COVID-19 and the Harvard Library resources

Dear visitors! Please note that because of the COVID-19 outbreak Harvard library's services have changed. Please see the following updates:

The full update on the library services

COVID-19 Open Access Resources (available to Harvard users during the outbreak)

Of special note to researchers in Post-Soviet and East European studies:

National Electronic Library of Russia (Национальная электронная библиотека) created a stay-at-home portal with access to many books, periodicals, images and historical collections for free or with an online payment option (for current editions). In some cases a user needs to register on the government services portal for access.

East View Publishing has made the library's print subscriptions available online until they are able to resume shipping the print copies.

HathiTrust Emergency temporary online access to books that Harvard owns in print. Be sure to log in by choosing Harvard as the partner institution Details

For more online research options please see:

Digital Resources for Slavic, East European and Eurasian studies

Introduction

This guide contains a list of Harvard-owned archival materials documenting the history of the Soviet Union. It is arranged chronologically and by topic/provenance. 

The primary sources for the study of the Soviet history available to Harvard researchers vary in scope and format. Many materials listed are microform copies of archives of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union and other government organizations. The originals of these documents reside in Russian and other archives around the world. Materials on microform are generally found at Lamont Library. They can be viewed using the microform readers/scanners at the Lamont Media Lab on Level B.

There is also a substantial number of personal manuscript collections, including the papers of Leon Trotsky and other Revolutionary leaders as well as the papers of numerous Soviet dissidents, including Andrei Sakharov. Manuscript collections are held in Houghton Library in hard copy. 

Several visual, microform, and ephemera collections are held at Widener and Fung Libraries.

A number of resources are available in electronic format, either exclusively (like the Stalin Digital Archive) or along with the original paper documents (like the Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System or some ephemera collections). For a detailed list of e-resources in Slavic studies please visit the E-resources page of the Slavic and Eurasian Studies at Harvard : Library and Archival Resources LibGuide.

While some materials are housed on-site, others are held off-site and must be requested in advance. Please consult each collection’s HOLLIS record (via provided hyperlink) for information on access and instructions for requesting items. 

See also: 

Archives and manuscripts (Slavic and Eurasian Studies at Harvard : Library and Archival Resources LibGuide)

The Russian Empire and Soviet Union : A Guide to Manuscripts and Archival Materials in the United States
A searchable online guide created by a team of Research Associates of the Kennan Institute for Advanced Russian Studies with the support from the Research Division of the United States Office of Education and from the National Endowment for the Humanities.