E-Resources for Slavic Studies

The Harvard Library’s Slavic collection includes a robust and constantly growing collection of electronic resources. Below please see selected list of such databases, indexes, e-books and journals, archival collections, video streaming services and other e-resources organized by content.

Most of these e-resources are available to Harvard students, faculty, and staff members via the HOLLIS catalog.  If you are accessing these sources from within a library at Harvard you will not need to log in. However if you are using your own computer or mobile device, you  will be required to log in with your Harvard Key. If you do not have a Harvard Key, please go to https://key.harvard.edu/ to claim it.

Also included are some open access Harvard resources as well as internet resources that are essential for modern research (such as WorldCat). On occasion you will come across an online platform that would require a subscription. There might be a chance that Harvard already has this subscription and in order to have easy access you can click the "Check Harvard Library" bookmark.

As we add new electronic titles to our collections on a regular basis, please consult HOLLIS catalog and its Databases section for the latest additions or consult our bibliographers for more information.

Selected E-Resources in Slavic Studies

Title

Coverage

Producer

Description

Alexander III and the Policy of "Russification," 1883-1886  Russia Gale This collection, as seen through the eyes of the British diplomatic corps in Russia. The British Foreign Office Records of General Correspondence for Russia, in record class F.O. 65, is the basic collection of documents for studying Anglo-Russian relations during this period of fundamental change.
Cold War:  Voices of Confrontation and Conciliation  USSR Gale A collection of images of transcripts of 23 oral interviews conducted by James Thebaut in 1950s-1990s with American and Soviet statesmen and scholars who had a firsthand experience with the Cold War. The collection of 1,295 images comes from the private collection of James Thebaut, Chronicles Group, Inc.

Commercial and trade relations between Tsarist Russia, the Soviet Union and the U.S., 1910-1963.

Russia/USSR

Gale

This collection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relates to commercial and trade relations beginning in the Tsarist Russia period and extending through Khrushchev period in Soviet history. It contains a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats including materials on treaties, general conditions affecting trade, imports and exports, laws and regulations, customs administration, tariffs, and ports of entry activities

Country intelligence reports on USSR. Gale, a part of Cengage Learning / (Archives unbound.)

Russia/USSR

Gale

This collection consists of research and intelligence reports on USSR prepared during 1941-1947 at the Department of State.

Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System digital collection : interviews and manuals, 1950-1953 (inclusive) (Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System Online)

Russia/USSR

Harvard University. Russian Research Center

Provides access to a digitized collection of summary transcripts of 693 interviews conducted with Soviet émigrés during the early years of the Cold War, and 7 manuals and guides to the interviews. The interviews and most manuals and guides are full-text searchable from the home page.

Kodeks Russian law database.

Russia

East View

Kodeks law databases--a major source for Russian legislation--in Russian or English translation comprising thousands of documents going back to 1991. Includes legislative acts issued by approximately 200 executive, legislative and judicial bodies in Russia. Provides access to normative acts of the Russian Federation, international law (treaties), regional legislation of Moscow, Saint-Petersburg, Moscow and Leningrad Regions and many other entitites within the Federation. Has English component called: Kodeks Russian law database in English, with sections: Business law of Russia; News; and: The most important documents, including the Constitution of the Russian Federation, Codes of the Russian Federation, and the most important federal acts.

Milman Parry Collection of Oral Literature (MPCOL)

South Slavic

Milman Parry Collection

The Milman Parry Collection is the largest single repository of South Slavic heroic song in the world. The On-Line Database of Harvard's Milman Parry Collection of Oral Literature (MPCOL) provides a publicly accessible guide to the contents of this unique archive of materials relating to South Slavic oral tradition. The MPCOL comprises a number of component collections, two of which may be searched or browsed in the current version of the Database: the heroic songs, conversations, and stories in the Parry Collection (1933-35), and the entire contents of the Lord Collection (1950-51). Selected materials (texts and audio) are available in digital format. Users may access these materials through links in the associated records. All of the original materials are currently housed in Widener Library.

Soviet Cinema Online. Archival Documents from RGALI, 1923-1935

Russia/USSR

BrillOnline

The archive contains materials providing information on the activities of the Soviet film company Sovkino and its relations with various other companies in the film industry, both in the Soviet Union and abroad, between 1923 and 1935.

Stalin digital archive.

Russia/USSR

Yale University press - EastView

The Stalin Digital Archive contains a selection of documents from Fond 558, which covers Stalin’s personal biography, his work in government, and his conduct of foreign affairs

The Chernobyl Files: Declassified Documents of the Ukrainian KGB

Ukraine

East View UDB

The collection contains reports ranging from 1971 to 1991 prepared for and by a variety of Soviet and Ukrainian government agencies, such as the KGB, documenting and detailing the most important developments in the wake of the disaster, but also internal reports and investigations on the its various causes. These include the problems with the design of the NPP, and the extent of the Soviet and Ukrainian government knowledge on many of the shortcomings that made the Chernobyl meltdown not only possible but in a sense inevitable.

