HOLLIS catalog is the primary resource for finding books in Harvard library collections. For tips on searching HOLLIS for Cyrillic titles please see Harvard Library Catalog and Tips on Searching Cyrillic Titles.
If you are a Harvard FAS borrower and you cannot find a book in the HOLLIS catalog you can request it through Widener's Get it Services (includes Interlibrary Loan and Borrow Direct). If you have found that title in WorldCat or the Karlsruhe please include this information in your request.
You may also submit a purchase request online or send your request directly to the Slavic bibliographers.
Many books are available online in full-text, either through Harvard library's subscription or in free access. Please see our selected list of Slavic e-book collections. Also helpful is Finding Full-Text Books Online: An FAQ.
Journals and periodicals
The Harvard Library's Slavic collection has thousands of active subscriptions to journals in print format, and dozens in electronic format, covering the same range of subject matter as described in the “Books” section. The Library also subscribes to many major newspapers in microfilm format.
Most of the electronic journals are held as part of various large journal aggregators, such as East View Universal Databases and are accessible to Harvard students, faculty, and staff members via the HOLLIS catalog. If you are accessing these sources from within a library at Harvard you will not need to log in. However if you are outside Harvard, most of these resources will require you to log in with your Harvard Key. If you do not have a Harvard Key, please go to the Harvard Key page to claim it.
For more information about the digital subscriptions and digital periodical archives, please visit E-resources section of this guide.)
Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)
Includes citations for dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.
Dissertations (Center for Research Libraries)
Thousands of dissertation titles recently received or recently circulated by CRL, a consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries. Members of the Harvard community may borrow items from CRL through Interlibrary Loan and have full access to CRL's Digital Collections.
If you need to consult a Slavic dissertation that is not available in the sources described here, please do not hesitate to contact your librarian for a solution.
Microform is a microprint on film or paper of a document. The most common types of microform are microfilm (reels) and microfiche (flat sheets). Microforms must be used in library as they require using special microform-reading equipment provided by the library. However they can be requested and sent through Interlibrary Loan.
Selected Slavic Microfilm/Microform Collections:
• Early Printed Cyrillic books: Belorussian and Ukrainian Publications from the 17th Century -- 109 titles of religious, liturgical and historical works (1428 fiche)
• The Archive of the Moscow Printing House (Rossiiskii gosudarstvennyi arkhiv drevnikh aktov) (907 microfiches)
• The Papers of Prince Gregory Potemkin, 1655-1797 gg. (155 reels)
• Archives of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union (Chadwyck-Healey archive)
Documents from three central Moscow archives covering huge range of topics including the Gulag, prosecution of party members for infractions of discipline (Central Control Commission), the Russo-Polish War, the nuclear accident at Chernobyl, the social and ethnic composition of the Communist Party in the 1920s and 1930s, etc.
• Comintern Archive, 1917-1940 (Mostly documents from the congresses of the Third Communist International)
• All-Union Population Census, 1939
• Newspapers from the Era of the Russian Revolution and Russian Civil War, 1901-1922 (572 microfilm reels)
• United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Archive – on war crimes in Russia, Ukraine, and the Baltics during WWII
• World War II Documents from the State Archive of Kiev Oblast – documents of Ukrainian forced labor workers
• Voice of the People under Soviet Rule : from the Holdings on the People’s Archive (“Narodnyi arkhv,” Moscow, Russia) (90 reels)
• Thomas C. Owen collection on Russian social, economic, and business history since 1800. 1972-2005.
Archival Sources for Soviet History at Harvard Libraries & Depositories
The oldest map collection in America includes ca. 400,000 maps, over 6,000 atlases, and several thousand reference books. Topographic maps, nautical charts and thematic maps provide an excellent research collection representing all chronological periods and notable map makers. The Map Collection also has a strong commitment to digital resources, including historical images and the Harvard Geospatial Library.
HGL (Harvard Geospatial Library)
Provides access to geospatial materials held by Harvard's libraries. Offers search tools for finding geographic data, GIS data for download and on-line geographic data exploration tools.
GIS Resources at Harvard
A centralized site that provides extensive detail concerning all the GIS resources at Harvard.