COVID-19 and the Harvard Library resources

Dear visitors! Please note that because of the COVID-19 outbreak Harvard library's services have changed. Please see the following updates:

The full update on the library services

COVID-19 Open Access Resources (available to Harvard users during the outbreak)

Of special note to researchers in Post-Soviet and East European studies:

National Electronic Library of Russia (Национальная электронная библиотека) created a stay-at-home portal with access to many books, periodicals, images and historical collections for free or with an online payment option (for current editions). In some cases a user needs to register on the government services portal for access.

East View Publishing has made the library's print subscriptions available online until they are able to resume shipping the print copies.

HathiTrust Emergency temporary online access to books that Harvard owns in print. Be sure to log in by choosing Harvard as the partner institution Details

For more online research options please see:

Digital Resources for Slavic, East European and Eurasian studies

Welcome!

Smetana, Sprzedana narzeczona. Teatr Wielki / juis [Fragment]. Poster for an opera performance at Teatr Wielki in Warsaw. Part of Slavic poster collection : Opera performances at Teatr Wielki in Warsaw.

This guide provides a starting point for research for students, faculty, and visiting researchers in Slavic and Eurasian studies at Harvard University. It includes selective lists of reference resources, both online and in print. For the up to date information on our newest resources and projects please visit Harvard Library's Slavic Blog.  

Research contacts

For requests for new materials and inquiries about the Slavic collections please contact bibliographic specialists at the Americas, Europe and Oceania Division (AEOD) at Widener Library:

Russian/Belarusian/Former Soviet Union collection: Anna Rakityanskaya (617) 495-4797

Ukrainian collection:  Olha Aleksic (also Harvard Ukrainian Research Institute) (617) 998-5367

Slavic Central and South European collection: Lev Chaban (617) 998-5368

Serials librarian: Kristin Kulash (617) 998-5369

Davis Center for Russian and Eurasian Studies collection: Svetlana Rukhelman (617) 496-8241

For technical issues concerning this guide:

 Anna Rakityanskaya (617) 495-4797

Harvard Library catalog and tips on searching Cyrillic titles

The Harvard Library collections can be accessed via its online catalog HOLLIS. To learn more about HOLLIS, please visit the HOLLIS Quick Tips.

To render Cyrillic words using Roman characters, HOLLIS uses the Library of Congress system of transliteration.  (Please note that most other U.S. library catalogs and databases use the same system, while several other systems are in use in Europe, the former Soviet Union, and in other contexts.) 

The ALA-LA Romanization tables page on the Library of Congress website provides transliteration tables for various non-Roman languages, including Slavic and non-Slavic languages that use Cyrillic alphabet:

In addition to this, one can also use the automatic online transliteration tool.