Featured Collection
Flags of the Solidarity movement flying in Gdansk, Poland. (Photograph by penny_7b, via Flickr Creative Commons).
Widener and Houghton Libraries hold the Solidarity Bibliographic Center collection of independent, underground, and uncensored Polish publications from the 1970's-1990.
Quick Facts
-
Transitions Online: Poland
-
BBC News country profile: Poland
-
UN Data Country Profile: Poland
-
Economist Intelligence Unit country page: Poland
-
World Bank country page: Poland
-
OECD Country page: Poland
-
CIA World Factbook: Poland
-
State Department Background Notes: Poland
-
Poland: A Country Study, Library of Congress Federal Research Division
News
Poland news (http://www.topix.net/world/poland)
Mondo Times – Poland (http://www.mondotimes.com/1/world/pl)
Polska Agencja Prasowa (http://www.pap.pl/palio/html.run?_Instance=cms_www.pap.pl)
Polish Press Agency
TV Polonia (http://www.tvpolonia.com/)
Central and Eastern European Online Library (CEEOL) (http://www.ceeol.com.ezp-prod1.hul.harvard.edu)
(Online archive with full text PDF articles from humanities and social science journals)Hollis # 012142017
Journals:
BazHum (http://bazhum.muzhp.pl/)
(A full-text Polish journal archive)
Warsaw daily (http://warsawmedia.com/)
In English (online only)
Newsweek Polska (http://www.newsweek.pl/)
In Polish (online only)
In Polish:
Gazeta wyborcza
Rzeczpospolita
Zycie Warszawy
Nowy dziennik
Tygodnik Solidarnosc
Wprost
Polityka
Tygodnik powszechny
In English:
Warsaw business journal
Warsaw voice
Selected Resources for Poland
General resources
Polska.pl / Poland.pl (http://www.poland.pl/)
In Polish and English
Wielka Internetowa Encyklopedia Multimedialna – WIEM (http://portalwiedzy.onet.pl/encyklopedia.html)
In Polish
Internetowa Encyklopedia PWN (http://encyklopedia.wp.pl/)
In Polish
CBN Polona (Cyfrowa Biblioteka Narodowa) http://www.polona.pl/oldie/
Slaska Biblioteka Cyfrowa (www.sbc.org.pl)
Silesian Digital Library
In English ; texts in Polish, German, etc. ; content: rare books, periodicals; modern books.
dLibra – Digital Library Framework (http://dlibra.psnc.pl/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=5&Itemid=6&lang=en)
Index of Polish electronic libraries; full text access
National bibliography
Online sources:
Polish National Union Catalog (http://centrum.nukat.edu.pl/)
Narodowy Uniwersalny Katalog
In Polish
Biblioteka Narodowa (http://www.bn.org.pl/)
Polish National Library
Online catalog; electronic resources
Biblioteka Jagiellonska (http://www.bj.uj.edu.pl/)
Library of the Jagiellonian University
Online catalog; electronic resources
Biblioteka Jagiellonska.
Czasopisma polskie w wersji cyfrowej.
List of Polish periodicals available in electronic format (http://www.bj.uj.edu.pl/zb/czc.pdf)
Printed sources:
Estreicher, Karol Józef Teofil, 1827-1908. Bibliografia polska / przez K. Estreichera. New York : Johnson Reprint Corp., 1964-65. 33 vols.
|b WID |c WIDLC |h Z2521 |i .E82x 1964
Elektroniczna Baza Bibliografii Estreichera – EBBE (http://www.estreicher.uj.edu.pl/)
Wielka encyklopedia powszechna PWN. [Komitet redakcyjny: przewodniczący: Bogdan Suchodolski. Warszawa, Państwowe Wydawn. Naukowe 1962-1970. 13 vols.
Widener | Slav 5205.60
Poland : an encyclopedic guide / [editors, Edyta Banaszkiewicz-Zygmunt, Krzysztof Olendzki]. Warsaw : Polish Scientific Publishers PWN, 2000. Xiv, 978 p.