The Russian Civil War and American Expeditionary Forces in Siberia, 1918-20

Russia/USSR

Gale Archives Unbound 

This collection reproduces important letters, reports, memorandums, cablegrams, maps, charts, and other kinds of records relating to the activities of the American Expeditionary Forces in Siberia (hereafter, AEF in Siberia), 1918-20.

World of Children - Artek Pioneer Camp Archives, 1944-1967 

Russia/USSR

BrillOnline

Artek's Archive reflects the recreation camp's history between 1944 and 1967, containing government documents on Soviet social and health policies, administrative, medical and financial records, transcripts of meetings, materials on educational and ideological work carried out in the camp statistical reports, food rations and provision standards, letters from Soviet and foreign children, diaries etc. 

World War I and Revolution in Russia, 1914-1918

Russia/USSR

Gale Archives Unbound 

This collection documents the Russian entrance into World War I and culminates in reporting on the Revolution in Russia in 1917 and 1918. The documents consist primarily of correspondence between the British Foreign Office, various British missions and consulates in the Russian Empire and the Tsarist government and later the Provisional Government

 

Title

Coverage

Producer

Description

Alexander Street

All Slavic

ProQuest

Many curated, discipline-focused, primary-source collections, websites, and streaming media are available to Harvard researchers. The resource is particularly strong in the fields of anthropology, history, diversity studies, theatre, film, music, dance, news, current affairs, and the social sciences. Specific audio, video, reference materials and primary sources available through Alexander Street collections can be accessed directly by title search in HOLLIS or by visiting the portal (follow the link provided).

The Listening Booth

World

The Wood

The online highlights from the Harvard Library's Woodberry Poetry Room’s audio archive. Selections from the WPR's on-going digitization of phonodiscs and magnetic media, as well as born-digital recordings from the recent Poetry Room events. Includes readings by J. Brodsky, Cz. Milosz, Polina Barskova et al. Additional information about each recording is available via HOLLIS by searching under the author and the year. 

Milman Parry Collection of Oral Literature (MPCOL)

South Slavic

Milman Parry Collection (Harvard Library)

The Milman Parry Collection is the largest single repository of South Slavic heroic song in the world. The On-Line Database of Harvard's Milman Parry Collection of Oral Literature (MPCOL) provides a publicly accessible guide to the contents of this unique archive of materials relating to South Slavic oral tradition. The MPCOL comprises a number of component collections, two of which may be searched or browsed in the current version of the Database: the heroic songs, conversations, and stories in the Parry Collection (1933-35), and the entire contents of the Lord Collection (1950-51). Selected materials (texts and audio) are available in digital format. Users may access these materials through links in the associated records. All of the original materials are currently housed in Widener Library.

Socialism On Film Module I & II online

Central Europe

Adam Matthew

This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.

 

Title

Coverage

Producer

Description

ABSEES online American bibliography of Slavic & East European studies online.

All Slavic

ABSEES

Covers North American scholarship on East-Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. Contains bibliographic records for journal articles, books and book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications.

Karlsruher Virtueller Katalog (KVK)

Europe+

The library of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

A book search engine that searches dozens of catalogs of research libraries and consortia in Europe as well as global union catalogs. Includes libraries in Slavic countries. Open access. German interface.

MLA International bibliography

All Slavic

EBSCO

Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.

Russian Academy of Sciences bibliographies

Russia/USSR

EBSCO

Featuring indexing and abstracts of more than 12,500 publications, Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies is a comprehensive resource covering Slavic studies, social sciences and much more. This database provides citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, manuscripts, and dissertations published primarily in Russia, the republics of the former Soviet Union, and countries in Eastern Europe.

Russian National Bibliography (UDB-BIB)

Russia/USSR

East View UDB

Letopisi – national bibliography indexes – are the most comprehensive bibliographic products of Soviet/Russian printed works published since 1907 by Knizhnaia Palata (Russian Book Chamber). Consists of eight serial publications containing records organized by categories of material:
Knizhnaia letopis'.
Letopis' gazetnykh statei.
Letopis' zhurnal'nykh statei.
Letopis' avtoreferatov dissertatsii.
Letopis' retsenzii.
Notnaia letopis'.
Letopis' izoizdanii.
Kartograficheskaia letopis'.

Slavic Humanities Index

All Slavic

SHI

The Slavic Humanities Index is a new bibliographic database in the field of Central, Eastern, and South-eastern European Studies. This is a cover-to-cover indexing tool encompassing important scholarly and cultural periodicals in the humanities of the region. This interdisciplinary index includes bibliographic citations of articles in history, philosophy, literature, linguistics, ethnology, theatre and film studies, as well as cultural, borderland, and regional studies. The periodicals indexed in the database are published in Belarus, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Macedonia, Poland, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Ukraine.

[Ukrainian National Bibliography] (2002-)

Ukraine

East View UDB

Various Ukrainian national bibliographic publications can be accessed through EastView Ukrainian Publicationsportal, including Litopys hazetnykh statei (newspapers), Litopys knyh (books), Litopys zhurnal'nykh statei (journals), and others.

