskaia Ukraina), a Russian-language Soviet Ukrainian daily and a newspaper of record, that was initially established as the official organ of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of Ukraine and Supreme Soviet of the Ukrainian SSR and in the early 1990s became a platform for independent journalism.

Primary sources, Russian Avant-garde, 1904-1946.

Russia/USSR

BrillOnline

Represents works of all Russian literary avant-garde schools. Comprises almost 800 books, periodicals and almanacs most of them published between 1910-1940 and thus offers an exceptionally varied and well-balanced overview of one of the most versatile movements in Russian literature. The books in this collection can be regarded as objects of art, illustrated by famous artists such as Malevich, Goncharova and Lisitskii.

Rossiĭskai͡a gazeta digital archive (DA-RG) Russia East View UDB A 1990-2018 archive of the official daily newspaper of the Government of the Russian Federation.

Russian Anarchist Periodicals of the Early 20th Century (Anarchist periodicals)

Russia

BrillOnline

Anarchists - being a small but highly radical group in pre-revolutionary Russia - lacked printing facilities within their own country and were forced to initiate their propaganda activities from abroad. During the February Revolution of 1917, anarchist literature and periodicals were legalized in Russia. This collection reveals the eventful history of Russia during the revolutionary era, from the perspective of metropolitan and provincial newspapers and journals published by the most radical political forces. Furthermore, these materials shed new light on the relationship of the anarchists with the Bolsheviks and the Soviet State, and also reveal the impact of anarchist ideas on the literature and art of the period

Russkaia literatura Digital Archive (DA-RLI)

Russia/USSR

East View UDB

Published since 1958 by the Institute of Russian Literature of the Russian Academy of Science (Pushkinskii Dom), this scholarly journal features numerous research papers, discussion pieces, analytical articles and critical essays concerning classical and modern writers and poets of Russia.

Russkii Arkhiv Digital Archive (DA-RSA)

Russia

East View UDB

A well-known monthly journal of history and literature, published in Moscow in 1863-1917 (1880-1884 — bimonthly).

Screen and stage online

Russia

Brill

This unique collection of Russian theater and film periodicals, which also includes material on other forms of entertainment (cabaret theater, circus) and mass culture in pre-revolutionary Russia consists of various types of material ranging from sophisticated journals to cheaply produced magazines published in the last three decades of the Tsarist regime.

Slavi͡ane digital archive (DA-SL) Russia East View UDB A monthly magazine founded in 1942 by the All-Slavic Committee, a Soviet anti-fascist organization to provide an intellectual outlet against Nazism based on Slavic historical and cultural solidarity. After the end of the World War II the magazine covered life and culture in the Soviet Union. Archive covers the complete run of the magazine (1942-1958).

Sovetskaia Kul’tura Digital Archive (DA-SK)

Russia/USSR

East View UDB

This resource provides access to Kulʹtura (Culture), an important Russian weekly newspaper previously published under the titles: Rabochiĭ i iskusstvo (1929-1930), Sovetskoe iskusstvo (1931-1941), Literatura i iskusstvo (1942-1944), Sovetskoe iskusstvo (1944-1952) and Sovetskai͡a kulʹtura (1953-1991).

Soviet cinema online : periodicals and newspapers 1918-1942.

Russia/USSR

BrillOnline

The collection includes Soviet film magazines and newspapers from the 1920s and 1930s, reflecting the most interesting and fertile period in the history of Russian film. These publications shed light on the production side of Soviet cinematography, as well as on the theoretical and practical concepts developed by the period's leading directors and critics. They also highlight the role of film in Soviet cultural life. Film magazines and newspapers featured articles by leading Soviet directors (Lev Kuleshov, Sergei Eisenstein, Dziga Vertov, Aleksandr Dovzhenko, Abram Room), as well as members of the avant-garde LEF, leading authors and philologists.

Voennaia Mysl' Digital Archive (DA-VM)

Russia

East View UDB

Established in 1918 as Voennoe Delo, the journal underwent several name changes before it became Voennaia Mysl’ in 1937. Published under the auspices of Ministry of Defense, and directly subordinate to the General Staff, it remained classified until 1989. Coverage: 1920-2018.

Voprosy istorii Digital Archive (DA-VI)

Russia/USSR

East View UDB

The oldest Soviet and Russian academic history journal, Voprosy istorii (“Issues of History”) has offered scholarly perspectives on events in Russia and the world since 1926. Published by the Russian Academy of Sciences, this journal covering Russian and world history was first published under the title Istorik-Marksist (Marxist Historian, 1926-1941), then Istoricheskii zhurnal (History Journal, 1937-1945) and finally under the present title (since 1945), all four titles included in the e-archive.

