Archives

Title

Coverage

Producer

Description

Alexander III and the Policy of "Russification," 1883-1886 

Russia

Gale

This collection, as seen through the eyes of the British diplomatic corps in Russia. The British Foreign Office Records of General Correspondence for Russia, in record class F.O. 65, is the basic collection of documents for studying Anglo-Russian relations during this period of fundamental change.

Cold War:  Voices of Confrontation and Conciliation 

USSR

Gale

A collection of images of transcripts of 23 oral interviews conducted by James Thebaut in 1950s-1990s with American and Soviet statesmen and scholars who had a firsthand experience with the Cold War. The collection of 1,295 images comes from the private collection of James Thebaut, Chronicles Group, Inc.

Commercial and trade relations between Tsarist Russia, the Soviet Union and the U.S., 1910-1963.

Russia/USSR

Gale

This collection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relates to commercial and trade relations beginning in the Tsarist Russia period and extending through Khrushchev period in Soviet history. It contains a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats including materials on treaties, general conditions affecting trade, imports and exports, laws and regulations, customs administration, tariffs, and ports of entry activities

Country intelligence reports on USSR. Gale, a part of Cengage Learning / (Archives unbound.)

Russia/USSR

Gale

This collection consists of research and intelligence reports on USSR prepared during 1941-1947 at the Department of State.

Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System digital collection : interviews and manuals, 1950-1953 (inclusive) (Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System Online)

Russia/USSR

Harvard University. Russian Research Center

Provides access to a digitized collection of summary transcripts of 693 interviews conducted with Soviet émigrés during the early years of the Cold War, and 7 manuals and guides to the interviews. The interviews and most manuals and guides are full-text searchable from the home page.An online Guide to Working with the Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System Online, by David Brandenberger is available.

Kodeks Russian law database.

Russia

East View

Kodeks law databases--a major source for Russian legislation--in Russian or English translation comprising thousands of documents going back to 1991. Includes legislative acts issued by approximately 200 executive, legislative and judicial bodies in Russia. Provides access to normative acts of the Russian Federation, international law (treaties), regional legislation of Moscow, Saint-Petersburg, Moscow and Leningrad Regions and many other entitites within the Federation. Has English component called: Kodeks Russian law database in English, with sections: Business law of Russia; News; and: The most important documents, including the Constitution of the Russian Federation, Codes of the Russian Federation, and the most important federal acts.

Leon Trotsky exile papers Russia Harvard Library Exile papers, 1929-1940. Access via Finding aid (see Ditital material tab).
Leon Trotsky Soviet papers Russia Harvard Library Access via Finding aid (see Ditital material tab).

Milman Parry Collection of Oral Literature (MPCOL)

South Slavic

Milman Parry Collection (Harvard)

The Milman Parry Collection is the largest single repository of South Slavic heroic song in the world. The On-Line Database of Harvard's Milman Parry Collection of Oral Literature (MPCOL) provides a publicly accessible guide to the contents of this unique archive of materials relating to South Slavic oral tradition. The MPCOL comprises a number of component collections, two of which may be searched or browsed in the current version of the Database: the heroic songs, conversations, and stories in the Parry Collection (1933-35), and the entire contents of the Lord Collection (1950-51). Selected materials (texts and audio) are available in digital format. Users may access these materials through links in the associated records. All of the original materials are currently housed in Widener Library.

Soviet Cinema Online. Archival Documents from RGALI, 1923-1935

Russia/USSR

BrillOnline

The archive contains materials providing information on the activities of the Soviet film company Sovkino and its relations with various other companies in the film industry, both in the Soviet Union and abroad, between 1923 and 1935.

Stalin digital archive.

Russia/USSR

Yale University press - EastView

The Stalin Digital Archive contains a selection of documents from Fond 558, which covers Stalin’s personal biography, his work in government, and his conduct of foreign affairs

The Chernobyl Files: Declassified Documents of the Ukrainian KGB

Ukraine

East View UDB

The collection contains reports ranging from 1971 to 1991 prepared for and by a variety of Soviet and Ukrainian government agencies, such as the KGB, documenting and detailing the most important developments in the wake of the disaster, but also internal reports and investigations on the its various causes. These include the problems with the design of the NPP, and the extent of the Soviet and Ukrainian government knowledge on many of the shortcomings that made the Chernobyl meltdown not only possible but in a sense inevitable.

The Russian Civil War and American Expeditionary Forces in Siberia, 1918-20

Russia/USSR

Gale Archives Unbound 

This collection reproduces important letters, reports, memorandums, cablegrams, maps, charts, and other kinds of records relating to the activities of the American Expeditionary Forces in Siberia (hereafter, AEF in Siberia), 1918-20.

World of Children - Artek Pioneer Camp Archives, 1944-1967 

Russia/USSR

BrillOnline

Artek's Archive reflects the recreation camp's history between 1944 and 1967, containing government documents on Soviet social and health policies, administrative, medical and financial records, transcripts of meetings, materials on educational and ideological work carried out in the camp statistical reports, food rations and provision standards, letters from Soviet and foreign children, diaries etc. 

World War I and Revolution in Russia, 1914-1918

Russia/USSR

Gale Archives Unbound 

This collection documents the Russian entrance into World War I and culminates in reporting on the Revolution in Russia in 1917 and 1918. The documents consist primarily of correspondence between the British Foreign Office, various British missions and consulates in the Russian Empire and the Tsarist government and later the Provisional Government

 

Turkmenistan medical institute. part of Soviet Information Bureau Photograph Collection. Fung Library SIB_5382_01

Open Access Resources for Research in Soviet History : a guide

As more and more archival resources are made freely available on various research, government and private websites in Russia, it became necessary to compile a list of those resources for the needs of teaching and research in Soviet history. This need became especially evident under the circumstances of severely limited access to information imposed by the COVID-19 pandemic.

Please find our list of open access resources for research in Soviet History here. Please note that the project is still underway and visit the link frequently to see new additions.

If you know a site that should be on this list but is not there yet, please suggest it, using this form. Many thanks in advance!

Compiler: 
Sophia Horowitz, graduate student, Harvard University, based on draft guide (2018) by Olga Kuzmina.
Advisors: 
Terry Martin, George F. Baker III Professor of Russian Studies, Harvard University
Anna Rakityanskaya, Librarian, Russian and Belarusian Collections, Americas, Europe, and Oceania Division (AEOD), Widener Library
Svetlana Rukhelman, Librarian for the Davis Center Collection for Russian and Eurasian Studies at Fung Library, Harvard University
Sponsor:
Davis Center Collection for Russian and Eurasian Studies