Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guide for SSCI 100 Anthropology and Psychology

Proseminar: Introduction to Graduate Studies in Anthropology and Psychology

Multidisciplinary Databases

  • Social Sciences Premium Collection is a core resource for research in the social sciences. Provides citations, abstracts, and full-text, along with dissertations, books and book chapters, and association papers. This database is large and will bring back many results, so after running a search, you can always limit your results using the filters, like publication date, source type, language, etc.
  • Academic Search Premier is a good interdisciplinary database of citations, abstracts, and full-text of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. 

Anthropology

  • Anthropology Plus provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. 
  • AnthroSource contains full-text of journals and newsletters published by the American Anthropological Association. 
  • Anthropology Online brings together a wide range of written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior.
  • Ethnographic Video Online contains classic and contemporary documentaries, with unpublished footage from anthropologists, ethnographers, indigenous media productions, and field and linter notes, biographies, and full-text materials.  

Psychology

  • PsycINFO is the best database for psychology research. It indexes and provides abstracts for the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines (psychiatry, education, linguistics, neurosciences, etc.) and is produced by the American Psychological Association. 
  • PsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration. 
  • Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) is a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavior measurement instruments. 
  • PubMed comprises over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, online books, and includes the fields of biomedicine, health, life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. Developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information ,at the U.S. National Library of Medicine, located at the National Institutes of Health.

Additional Databases

  • Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database that indexes major journals in the sciences and social sciences, and is especially useful to find who cited an article after it was published.
  • Sociological Abstracts is a core resource for researchers, professionals, and students in sociology, social planning/policy, and related disciplines.
  • Education 3-in-1 Articles Search provides a combined search of three of the best databases for education research: ERIC, Education Source, and Academic Search Premier. 
  • JSTOR provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. 
  • Google Scholar enables you to search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. This page provides help connecting Google Scholar to Harvard Library.