Video

Title

Coverage

Producer

Description

Alexander Street

All Slavic

ProQuest

Many curated, discipline-focused, primary-source collections, websites, and streaming media are available to Harvard researchers. The resource is particularly strong in the fields of anthropology, history, diversity studies, theatre, film, music, dance, news, current affairs, and the social sciences. Specific audio, video, reference materials and primary sources available through Alexander Street collections can be accessed directly by title search in HOLLIS or by visiting the portal (follow the link provided).

Socialism On Film Module I & II online

Central Europe

Adam Matthew

This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.

Video appeals to the President of Russia (Zotero library) Russia Harvard library This extensive library collects online videos created as direct appeals to Vladimir Putin by Russian citizens. The videos contain requests for the president’s direct involvement in resolving local and national social, economic, legal and environmental problems, assessment of Putin’s leadership, advice to him, and birthday wishes.

 

Title

Coverage

Producer

Description

All Soviet movies on RVISION 

Soviet Union

Youtube

A Youtube channel presenting over 1300 out-of copyright Soviet films.

Belarusfilm : sovetskie filmy

Belarus, Soviet Union

Youtube

A Youtube channel presenting over 400 Soviet films created by Belarusfilm studio.

The John Glad Interviews-Conversations with Russian Writers USSR John Glad A series of videotaped interviews with leading Russian writers recorded in the early 1980's by John Glad who was then working at the Kennan Institute in Washington D.C. 

kultura.rf 

Russia

Russian Ministry of Culture

A site managed by the Russian Ministry of Culture, with open access to over 1500 films, 900 theater productions and 360 concerts online.

Lenfilm  

 

 

A Youtube channel presenting over 500 Soviet films created by Lenfilm studio.

net-film.ru Russia, Soviet Union Net-Film Ltd. An online archive of digitized Soviet documentary films, archival footage and TV programs produced by Soviet documentary studios and TV channels.
Novosibirsk oblast archive / Видеоархив Новосибирской области Russia Novosibirsk State Oblast Academic Library A searchable collection of documentary video archive related to Novosibirsk oblast.

Onlain-kinoteatr “Mosfil’ma” / Mosfil’m’s online theater

 

Soviet Union, Russia

Mosfil’m

The official Mosfil’m studio site offers free viewing of many of the films produced by the studio since 1923. The complete catalog can be searched by popularity rating, title or year of production. The site also offers curated collections arranged by subject or filmmaker.  The films that are available for viewing on the site are embedded Mosfil’m Youtube channel videos. Some videos have no subtiles, while others have optional subtitles in various languages. 

Odesskaia kinolstudiia 

Soviet Union, Ukraine

Youtube

A Youtube channel presenting hundreds of Soviet films created by Odessa film studio.

Russian Film Hub

Soviet Union, Russian

Richard Wess

A privately curated online guide to subtitled Russian and Soviet films available online via free access or through paid streaming services.

Stage Russia on Kanopy Russia Stage Russia/Kanopy A selection of theater productions and documentary films from Russia (in Russian w/ English subtitles) available in free streaming via Kanopy public library streaming platform (at participating public libraries). You’ll need to have a library card from your local library to gain access.