Worldcat  (Firstsearch) World  OCLC

WorldCat is a worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 member institutions. With millions of online records built from the bibliographic and ownership information of contributing libraries, it is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind. Firstsearch enables use of precision search features. Access via Harvard Key.

WorldCat (open access)

World

OCLC

Displays all library holdings from Worldcat, with less precise searching. Open access.

Title

Coverage

Producer

Description

Central and Eastern European Online Library (CEEOL)

Central Europe

CEEOL

An Internet library of scholarly and cultural publications from Central and Eastern Europe. Search articles, books, publishers, periodicals, and authors.

Diasporiana

Ukraine (diaspora)

Klasychnyĭ pryvatnyĭ universytet 

(Zaporizhzhia, Ukraine)

An electronic library of Ukrainian diaspora books and periodicals published across the globe. Open access.

Early European books : printed sources to 1700

Central Europe

ProQuest

Full-colour, high-resolution (400 ppi) facsimile images scanned directly from the original titles printed in Europe before 1701, regardless of language or pre-1701 works in European languages printed elsewhere.  Includes titles in Czech and Polish.

East View E-Books (EB-EVEB)

Russia

 

The collection includes Russian books on social sciences and humanities as well as fiction and poetry. Includes various reference works (dictionaries, catalogs, encyclopedias etc.), statistical publications, as well as issues 1-15 of series Dostoevskii : materialy I issledovaniia, the Bolshaia sovetskaia entsiklopediia 1926-1947, 1992-2014 Glas magazine run, volumes fom the Polnoe sobranie russkikh letopisei series and 43 volumes of Sbornik boevykh dokumentov. 

Electronic library "Ukrainica" (ЕЛЕКТРОННА БІБЛІОТЕКА "УКРАЇНІКА")

Ukraine

Nat︠s︡ionalʹna biblioteka Ukraïny im. V.I. Vernadsʹkoho

A full-text digital national information resource providing access to archival, manuscript and printed sources documenting Ukrainian national heritage, drawing on the Ukraine’s National Library collection and other collections. Open access.

Fundamental Digital Library of Russian Literature and Folklore (FEB-web) (Фундаментальная электронная библиотека "Русская литература и фольклор" (ФЭБ))

Russia

Fundamentalnaia elektronnaia biblioteka foundation

A full-text digital resource. FEB-web accumulates information in text, audio, visual, and other forms on 11th-20th-century Russian literature, Russian folklore, and the history of Russian literary scholarship and folklore studies. Open access.

National Electronic Library (NEL) (Национальная электронная библиотека (НЭБ))

Russia

NEL

Russia's Federal State information system bringing together digitized collections of Russian libraries of all levels. Partially open access.

Popular Literature, Fiction and Songs in Imperial Russia Online.

Russia

BrillOnline

The collection illustrates the chief genres of Russian popular literature and includes chivalric tales, historical fiction and updated fairy tales, as well as stories of adventure, banditry, detectives, success, war and empire, women and gender. The collection follows the evolution of the Russian language in its popular commercial print form, an evolution that the Bolsheviks interrupted, but one that has now resumed.

Primary sources, Russian Avant-garde, 1904-1946.

Russia/USSR

BrillOnline

Represents works of all Russian literary avant-garde schools. Comprises almost 800 books, periodicals and almanacs most of them published between 1910-1940 and thus offers an exceptionally varied and well-balanced overview of one of the most versatile movements in Russian literature. The books in this collection can be regarded as objects of art, illustrated by famous artists such as Malevich, Goncharova and Lisitskii.

Project Guttenberg

 

ibiblio

Open access web-based Project Gutenberg offers over 57,000 free eBooks. Titles searchable directly in HOLLIS.

Project Muse

All Slavic

Johns Hopkins University Press in collaboration with The Milton S. Eisenhower Library

Full-text versions of peer-reviewed journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, as well as thousands of ebooks, with emphasis on humanities and social sciences. Journal articles indexed directly in HOLLIS.

Soviet Union political reports, 1917-1970, Cambridge Archive Editions Online 

Russia/USSR

East View UDB

Reports and dispatches from the British diplomatic representatives in the USSR as well as reports and memoranda emanating in the Foreign Office and the War Office in London, and other British diplomatic sources.

University press scholarship online (UPSO)

All Slavic

Oxford University Press

UPSO aggregates monograph content from partner university presses, making disparately published scholarship accessible, discoverable, and fully cross-searchable via a single online platform. All titles are searcheable in HOLLIS.

World Communism: Pamphlets from McMaster University

Russia/USSR

Gale Archives Unbound 

This collection contains un-catalogued pamphlets pertaining to communism, socialism, and class struggle. The pamphlets are global in scope, although they are all in English unless otherwise noted. The bulk of the collection originates from China and Soviet Russia during the post-WWII period, although Cuba and Britain are strongly represented as well.  Date range: 1901-1969.

 

 

Title

Coverage

Producer

Description

Belarus Parliamentary Election, 2012 (EL-BPA12)

Belarus

East View UDB

The online collection provides a sample of ephemera in circulation during the September 23, 2012 Parliamentary Elections in Belarus.