Voprosy literatury Digital Archive (DA-VL)

Russia/USSR

East View UDB

Authoritative journal of literary criticism offering articles and roundtable transcripts dealing with problems of Russian and world literature, history and theory of literature. Coverage: 1957 - present.

Warsaw Pact Journal Digital Archive 

All Slavic/Central Europe

East View UDB

Contains digitized issues of the journal Informat͡sionnyĭ sbornik Shtaba obʺedinennykh vooruzhennykh sil, originally published 1970-1972, and its successor titles Informat͡sionnyĭ sbornik Shtaba i Tekhnicheskogo komiteta obʺedinennykh vooruzhennykh sil, originally published 1973-1978, and Informat͡sionnyĭ sbornik Shtaba obʺedinennykh vooruzhennykh sil gosudarstvuchastinikov Varshavaskogo dogovora, originally published 1978-1990.

Za vozvrashchenie na rodinu digital archive (DA-ZVR) Europe, Soviet Union East View UDB A biweekly anti-western newspaper established in April 1955 in East Berlin by the Soviet Repatriation Committee and aimed at Russian emigrants.The complete archive covers the complete run (1955-1960). 

 

Title

Coverage

Producer

Description

Elektronekrasovka Russia, USSR Biblioteka im. N.A. Nekrasova (Moscow, Russia) Digitized collections of N.A. Nekrasov Library. Included are 1564–2017 imprints, unique collections of books, magazines and newspapers.
Электронная библиотека ГПИБ : Периодические издания Russia State Public Historical Library of Russia Includes e-copies of complete issues and individual articles from hundreds of newspapers and journals from the collections of the State Public Historical Library of Russia. Open access.
Электронные коллекции Российской национальной библиотеки Russia Russian National Library Scanned runs of many pre-revolutionary and Soviet-era Russian newspapers, journals and magazines from the collection of Russian National Library.
Elib.tomsk.ru (Electronic library of Tomsk oblast A.S. Pushkin library) Russia Tomsk oblast A.S. Pushkin Library A collection of open access books and periodicals, mostly published in Siberia.
Gazety v seti i vne ee Russia Russian National Library A guide to online newspaper collections owned by RNL and other libraries.
Imperial Russian Newspapers Russia CRL/East View An open access collection of titles digitized under the Global Press Archive (GPA) CRL Charter Alliance. Includes titles from Moscow and St. Petersburg as well as regional newspapers. Coverage: 18-20 centuries. 
Institut slavianovedeniia Rossiiskoi akademii nauk : biblioteka / Институт славяноведения Российской академии наук : библиотека Eastern Europe Institut slavianovedeniia (RAS) An online catalog of monographs and journals published by the Institute of Slavic Studies of the Russian Academy of Sciences, with full-text PDF versions of many titles.

Kiberleninka

Russian

Kiberleninka

An open access e-library of scholarly periodicals in sciences and humanities.

Natsionalnaia elektronnaia detskaia biblioteka USSR, Russia Russian State Children's Library A open access archive of digitized copies of books, periodicals and slide strips.
NGONB Electronic library / Электронная библиотека НГОНБ Russia Novosibirsk State Oblast Academic Library A searchable electronic libray of digitized holdings of the Novosibirsk State Oblast Academic Library. Incudes monographs, journals and videorecordings. Browsing by thematic collections is also offered.
Ofitsialnye periodicheskie izdaniia Russia Russian National Library A guide to the official government newspapers, available online. Chronological scope: 1547-present.
Periodika IMLI RAN / Периодика ИМЛИ РАН Russia Institut of World Literature of the Russian Academy of Sciences The page presents journals as well as monographic series published by the Institut of World Literature of the Russian Academy of Sciences. Many of the periodical issues and monographs have a PDF version available for downloading.
Periodika i sborniki (Elektronnaia biblioteka Belinki) Russia Sverdlovskaia oblastnaia universalʹnaia nauchnaia biblioteka im. V. G. Belinskogo Several digitized periodicals online, from 1825-1929.
Guide to Open Access Digitized Historical News Sources from Slavic, East European and Eurasian Countries  Eastern Europe, Eurasia East Coast Consortium of Slavic Library Collections Country-by-country list of open access historical news sources from Russia, Eurasia, and Eastern Europe
SKER / СКЭР (Сводный каталог электронных ресурсов) Russia LIBNET An all-Russia cumulative catalog of digital resources, with links to e-copies of books and periodicals. Selecte СКЭР from the top menu.
Zhurnalnyi zal (Журнальный зал) Russia Zhurnalnyi zal A non-commercial internet project presenting literary "fat" journals (publishing literary works and literary criticism) as well as journals in general humanitarian subjects, published either in Russia or abroad.