Slavic visual resources at Harvard
Ukraïna-maty nasha. P
Davis Center Collection, Fung Library. Photograph Collections: Selected Holdings.
A sampling of the Davis Center's photographic holdings , including some images of the Soviet Information Bureaus photograph collection approximately 5,700 propaganda photographs from the late 1940's.
Russian Theatre Designs from the Harvard Theatre Collection
http://www.hcl.harvard.edu/collections/digital_collections/russian_theatre.cfm Includes about 650 theatrical designs and portraits.
Slavic Poster Collection
A unique collection of over 1500 posters from Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Poland, Russia, Soviet Union and Ukraine, dating from the beginning of the last quarter of the 20th century until present.
Photographic Resources in the Special Collections of the Harvard Ukrainian Research Institute
A collection of close to 6,000 images, which includes a wide range of subjects pertaining to Ukrainian history.
A Directory of Photographs at Harvard
A directory to over 7.5 million photographs held in the libraries, museums, archives, and research institutes at Harvard University, organized by repository.
VIA (Visual Information Access)
A union catalog of visual resources located at Harvard and Radcliffe. It includes information about slides, photographs, objects and artifacts in the university's libraries, museums and archives.
Visual resources on the web
AccuNet/AP multimedia archive
A database of over 700,000 photographs, charts and other graphics from the 1840s to the present.
Americans in the Land of Lenin: Documentary Photographs of Early Soviet Russia, 1919-1930
http://library.duke.edu/digitalcollections/esrA collection of “750 photographs of every-day life in the Soviet Union (1919-1921 and 1930) from the papers of Robert L. Eichelberger and Frank Whitson Fetter held” by Duke University Libraries.
A database that includes approximately 300,000 images covering art, architecture and archeology.
Children’s Books of the Early Soviet Period
An exhibit by the Rare Books and Special Collections Division of the McGill University Libraries "that draws on an important collection of more than 350 Soviet children's books published in the 1920s and 30s and which are remarkable for their original aesthetic quality, linguistic variety and thematic diversity.”
David Rumsey Map Collection
Includes over 28,000 maps focusing on the 18th and 19th centuries. Includes maps from Central Europe and Eurasia Individual maps are listed in HOLLIS and HOLLIS CLassic online catalogs.
The Empire That Was Russia: The Prokudin-Gorskii Photographic Record Recreated
“The Sergei Mikhailovich Prokudin-Gorskii Collection features color photographic surveys of the vast Russian Empire made between ca. 1905 and 1915. Frequent subjects among the 2,607 distinct images include people, religious architecture, historic sites, industry and agriculture, public works construction, scenes along water and railway transportation routes, and views of villages and cities. An active photographer and scientist, Prokudin-Gorskii (1863-1944) undertook most of his ambitious color documentary project from 1909 to 1915. The Library of Congress purchased the collection from the photographer's sons in 1948.”
Hoover Political Poster Database
Searchable by country and subject. "More than one hundred thousand political posters from around the world are available in the Hoover Archives poster collection. Thirty-three thousand of these are cataloged in a searchable database. Although many thousands of posters date from World War I and World War II, the collection covers the entire twentieth century." Includes cataloging information, and many thumbnail images, for about 2,600 posters the Russian empire and the Soviet Union, though the database inlcudes posters from more than eighty countries.
Images of Russia and the Caucasus Region 1929-1933
From the American Geographical Society Library and the University of Wisconsin, a digital collection of “more than 700 images of Russia and the Caucasus region, particularly of rural areas in Georgia and Dagestan. The photographs, taken by William O. Field in the late 1920s and early 1930s, are housed at the American Geographical Society Library. The photographic collection is supplemented by Field’s diaries and travel notes, and a selection of maps of the Caucasus region.”
International Institute of Social History Poster Collection (Amsterdam)
Includes "posters from government publishing houses mainly from the 1920s and 1930s, and from the 1970s and 1980s," searchable in the catalog. One sampling can be found in the exhibit "The Chairman Smiles." Can also browse many of their collections on Russia.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Includes a vast collection of Slavic images. Click on the following link to go directly to the Slavic and Baltic Division images: http://digitalgallery.nypl.org/nypldigital/dgdivisionbrowseresult.cfm?trg=1&div_id=hv The Slavic collections include:
- Icons and Images of Cultures: Plate Books from the Russian Empire, Early Soviet Russia, and Eastern Europe, 1730-1935 http://digitalgallery.nypl.org/nypldigital/explore/dgexplore.cfm?col_id=194
- Posters of the Russian Civil War, 1918-1922 http://digitalgallery.nypl.org/nypldigital/explore/dgexplore.cfm?col_id=195
- Russia and Eastern Europe in Rare Photographs, 1860-1945 http://digitalgallery.nypl.org/nypldigital/explore/dgexplore.cfm?col_id=193
Russian Posters Collection, 1919-1989 and undated
A Duke University Libraries’ collection of “75 Russian posters, documenting almost 60 years of Communist political advertising (1920s-1980s).” http://library.duke.edu/digitalcollections/russianposters/
Dalbey Photographic Collection, University of Denver
Formerly the Semyon Fridlyand Archive, this is a "digital archive of over 10,000 photographs of daily life in the Soviet Union (1940s-1980s) by photojournalist and photo editor of Ogonek (the Soviet Union’s version of Life magazine). During his 40-year career, Fridlyand photographed every major theme in official Soviet history, from industrialization and collectivization, to the building of a Soviet empire stretching from the Pacific to the Baltic, and from the Arctic to the Black Sea. Fridlyand also covered the battlefields of WWII."
USSR in Construction (1930-1949)
“USSR in Construction is a photographic propaganda journal published in the Soviet Union throughout the years 1930 to 1941, and briefly in 1949. It was published in Russian, French, English, German, and, from 1938, Spanish, and its self-proclaimed purpose was to “reflect in photography the whole scope and variety of the construction work now going on the USSR”. This site includes only images from the journal.
Visualrian.ru (RIA Novosti)
“The RIA Novosti Photo Service is Russia's most comprehensive photo resource, and is the largest such archive in any former Soviet country. The history of the RIA Novosti Photo Service began in 1941, when it provided visual news coverage for Soviet and foreign media. Its rich archive includes historical photographs from the 19th century in addition to its unrivaled collection of images by world famous photographers.”
The Jan Bulhak Digital Collection at the University at Buffalo Libraries
“The digital collection has 116 photographs from Warsaw, Krakow, Lublin, and the Kresy region, part of Jan Bułhak's 1939 collection entitled "Polska w obrazach fotograficznych Jana Bułhaka" ("Poland in Jan Bułhak’s photographic pictures") .”