Bibliographic Databases

Title

Coverage

Producer

Description

ABSEES online American bibliography of Slavic & East European studies online.

All Slavic

ABSEES

Covers North American scholarship on East-Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. Contains bibliographic records for journal articles, books and book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications.

Ėlektronnai︠a︡ kollekt︠s︡ii︠a︡ Letopiseĭ RKP za 100 let (1917-2017 gg.) USSR/Russia Rossiĭskai︠a︡ knizhnai︠a︡ palata / NP InfoRost Includes issues of Knizhnai︠a︡ li︠e︡topis (title varies), 1907-1978; Zhurnalʹnai︠a︡ letopisʹ Gosudarstvennoĭ t︠s︡entralʹnoĭ knizhnoĭ palaty RSFSR (title varies), 1926-1990; and Letopis' gazetnykh stateĭ, 1936-1987. Also includes: Ėlektronnyĭ katalog RKL (demo).
Knizhnaia letopis issues are searchable ; other parts of the database are browseable, with searching to be introduced later.

MLA International bibliography

All Slavic

EBSCO

Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.

Russian Academy of Sciences bibliographies

Russia/USSR

EBSCO

Featuring indexing and abstracts of more than 12,500 publications, Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies is a comprehensive resource covering Slavic studies, social sciences and much more. This database provides citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, manuscripts, and dissertations published primarily in Russia, the republics of the former Soviet Union, and countries in Eastern Europe.

Russian Institute of Social Sciences publications (UDB-INION) Russia East View UDB Current periodicals published by the Institute of Scientific Information on Social Sciences of the Russian Academy of Sciences (INION), as well as its reference indexes, bibliographies and analytical reports.

Russian National Bibliography (UDB-BIB)

Russia/USSR

East View UDB

Letopisi – national bibliography indexes – are the most comprehensive bibliographic products of Soviet/Russian printed works published since 1907 by Knizhnaia Palata (Russian Book Chamber). Consists of eight serial publications containing records organized by categories of material:
Knizhnaia letopis'.
Letopis' gazetnykh statei.
Letopis' zhurnal'nykh statei.
Letopis' avtoreferatov dissertatsii.
Letopis' retsenzii.
Notnaia letopis'.
Letopis' izoizdanii.
Kartograficheskaia letopis'.

Slavic Humanities Index

All Slavic

SHI

The Slavic Humanities Index is a new bibliographic database in the field of Central, Eastern, and South-eastern European Studies. This is a cover-to-cover indexing tool encompassing important scholarly and cultural periodicals in the humanities of the region. This interdisciplinary index includes bibliographic citations of articles in history, philosophy, literature, linguistics, ethnology, theatre and film studies, as well as cultural, borderland, and regional studies. The periodicals indexed in the database are published in Belarus, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Macedonia, Poland, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Ukraine.

[Ukrainian National Bibliography] (2002-)

Ukraine

East View UDB

Various Ukrainian national bibliographic publications can be accessed through EastView Ukrainian Publicationsportal, including Litopys hazetnykh statei (newspapers), Litopys knyh (books), Litopys zhurnal'nykh statei (journals), and others.

Worldcat  (Firstsearch) World  OCLC

WorldCat is a worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 member institutions. With millions of online records built from the bibliographic and ownership information of contributing libraries, it is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind. Firstsearch enables use of precision search features. Access via Harvard Key.

Title

Coverage

Producer

Description

Karlsruher Virtueller Katalog (KVK)

Europe+

The library of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

A book search engine that searches dozens of catalogs of research libraries and consortia in Europe as well as global union catalogs. Includes libraries in Slavic countries. Open access. German interface.

WorldCat (open access)

World

OCLC

Displays all library holdings from Worldcat, with less precise searching. Open access.