The Harvard Library’s collection includes a robust and constantly growing collection of digital resources for research in Post-Soviet and East European studies. These include databases, indexes, e-books and journals, digitized archives, video streaming services, digital images and other resources. As we add new electronic titles to our collections on a regular basis, please consult HOLLIS catalog and its Databases section for the latest additions or consult our bibliographers for more information.
In addition, more and more primary and secondary resources are becoming openly accessible online thanks to the efforts of international bibliographic services, national archives, libraries and research institutions. Many of these resources are essential for research in Post-Soviet and Eurasian studies and are included in this guide, along with those held by Harvard.
The guide is organized by resource format in alphabetical order and thereunder by mode of access:
- "Harvard" - for all resources available via HOLLIS. Those include both the commercial resources (with access restricted to the Harvard ID holders) and the ones created at Harvard by digitization of its own collections (mostly with open access).
- "Elsewhere" - for all open access online resources produced and hosted outside the Harvard system..
Digital Handbook for Research on Soviet History (a comprehensive guide to open-access resources)
Access to Harvard Library’s digital resources
Most of these collections are available to Harvard students, faculty, and staff members via the HOLLIS catalog. If you are accessing these resources from within a library at Harvard you will not need to log in. However if you are using your own computer or mobile device, you will be required to log in with your Harvard Key. If you do not have a Harvard Key, please go to https://key.harvard.edu/ to claim it.
On occasion you will come across an online platform that would require a subscription. There might be a chance that Harvard already has this subscription and in order to have easy access you can click the "Check Harvard Library" bookmark.