Belarus Parliamentary Election, 2016 (EL-SCBEL16)

Belarus

East View UDB

The online collection provides a sample of ephemera in circulation during the September 11, 2016 Parliamentary Elections in Belarus.

Belarus Presidential Election, 2015 (EL-SCBEL15)

Belarus

East View UDB

The online collection provides a sample of ephemera in circulation during the 2015 Presidential Elections in Belarus.

Euromaidan Protests in Ukraine, 2013-2014 (EL-EMA)

Ukraine

East View UDB

An online collection of ephemera and primary source material from the Euromaidan protests that rocked Kiev beginning on November 21, 2013. 

Independence March (Poland) Collection at Harvard Library Poland Harvard Library

A collection of archived websites, digital videos, digital images, books, and ephemera (including postcards, posters, leaflets, pamphlets, buttons, magnets, T-shirts, sweatshirts, and other physical artifacts) that represents diverse mass media coverage and social media reactions to 2018 "March of Independence" in Poland.

Russia Presidential Election, 2012 (EL-RPR12)

Russia

East View UDB

An online collection of ephemera and primary source material documenting the Russian presidential elections of March 4, 2012.

Russia State Duma Election 2011 (EL-RPA11)

Russia

East View UDB

Ephemera produced by candidate campaigns, citizens, and the Russian government, harvested during and after the 2011 State Duma election period.

Russia State Duma Election 2016 (EL-RPA16)

Russia

East View UDB

Ephemera produced by candidate campaigns, citizens, and the Russian government, harvested in Moscow and Crimea during and after the 2016 State Duma election period.

Russian cultural, religious and business ephemera, 1987-1999

Russia/USSR

Harvard Library

The collection contains leaflets, booklets, posters, newspapers, event invitations, advertisements, photographs etc. relating to the cultural, religious and business environment in the Soviet Union and Russian Federation in the years 1987-1999. Physical copies also available. Part of the Russian ephemera (late 1980s-1990s) digitization project. 

Russian parliamentary election ephemera ; Moscow legislative election ephemera ; Constitutional referendum ephemera, 1993

Russia 

Harvard Library

The collection contains leaflets, posters, newspapers, campaign literature and party platforms for State Duma elections, Moscow Duma elections and the constitutional referendum that took place in Russia on December 12, 1993. Physical copies also available. Part of the Russian ephemera (late 1980s-1990s) digitization project. 

Russian parliamentary election ephemera ; Moscow mayoral election ephemera, 1999

Russia 

Harvard Library

The collection contains leaflets, posters, newspapers, campaign literature and party platforms for parliamentary elections in Russia and Moscow mayoral elections on December 19 1999. Physical copies also available. Part of the Russian ephemera (late 1980s-1990s) digitization project. 

Russian parliamentary election ephemera, 1995

Russia 

Harvard Library

The collection contains leaflets, posters, newspapers, campaign literature and party platforms for parliamentary elections in Russia in 1995. Physical copies also available. Part of the Russian ephemera (late 1980s-1990s) digitization project. 

Russian political ephemera, 1987-1999

Russia/USSR

Harvard Library

The collection contains leaflets, posters, newspapers, political campaign literature, photographs etc. relating to the political events in the Soviet Union and Russian Federation in the years 1987-1999. Physical copies also available. Part of the Russian ephemera (late 1980s-1990s) digitization project. 

Soviet coup d'état attempt ephemera, 1991

Russia/USSR

Harvard Library

The collection contains leaflets, posters, newspapers, photographs etc. relating to the attempted coup d'état in the Soviet Union on August 19-21, 1991. Physical copies also available. Part of the Russian ephemera (late 1980s-1990s) digitization project. 

Soviet ephemera, 1976-1978 

Russia/USSR

Harvard Library

Includes materials produced in connection with the 89th anniversary of a 1887 students’ political meeting (“Leninskai͡a skhodka”) at the Kazan university (1976), a book censor’s letter to the Moscow Railroads libraries with censorship instructions (1977) and a statement for the foreign press from a “free inter-labor” movement Svobodnoe Mezhprofessionalʹnoe Obʺedinenie trudi͡ashchikhsi͡a (SMOT, 1978).

Soviet republics and countries of the Former Soviet Union ephemera, 1980s-1990s

Russia/USSR

Harvard Library

The collection contains leaflets, posters, newspapers, photographs etc. relating to the political events and ethnic relations in the Soviet republics (except Russia, Ukraine, Kyrgyzstan and Turkmenistan) and subsequently, the countries of the Former Soviet Union in the late 1980-s-1990s. Physical copies also available. Part of the Russian ephemera (late 1980s-1990s) digitization project. 

Ukraine Parliamentary Election, 2012 (EL-UPA12)

Ukraine

East View UDB

An online collection of election related ephemera and primary source material documenting the Ukrainian Rada elections of October 28, 2012. 

Ukraine Presidential Election, 2014 (EL-UPR14)

Ukraine

East View UDB

An online collection of presidential ephemera from the May 2014 Early Presidential Election in Ukraine. 

