José María Castañé Collection
Grief. Dmitri Baltermants (1942). José María Castañé Collection of War Photographs by Soviet Photojournalists, 1941-1946 (MS Russ 145)
The José María Castañé Collection at Houghton Library contains documents related to the major events in European history of the 20th century, including those in Russia and the Soviet Union. The following subcollections are of particular interest to the scholars of Russian and Soviet history:
[Government and legislative documents dated from 1906-1922, with most dated 1916-1917, from the archive Prince SergeĬ Vladimirovich Gagarin, Chief of the Chancellery of the Ministry of the Imperial Court under Tsar Nicholas II of Russia and the Provisional Government of 1917]
[Saint Petersburg], [1906-1922]
142 items ; approximately 28- approximately 35 cm.
Houghton Library Offsite Storage RC9.A100.917v
José María Castañé collection of war photographs by Soviet photojournalists
Photographs taken by the Soviet war correspondents, and portraits of war photographers
José María Castañé collection of Sergei Smirnov photographs
Photographs from the personal collection of Sergei Smirnov, chief photographer for the newspaper Izvestia.
José María Castañé collection of political broadsides from revolutionary Russia
Printed political broadsides from revolutionary Russia.
José María Castañé collection of German wartime propaganda flyers in Russian
German propaganda flyers, in Russian, dropped over Byelorussia, Russia and Ukraine during World War II