Widener | WID-LC | DK4030 .P636 2000
Polska Akademia Umiejętności. Polski slownik biograficzny. [Komitet redakcyjny: Władysław Konopczyński, et al.] Kraków, Skład główny w księg, Gebethnera i Wolffa, 1935- 45+ vols.
Slav 6575.10
Atlas Rzeczypospolitej Polskiej / [Polska Akademia Nauk, Instytut Geografii i Przestrzennego Zagospodarowania ; redaktor naczelny, Michał Najgrakowski] = Atlas of the Republic of Poland / [Polish Academy of Sciences, Institute of Geography and Spatial Organization ; editor-in-chief, Michał Najgrakowski]. Warszawa : Główny Geodeta Kraju, c1993-1999. 1 atlas
Map Coll (Pusey) | MAP-LC | G1950 .A86 1993 pf
Słownik geograficzny Królestwa Polskiego i innych krajów słowiańskich / wydany pod red. Filipa Sulimierskiego, Bronisława Chlebowskiego, Władysława Walewskiego. Warszawa : Wydawnictwa Artystyczne i Filmowe, 1986-1987. 15 vols.
Widener | WID-LC | DJK7 .S46x 1986
Arts & culture
Culture.pl (http://www.culture.pl/)
Polish and English
Ministerstwo Kultury i Dziedzictwa Narodowego (http://www.mkidn.gov.pl/)
Ministry of Culture and National Heritage
Polish and English
Galerie Sztuki Wspolczesnej w Polsce (http://www.poland.pl/directory/index,Galleries,cid,780.htm) (http://info.galerie.art.pl/)
Contemporary Art Galleries in Poland
In Polish and English
Muzeum Narodowe w Warszawie (http://www.mnw.art.pl/)
The National Museum in Warsaw
In Polish and English
Polish Music Center (http://www.usc.edu/dept/polish_music/)
In English
Dziennik Teatralny (http://www.dziennikteatralny.pl/)
Filmpolski.pl (http://www.filmpolski.pl/fp/index.php/6)
Internetowa baza filmu polskiego
Polish cinematograph
History
Online sources:
Historicus – Portal Historyczny (http://historicus.umk.pl)
In Polish
Cyberhistoria (www.historia.uw.edu.pl)
Server of the Institute of History, Warsaw University
In Polish and English
Polish Resistance in World War II (http://www.polishresistance-ak.org/)
In Polish and English
Internetowe Muzeum Solidarnosci (http://elfal.com/solidarnosc/)
Internet Museum of Solidarity Movement
In Polish
PolandGenWeb (http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~polwgw/frames.html)
Genealogy
In English
Archaeology Poland (http://polandpoland.com/polish_archaeology.html)
In English
Printed sources:
Solidarity and related materials, 1970- (inclusive), 1970, 1980-1981 (bulk).
Houghton | SOLIDAR BIBL CTR
Polska Akademia Umiejętności. Polski slownik biograficzny. [Komitet redakcyjny: Władysław Konopczyński, et al.] Kraków, Skład główny w księg, Gebethnera i Wolffa, 1935-
Widener | Slav 6575.10
Bibliografia historii Polski / pod red. Heleny Madurowicz-Urbańskiej opracowali Wiesław Bieńkowski. Warszawa, Państwowe Wydawn. Naukowe, 1965-78. 8 vols.
Widener | Slav 5200.28
Poland. Sovereigns. (1507-48 : Zygmunt I) Epistole, legationes, responsa, actiones, res geste Sigismundi, ejus nominis primi, regis Polonie. Sub M. Drzewicki, P.Tomicki [et al.] scripta, per S.Górski collecte et digeste. [Edited by A.T.Działynski, et al. Posnaniae, 1852- 1966. (Acta Tomiciana) 18 vols.
Widener | Slav 5210.5 F
Acta historica res gestas Poloniae illustrantia ab anno 1507 usque ad annum 1795. Cracoviae : Sumptibus Academiae Literarum Cracoviensis, 1878-1910. 13 vols.