Ukrainian election ephemera, 1991-1994 Ukraine Harvard Library

The collection contains leaflets, posters, newspapers, campaign literature, party platforms, and election results for presidential elections held in Ukraine on December 1, 1991; parliamentary elections held in Ukraine on March 27, 1994, and presidential elections held in Ukraine on June 26, 1994. Physical copies are also available. Part of the Ukrainian political ephemera digitization project.

Ukrainian election ephemera, 1998

Ukraine Harvard Library

The collection contains leaflets, posters, newspapers, campaign literature, party platforms, and list of candidates for local and parliamentary elections held in Ukraine on March 29, 1998. Physical copies are also available. Part of the Ukrainian political ephemera digitization project.

Ukrainian election ephemera, 1999 Ukraine Harvard Library

The collection contains leaflets, posters, newspapers, and campaign literature for presidential elections held in Ukraine on 31 October 1999. Physical copies are also available. Part of the Ukrainian political ephemera digitization project.

Ukrainian election ephemera, 2002

Ukraine Harvard Library

The collection contains leaflets, posters, newspapers, campaign literature, and party platforms for local and parliamentary elections held in Ukraine on 31 March, 2002. Physical copies are also available. Part of the Ukrainian political ephemera digitization project.

Ukrainian election ephemera, 2004

Ukraine Harvard Library

The collection contains leaflets, posters, newspapers, and campaign literature for presidential elections held in Ukraine on October 31, November 21, and December 26, 2004. Physical copies are also available. Part of the Ukrainian political ephemera digitization project.

Ukrainian election ephemera, 2006

Ukraine Harvard Library

The collection contains newspapers, posters, booklets, leaflets, campaign literature, and party platforms for local and parliamentary elections held in Ukraine on 26 March 2006. Physical copies are also available. Part of the Ukrainian political ephemera digitization project.

Ukrainian election ephemera, 2007

Ukraine Harvard Library

The collection contains newspapers, posters, booklets, leaflets, campaign literature, and party platforms for early parliamentary elections held in Ukraine on 30 September 2007. Physical copies are also available. Part of the Ukrainian political ephemera digitization project.

Ukrainian election ephemera, 2008

Ukraine Harvard Library

The collection contains newspapers, posters, booklets, leaflets, campaign literature, and party platforms for early mayoral and city council elections held in Kiev, Ukraine on May 25, 2008. Physical copies are also available. Part of the Ukrainian political ephemera digitization project.

Ukrainian election ephemera, 2012

Ukraine Harvard Library

The collection contains newspapers, posters, booklets, leaflets, campaign literature, and party platforms for parliamentary elections held in Ukraine on 28 October 2012. Physical copies are also available. Part of the Ukrainian political ephemera digitization project.

Ukrainian election ephemera, 2013

Ukraine Harvard Library

The collection contains leaflets, newspapers, and campaign literature for parliamentary by-elections held in Ukraine on 15 December 2013. Physical copies are also available. Part of the Ukrainian political ephemera digitization project.

Ukrainian election ephemera, 2014

Ukraine Harvard Library

The collection contains newspapers, posters, booklets, leaflets, campaign literature, and party platforms for parliamentary elections held in Ukraine on 26 October 2014. Physical copies are also available. Part of the Ukrainian political ephemera digitization project.

Ukrainian election ephemera, 2014

Ukraine Harvard Library

The collection contains leaflets, newspapers, and campaign literature for presidential elections, and Kyiv local elections for the post of mayor and members of Kiev City Council held in Ukraine on 25 May 2014. Physical copies are also available. Part of the Ukrainian political ephemera digitization project.

Ukrainian election ephemera, 2015

Ukraine Harvard Library

The collection contains leaflets, posters, newspapers, and campaign literature for the Ukrainian local elections held on 25 October 2015. A second round of voting took place on 15 November 2015. Physical copies are also available. Part of the Ukrainian political ephemera digitization project.

Ukrainian political ephemera, 1965-2001

Ukraine Harvard Library

The collection includes various broadsheets, circulars, leaflets, proclamations, reports, and press releases mostly relating to Ukrainian opposition movements from 1965 to 2001. Physical copies are also available. Part of the Ukrainian political ephemera digitization project.

Ukrainian political ephemera : Euromaidan protests, 2013-2014

Ukraine

Harvard Library

 

The collection includes newsletters, newspapers, flyers, leaflets, posters, ribbons, and various political parties’ materials relating to the Euromaidan protests of 2013-2014. Physical copies are also available. Part of the Ukrainian political ephemera digitization project.

 

For more information on image collections in Slavic and Eurasian collections at Harvard please see Visual resources section of this guide.

Title

Coverage

Producer

Description

Russian Theatrical Designs in the Harvard Theatre Collection

Russia

Harvard Library

The collection includes about 650 theatrical designs and portraits.

Slavic Poster Collection

All Slavic

Harvard Library

A unique collection of over 1500 posters from Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Poland, Russia, Soviet Union and Ukraine, dating from the beginning of the last quarter of the 20th century until present. 

