Digital Resources for Slavic, East European and Eurasian Studies

Baltics, Belarus, Moldova, Ukraine (UDB-EUR) 

Central Europe

East View UDB

The Universal Database of newspapers from the Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia, Ukraine, Moldova and Belarus (UDB-EUR) includes important periodicals published in these now independent states which used to be part of the Soviet Union. The sources are in mostly in Russian, they cover various issues of domestic and international importance. 

Central Asia and Caucasus (UDB-CAC)

Central Asia, Caucasus

East View UDB

The Universal Database of Central Asia and Caucasus (UDB-CAC) includes a number of authoritative periodicals published in this region. The sources are mostly in Russian and English and cover various issues of domestic and international interest. The dates of coverage range from 2000 to present. 

eLIBRARY.RU

Russia

Rusia's electronic library of scholarly journals. Many are in open access, others require subscription. 

Project Muse

All Slavic

Johns Hopkins University Press in collaboration with The Milton S. Eisenhower Library

Full-text versions of peer-reviewed journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, as well as thousands of ebooks, with emphasis on humanities and social sciences. Journal articles indexed directly in HOLLIS.

Russia governmental publications (UDB-GOV)

Russia

East View UDB

Offers publications that monitor the events in the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation, including stenographic records of the hearings of both the Duma and Federation Council, vote results, resolutions, legislative drafts, as well as the schedule and agenda of legislative work; includes official publications by the State Audit Chamber, the Herald of the Central Electoral Committee, and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Russia as well as texts of laws, presidential decrees, government's resolutions and the Constitutional Court's decisions.

Russia/NIS Statistical Publications (UDB-STAT-RUS)

Russia

East View UDB

This database contains electronic versions of publications from the major Russian statistics agency Goskomstat Rossii and its regional statistics agencies, Statkomitet SNG, and statistical agencies of the former Soviet Union (statistical yearbooks, monthly analytical reports, regional statistical information, and annual statistical abstracts). It includes 2002 Russian Census information.

Russian central newspapers (UDB-COM) 

Russia

East View UDB

Provides coverage of national news, current events, economic developments and cultural events in Russia. Includes official sources (Rossiiskaia gazeta, Krasnaia zvezda, ITAR-TASS), independent media and partisan publications as well as several English-language newspapers including Moscow Times.

Russian military and security periodicals (UDB-MIL)

Russia

East View UDB

Includes several dozen publications covering military and security developments in Russia from both official and independent sources. All branches of the armed forces are covered, including the Russian Air Force, Army and Navy. In addition to journals and newspapers published in Moscow, the database presents imprints from military districts and some armies and divisions. Languages: Russian and English.

Russian regional newspapers (UDB-REG) 

Russia

East View UDB

Provides coverage of developments throughout Russia's regions. This database currently presents newspapers from all seven Federal Districts of the Russian Federation and includes coverage of local issues of Moscow and St. Petersburg. The selected newspapers have the largest circulation in their regions and are considered as most authoritative. The list of titles will continue to be expanded.

Russian Social Sciences & Humanities (UDB-EDU)

Russia

East View UDB

The database includes all 31 journals of the Russian Academy of Sciences with subjects ranging from archeology to linguistics, as well as popular literary editions, and independent scholarly publications. New titles and archival issues are added regularly.

Russian/NIS Newswires (UDB-NEWS)

Russia

East View UDB

This database includes several sources that follow the day-to-day developments in Russia and CIS. The Moscow bureau of Federal News Service (Washington, D.C.) produces the daily Kremlin package consisting of the full-text transcripts of top speeches, statements, press conferences, newspaper articles and television reports of the day, from presidential addresses to remarks by Duma opposition leaders, from Foreign Ministry briefings to commentaries by leading economists and other experts. ITAR-TASS, one of the major world information agencies, delivers a detailed account about the events in Russia and worldwide. The Moscow information agency Oreanda specializes in economic news and its services are used by the largest Russian banks and corporations as well as by government agencies. The daily newswire AP-Blitz is produced by the Tajikistan-based Asia-Plus, covering the developments in Central Asia.

Taylor & Francis Online

All Slavic

Taylor & Francis

The journal content platform for the Taylor & Francis Group. It gives online access to all journals published by Taylor & Francis and Routledge and includes articles going back over 200 years along with the most recent publiations.

Ukrainian Publications (UDB-UKR)

Ukraine

East View UDB

A database of newspapers and magazines of Ukraine (UDB-UKR) includes publications in Russian, Ukrainian, and English. They cover a broad range of political, economic, and cultural affairs of Ukraine. Topics include Ukraine's progress along the reform path, the view and positions of various political forces, changes in legislation, ethnic relations, and organizational trends in development of the armed forces. The database also includes news wire reports and other products of Ukrainian news agencies. An integral and unique part of this database is the Ukrainian Book Chamber's editions, which list everything published in Ukraine with detailed bibliographic description.