Western Archives

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files. The Soviet Union

 

These are U.S. State Department files on the Soviet Union 1945-1969, valuable as English-language sources.

Collection size: 230 reels

Location/Call no: Film A575.1 in Lamont basement.

 

Collection index:

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files: The Soviet Union Foreign Affairs, 1945-1949 (10 reels)

Confidential U.S. State Department central files: The Soviet Union, Internal affairs, 1945-1949 (39 reels)

Confidential U.S. State Department central files: The Soviet Union, Foreign affairs, 1950-1954 (12 reels)

Confidential U.S. State Department central files: The Soviet Union, Internal affairs, 1950-1954 (38 reels)

Confidential U.S. State Department central files: The Soviet Union, Foreign affairs, 1955-1959 (15 reels)

Confidential U.S. State Department central files: The Soviet Union, Internal Affairs, 1955-1959 (46 reels)

Confidential U.S. State Department central files: The Soviet Union, Foreign Affairs, 1960-1963 (10 reels)

Confidential U.S. State Department central files: The Soviet Union, Internal Affairs, 1960-1963  (32 reels)

Confidential U.S. State Department central files: The Soviet Union, February 1963-1966 (33 reels)

Confidential U.S. State Department central files : The Soviet Union, 1967-1969. Part 1, Political, governmental and national defense affairs (24 reels)


Printed finding aids (Index Film A575.1, in the Lamont basement shelved with other bound microfilm finding guides) are organized as follows:

Internal Affairs and Foreign Affairs of USSR, 1945-1949 (one volume)

Internal Affairs and Foreign Affairs, 1950-1954 (one volume)

Internal Affairs, 1955-1959 (one volume)

Foreign Affairs, 1955-1959 (one volume)

Internal Affairs, 1960-1963 (one volume)

Foreign Affairs, 1960-1963 (one volume)

Political, Government, and National Defense Affairs, 1963-1966 (one volume)

 

Each volume of the finding aids includes:

1. A reel by reel enumeration of document numbers organized by date and very general topic summary (i.e. "Military Affairs: Army Maneuvers" or "Political Affairs".

2. A fairly detailed subject index showing documents dealing with a specific subject.

 

 

Confidential US Diplomatic Post Records: Russia and the Soviet Union, 1914-1941

145 reels

Film A 489.1 in Lamont basement. Finding Aids are books with call number Index Film A489.1 shelved in Lamont basement (3 volumes, covering 1914-1918, 1919-1935, and 1934-1941 respectively). These books are organized by document type ("Commerce, commercial relations"; "Charities"; "Residence, Trade and Travel") and year, with a brief description of each document and its length in pages.

Records of the Department of State relating to internal affairs of the Soviet Union

 

Film S 1040 (T1249) covers 1930-1939; Film S 1040 (T1250) covers 1940-1944. This title may duplicate some documents of "Confidential US Diplomatic Post Records" above.

Records of the Department of State relating to political relations between the United States and the Soviet Union

 

Film S 1040 (T1241) covers 1930-1939; Film S 1040 (T1242) covers 1940-1944. This title may duplicate some documents of "Confidential US Diplomatic Post Records" above.

Records of the Department of State relating to political relations between the Soviet Union and other states

 

Film S 1040 (T1247) covers 1930-1939; Film S 1040 (T1248) covers 1940-1944. This title may duplicate some documents of "Confidential US Diplomatic Post Records" above.

 

British Foreign Office, Russian Correspondence, 1883-1948

970 reels

Film A 503

British diplomatic correspondence with/concerning Russia and the Soviet Union  

 

British Intelligence on Russia in Central Asia, c. 1865-1949 : India Office political and secret files and confidential print

34 microfilm reels

Film A 1307

The material in this collection consists of secret and confidential intelligence reports, maps, memoranda, and handbooks, together with policy files covering the wider context of international relations and providing detailed information on local and regional political administration, social trends, and economic infrastructure. The collection is supplemented by printed material drawn from the India Office Military Department.

 

Contents :

BCA-1. "The Great Game": handbooks and intelligence reports, 1871-1894

BCA-2. Michell’s Russian Abstracts and Memoirs, 1872-1883

BCA-3. British British policy papers and memoranda, 1865-1898

BCA-4. Foreign Office confidential printed correspondence, 1899-1913

BCA-5. Handbooks, military reports and personalities, 1902-1929

BCA-6. From Anglo-Russian entente to revolution and rebellion: Political and Secret files, 1903 - c. 1924

BCA-7. Soviet Central Asia -- The consolidation of power: Political and Secret files, c. 1924-1949.