Title Coverage Producer Description
Balkan Insight Balkans BIRN BalkanInsight.com is a product of the Balkan Investigative Reporting Network (BIRN). The www.balkaninsight.com website contains current information from nine countries in the Balkans [Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Kosovo, Macedonia, Montenegro, Romania, Serbia], and will keep its readers updated on the latest developments in the region, through regular analytical and investigative reports. It covers reforms and the transition process, business and investment trends, while a daily news service is available through the "In brief" section
EastView universal databases. All regions East View UDB This database provides full text in-depth information from Russia and the former Soviet Union. Resources include newspapers, newswires, popular and scholarly periodicals, government documents and e-books. Current news sources can be found in Agregated Databases and Standalone Serials sections. 
       

Title

Coverage

Producer

Description

Central and Eastern European Online Library (CEEOL)

Central Europe

CEEOL

An Internet library of scholarly and cultural publications from Central and Eastern Europe. Search articles, books, publishers, periodicals, and authors.

Early Russian cinema online.

Russia

BrillOnline

This unique collection of Russian film periodicals from the last tsarist decade includes both sophisticated and more popular periodicals released by the major Russian film studios. Containing interviews with movie stars and now irretrievably lost screenplays, these journals will prove an invaluable source about the silent movie era and Russia's entertainment industry at the eve of the Revolution.

Gudok Digital Archive (DA-GUDO) 

Russia

East View UDB

Gudok is a Russian daily newspaper in continuous publication since 1917 and is one of the oldest and leading trade newspapers in Russia. Since its inception it has covered a wide range of topics dealing with the railway industry. It has also provided important commentary on Soviet and post-Soviet Russian culture, politics, and social life. The digital archive covers 1920-2018.

Informatsionnyi sbornik shtaba ob"edinennykh vooruzhennykh sil gosudarstv-uchastnikov Varshavskogo dogovora / The Warsaw Pact Journal Digital Archive (DA-WPJ) 

All Slavic

East View UDB

This Russian language journal was published biannually during the last two decades of the Warsaw Pact’s existence until it ceased publication in 1990 with the dissolution of the Warsaw Pact itself. Coverage: 1970-1990.

Iskusstvo Kino Digital Archive (DA-IK)

Russia/USSR

East View UDB

The Iskusstvo Kino Digital Archive captures the complete run (1931-2014) of this illustrated analytical journal of film criticism in a complete online archive, in full-image and fully searchable text.

JSTOR Slavic Studies

All Slavic

JSTOR

JSTOR is a full-text archive of important scholarly journals in Slavic Studies. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and related titles. Generally, the most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are not available in JSTOR. http://nrs.harvard.edu/urn-3:hul.eresource:jsslavic

Kiberleninka

Russian

Kiberleninka

An open access e-library of scholarly periodicals in sciences and humanities.

Krasnyi Arkhiv digital archive (DA-KRA)

Russia/USSR

East View Russia Individual Titles (UDB-IND)

Krasnyi Arkhiv was published in Moscow from 1922 till June 1941 first by the Central Archives of the USSR and later by the Central Archival Administration. Digital Archive (DA-KRA) comprises the entire collection of the 106 published volumes, completely digitized (1,010 articles, more than 23,000 pages) 

Krokodil Digital Archive (DA-KRO)

Russia/USSR

East View Russia Individual Titles (UDB-IND)

The full-text full-color online archive of the satirical magazine Krokodil (initially a supplement to Rabochii and Rabochaia gazeta), from 1922 through 2008 (until it ceased publication).

Mass media in Russia 1908-1918 online : (parts 1 and 2).

Russia/USSR

BrillOnline

This unique collection contains complete runs of kopeck (penny) newspapers, the most widely circulated Russian newspapers in the beginning of the 20th century. They document political and social developments in Russia from 1908 to 1918 and are a mirror of the colorful social and cultural life of the Russian capitals. This collection gives access to a rare source practically unavailable in Western libraries. 

Moscow News Digital Archive (DA-MN)

Russia/USSR

East View UDB

The Moscow News Digital Archive contains all obtainable published issues (1930-2014, approx. 60,000 pages), including issues of the newspaper’s short-lived sister publication Moscow Daily News (1932-1938).

Muslims in Russia. Brill

Russia/USSR

BrillOnline

This collection introduces the uniquely varied and poorly explored Russian Muslim population during one of the most dynamic periods of their history (1861-1918). Materials published in Russia both at the center and on the periphery reflect the picturesque palette of life of Muslims in the Russian Empire, as well as the positions of their public and political figures. This collection presents works written by and about Muslims. The value of this heritage is especially clear now that the historical and spiritual past of Muslims in Russia is being actively reconsidered.

Niva Digital Archive, East View

Russia

East View UDB

The digital archive contains the complete set of 49 years of Niva (1870-1918) with more than 2,500 issues and 26,318 articles in total.

Novoe russkoe slovo Digital Archive (DA-NRS) 

Russian-American diaspora

East View UDB

Novoe russkoe slovo (New Russian Word) was first published in 1910 in New York under the founding editorship of the Russian émigré journalist and writer Ivan Okuntsov, who served as editor until 1917. Published initially as Russkoe slovo with pro-Communist leanings, the newspaper underwent nominal and ideological changes a decade later, in 1920.Ceased publication in 2010. The archive includes both Russkoe slovo and Novoe russkoe slovo and covers 1918-2001.