Widener | Slav 5215.8-.8.9
Długosz, Jan, 1415-1480. Dzieła wszystkie, wydane staraniem Alexandra Przezdzieckiego. [Krakow, 1887, '64-'88]. (Opera omnia) 14 vols.
Widener | Slav 5348.4
Journals:
Sarmatian review
Polish review
Archives
PIASA Archives (http://www.piasa.org/archives.html)
Polish Institute of Arts and Sciences of America
In English and Polish
Archiwa Panstwowe (http://www.archiwa.gov.pl/)
State Archives
In Polish and English
Archiwum Glowne Akt Dawnych w Warszawie (http://www.agad.archiwa.gov.pl/)
Archiwum Akt Nowych (http://www.aan.gov.pl/)
Instytut Pamieci Narodowej (http://ipn.gov.pl/)
Government & politics
Political resources on the Net – Poland I (http://www.politicalresources.net/poland.htm)
In English and Polish
President of the Republic of Poland (http://www.president.pl/x.node?id=479)
Prezydent RP
In Polish and English
Sejm of the Republic of Poland (http://www.sejm.gov.pl/english.html)
Sejm Rzeczypospolitej Polskiej
In Polish and English
Internet Law Library: Poland (http://www.lectlaw.com/inll/181.htm)
In English
Polski serwer prawa (http://lex.com.pl/)
Polish Law Server
In Polish
An Overview of Polish Law (http://www.nyulawglobal.org/globalex/Poland.htm)
In English
Election Guide : Poland (http://www.electionguide.org/country-news.php?ID=173)
In English
Literature & language
Online sources:
Polish/English; English/Polish Dictionary (http://www.babylon.com/define/115/Dictionary-English-Polish.html)
Slownik Jezyka Polskiego (http://sjp.pwn.pl/)
Wielki slownik ortograficzny (http://so.pwn.pl/)
Polska Bibliografia Literacka (http://pbl.ibl.poznan.pl/dostep/
Instytut Badan Literackich PAN w Warszawie, Pracownia Bibliografii Biezacej w Poznaniu.
Biblioteka literatury polskiej w Internecie (http://monika.univ.gda.pl/~literat/)
Polish literature on the Internet
In Polish
Wirtualna biblioteka literatury polskiej (http://julia.univ.gda.pl/%7Eliterat/zulu/zasad.htm)
Virtual library of Polish literature
In Polish
Polish literature in English translation (http://home.roadrunner.com/~polishlit/)
In English
Staropolska (http://www.staropolska.pl/)
In Polish and English
Print sources:
Bibliografia literatury polskiej Nowy Korbut. [Kraków, etc.] Państwowy Instytut Wydawniczy [etc., 1963-
Widener | Slav 6735.10.10
Słownik języka polskiego / redaktor naczelny Witold Doroszewski. Warszawa : Wiedza Powszechna, 1958-1969. 11 vols.
Widener | 3286.65.205
Uniwersalny słownik języka polskiego / pod redakcją Stanisława Dubisza. Warszawa : Wydawn. Naukowe PWN, 2003. 6 vols. (Korpus jezyka polskiego PWN)
Widener | WID-LC | PG6625 .U55 2003
Nowy słownik Fundacji Kościuszkowskiej = The new Kosciuszko Foundation dictionary / redaktor naczelny, Jacek Fisiak. New York, N.Y. : Kościuszko Foundation ; Kraków : Universitas, c2003. 2 vols. + CD-ROM
Widener | WID-LC | PG6640 .N69 2003
Journals:
FA-art
Odra
Pamietnik literacki
Ruch literacki
Teksty drugie
Tworczosc
Zeszyty literackie
Archives:
Wittlin, Józef, 1896- Correspondence.
Houghton Library.
Also in Houghton are partial archives of other writers: Jozef Mackiewicz, Witkacy (Stanislaw Ignacy Witkiewicz) and Waclaw Grubinski
About This Page
The content of this page was originally created by Joanna Epstein, librarian for Poland and Polish-language materials in the Slavic Division of Widener Library (to 2016)in conjunction with the research contacts for Slavic studies, who continue to maintain it.