Ogonek digital archive (DA-OGN), East View 

Russia/USSR

East View UDB

The digital archive provides access to fully searchable full-text and full-color digital copies of issues of Ogonek (a long-running Russian illustrated weekly) from 1923 through 2016. 

Primary sources, Russian Avant-garde, 1904-1946.

Russia/USSR

BrillOnline

Represents works of all Russian literary avant-garde schools. Comprises almost 800 books, periodicals and almanacs most of them published between 1910-1940 and thus offers an exceptionally varied and well-balanced overview of one of the most versatile movements in Russian literature. The books in this collection can be regarded as objects of art, illustrated by famous artists such as Malevich, Goncharova and Lisitskii.

Russian Anarchist Periodicals of the Early 20th Century (Anarchist periodicals)

Russia

BrillOnline

Anarchists - being a small but highly radical group in pre-revolutionary Russia - lacked printing facilities within their own country and were forced to initiate their propaganda activities from abroad. During the February Revolution of 1917, anarchist literature and periodicals were legalized in Russia. This collection reveals the eventful history of Russia during the revolutionary era, from the perspective of metropolitan and provincial newspapers and journals published by the most radical political forces. Furthermore, these materials shed new light on the relationship of the anarchists with the Bolsheviks and the Soviet State, and also reveal the impact of anarchist ideas on the literature and art of the period

Russkaia literatura Digital Archive (DA-RLI)

Russia/USSR

East View UDB

Published since 1958 by the Institute of Russian Literature of the Russian Academy of Science (Pushkinskii Dom), this scholarly journal features numerous research papers, discussion pieces, analytical articles and critical essays concerning classical and modern writers and poets of Russia.

Russkii Arkhiv Digital Archive (DA-RSA)

Russia

East View UDB

A well-known monthly journal of history and literature, published in Moscow in 1863-1917 (1880-1884 — bimonthly).

Screen and stage online

Russia

Brill

This unique collection of Russian theater and film periodicals, which also includes material on other forms of entertainment (cabaret theater, circus) and mass culture in pre-revolutionary Russia consists of various types of material ranging from sophisticated journals to cheaply produced magazines published in the last three decades of the Tsarist regime.

Sovetskaia Kul’tura Digital Archive (DA-SK)

Russia/USSR

East View UDB

This resource provides access to Kulʹtura (Culture), an important Russian weekly newspaper previously published under the titles: Rabochiĭ i iskusstvo (1929-1930), Sovetskoe iskusstvo (1931-1941), Literatura i iskusstvo (1942-1944), Sovetskoe iskusstvo (1944-1952) and Sovetskai͡a kulʹtura (1953-1991).

Soviet cinema online : periodicals and newspapers 1918-1942.

Russia/USSR

BrillOnline

The collection includes Soviet film magazines and newspapers from the 1920s and 1930s, reflecting the most interesting and fertile period in the history of Russian film. These publications shed light on the production side of Soviet cinematography, as well as on the theoretical and practical concepts developed by the period's leading directors and critics. They also highlight the role of film in Soviet cultural life. Film magazines and newspapers featured articles by leading Soviet directors (Lev Kuleshov, Sergei Eisenstein, Dziga Vertov, Aleksandr Dovzhenko, Abram Room), as well as members of the avant-garde LEF, leading authors and philologists.

Voennaia Mysl' Digital Archive (DA-VM)

Russia

East View UDB

Established in 1918 as Voennoe Delo, the journal underwent several name changes before it became Voennaia Mysl’ in 1937. Published under the auspices of Ministry of Defense, and directly subordinate to the General Staff, it remained classified until 1989. Coverage: 1920-2018.

Voprosy istorii Digital Archive (DA-VI)

Russia/USSR

East View UDB

The oldest Soviet and Russian academic history journal, Voprosy istorii (“Issues of History”) has offered scholarly perspectives on events in Russia and the world since 1926. Published by the Russian Academy of Sciences, this journal covering Russian and world history was first published under the title Istorik-Marksist (Marxist Historian, 1926-1941), then Istoricheskii zhurnal (History Journal, 1937-1945) and finally under the present title (since 1945), all four titles included in the e-archive.

Voprosy literatury Digital Archive (DA-VL)

Russia/USSR

East View UDB

Authoritative journal of literary criticism offering articles and roundtable transcripts dealing with problems of Russian and world literature, history and theory of literature. Coverage: 1957 - present.

Warsaw Pact Journal Digital Archive 

All Slavic/Central Europe

East View UDB

Contains digitized issues of the journal Informat͡sionnyĭ sbornik Shtaba obʺedinennykh vooruzhennykh sil, originally published 1970-1972, and its successor titles Informat͡sionnyĭ sbornik Shtaba i Tekhnicheskogo komiteta obʺedinennykh vooruzhennykh sil, originally published 1973-1978, and Informat͡sionnyĭ sbornik Shtaba obʺedinennykh vooruzhennykh sil gosudarstvuchastinikov Varshavaskogo dogovora, originally published 1978-1990.

 

Title

Coverage

Producer

Description

Baltics, Belarus, Moldova, Ukraine (UDB-EUR) 

Central Europe

East View UDB

The Universal Database of newspapers from the Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia, Ukraine, Moldova and Belarus (UDB-EUR) includes important periodicals published in these now independent states which used to be part of the Soviet Union. The sources are in mostly in Russian, they cover various issues of domestic and international importance. 

Central Asia and Caucasus (UDB-CAC)

Central Asia, Caucasus

East View UDB

The Universal Database of Central Asia and Caucasus (UDB-CAC) includes a number of authoritative periodicals published in this region. The sources are mostly in Russian and English and cover various issues of domestic and international interest. The dates of coverage range from 2000 to present. 

eLIBRARY.RU

Russia

 

Rusia's electronic library of scholarly journals. Many are in open access, others require subscription. 

Project Muse

All Slavic

Johns Hopkins University Press in collaboration with The Milton S. Eisenhower Library

Full-text versions of peer-reviewed journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, as well as thousands of ebooks, with emphasis on humanities and social sciences. Journal articles indexed directly in HOLLIS.

Russia governmental publications (UDB-GOV)

Russia

East View UDB

Offers publications that monitor the events in the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation, including stenographic records of the hearings of both the Duma and Federation Council, vote results, resolutions, legislative drafts, as well as the schedule and agenda of legislative work; includes official publications by the State Audit Chamber, the Herald of the Central Electoral Committee, and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Russia as well as texts of laws, presidential decrees, government's resolutions and the Constitutional Court's decisions.

Russia/NIS Statistical Publications (UDB-STAT-RUS)

Russia

East View UDB

This database contains electronic versions of publications from the major Russian statistics agency Goskomstat Rossii and its regional statistics agencies, Statkomitet SNG, and statistical agencies of the former Soviet Union (statistical yearbooks, monthly analytical reports, regional statistical information, and annual statistical abstracts). It includes 2002 Russian Census information.

Russian central newspapers (UDB-COM) 

Russia

East View UDB

Provides coverage of national news, current events, economic developments and cultural events in Russia. Includes official sources (Rossiiskaia gazeta, Krasnaia zvezda, ITAR-TASS), independent media and partisan publications as well as several English-language newspapers including Moscow Times.

Russian military and security periodicals (UDB-MIL)

Russia

East View UDB

Includes several dozen publications covering military and security developments in Russia from both official and independent sources. All branches of the armed forces are covered, including the Russian Air Force, Army and Navy. In addition to journals and newspapers published in Moscow, the database presents imprints from military districts and some armies and divisions. Languages: Russian and English.

Russian regional newspapers (UDB-REG) 

Russia

East View UDB

Provides coverage of developments throughout Russia's regions. This database currently presents newspapers from all seven Federal Districts of the Russian Federation and includes coverage of local issues of Moscow and St. Petersburg. The selected newspapers have the largest circulation in their regions and are considered as most authoritative. The list of titles will continue to be expanded.

Russian Social Sciences & Humanities (UDB-EDU)

Russia

East View UDB

The database includes all 31 journals of the Russian Academy of Sciences with subjects ranging from archeology to linguistics, as well as popular literary editions, and independent scholarly publications. New titles and archival issues are added regularly.

Russian/NIS Newswires (UDB-NEWS)

Russia

East View UDB

This database includes several sources that follow the day-to-day developments in Russia and CIS. The Moscow bureau of Federal News Service (Washington, D.C.) produces the daily Kremlin package consisting of the full-text transcripts of top speeches, statements, press conferences, newspaper articles and television reports of the day, from presidential addresses to remarks by Duma opposition leaders, from Foreign Ministry briefings to commentaries by leading economists and other experts. ITAR-TASS, one of the major world information agencies, delivers a detailed account about the events in Russia and worldwide. The Moscow information agency Oreanda specializes in economic news and its services are used by the largest Russian banks and corporations as well as by government agencies. The daily newswire AP-Blitz is produced by the Tajikistan-based Asia-Plus, covering the developments in Central Asia.

Taylor & Francis Online

All Slavic

Taylor & Francis

The journal content platform for the Taylor & Francis Group. It gives online access to all journals published by Taylor & Francis and Routledge and includes articles going back over 200 years along with the most recent publiations.

Ukrainian Publications (UDB-UKR)

Ukraine

East View UDB

A database of newspapers and magazines of Ukraine (UDB-UKR) includes publications in Russian, Ukrainian, and English. They cover a broad range of political, economic, and cultural affairs of Ukraine. Topics include Ukraine's progress along the reform path, the view and positions of various political forces, changes in legislation, ethnic relations, and organizational trends in development of the armed forces. The database also includes news wire reports and other products of Ukrainian news agencies. An integral and unique part of this database is the Ukrainian Book Chamber's editions, which list everything published in Ukraine with detailed bibliographic description. 

Zhurnalnyi zal (Журнальный зал)

Russia

Zhurnalnyi zal

A non-commercial internet project presenting literary "fat" journals (publishing literary works and literary criticism) as well as journals in general humanitarian subjects, published either in Russia or abroad.

 

Loading ...