Book (and more) search

Worldcat

HathiTrust Digital Library: digital contents from over 50 institutions totalling over 7.9 million volumes are preserved and searchable.

Internet Archive

Google Books

books on Japan in English

*Primarily for Japanese sources

NDL Search :  a search portal of National Diet Library, which aims to be an access point for multi-format materials in public libraries, archives, museums, academic research institutions and NDL. 

CiNii-NII: a research portal created by the National Institute for Informatics of Japan for articles, Books, and Dissertations.  ID

 

Journal Articles and Dissertations

Bibliography of Asian Studies ID Citation only

JSTOR ID

E-Research @ Harvard ID

Dissertation and Thesis full text (UMI) ID

Google Scholar ID 


CiNii (NII 論文情報ナビゲーター) : Japanese academic journal search portal with links to digital contents when available; Refworks compatible. ID

Newspaper

Japan Times (1897-2014) ID

Japan Chronicle Weekly (1902 – 1940) ID

The Trans-Pacific (Sep 1919 - 1921) Via Hathi Trust.

Illustrated London News Historical Archive

Japan Weekly Mail 1870 (Vol.1, #1-50)

The Anglo-Japanese Gazette (Vol. 1-2, July 1902-June 1903)

America's Historical Newspapers ID
Yenching Library Newspaper Search

Historical Newspapers in Japanese ID Asahi, Yomiuri, Mainichi includes English dailies. 

Kikuzo Visual II for Libraries 聞蔵IIビジュアル for Libraries Asahi (1879-present) The site offers a photo archive with over 10,000 photos taken by Asahi journalists in Asia from 1928-1945.

Yomidas Rekishikan 読売新聞 Yomiuri (1874-present)

Nikkei Telecom 21 日経テレコン21 ID Nihon Keizai shinbun 日本経済新聞 (1876-present)

Maisaku Trial 毎日新聞 Mainichi

Keijo nippo 京城日報 / Kyŏngsŏng ilbo 경성일보 (1915-1935) 

 Taiwan jihō 臺灣時報 (1898-1945)

Taiwan nichinichi shinpō 臺灣日日新報 (1898-1944)
 

Digital contents

Japan Review :the refereed journal published by the International Research Center for Japanese Studies from volume 1 (1990) to volume 22 (2010) are available.

Japan Focus, Asia Pacific Journal

Japanese Book News is published quarterly by the Japan Foundation to make available to overseas readers up-to-date information on new books and recent topics of Japan’s publishing culture.

Tools

Writing tools

Research Management and Citation Tools at Harvard Comparisons and information regarding Endnote, Refworks, Zotero, and more.

Zotero this free citation management software works best in FireFox

Chicago Manual of Style 16th ed., fully searchable

Transliteration Tables for non-Roman Scripts: the definitive transliteration guide for transliterating words, names, titles, or text from a non-Roman script into the Roman script.

East Asian Research

東洋文庫 Toyo Bunko (Oriental library)

Annual Bibliography of Oriental Studies 東洋学文献類目
Harvard-Yenching Ref (J) DS5 .T69x (1934 - )
Citation index for scholarly literature on East Asia in Chinese, Japanese, Korean, and Western languages. Includes journal articles and monographs. Coverage is strongest for Chinese, Japanese, and Western languages. The online version covers scholarship published since 1981 and allows author and title keyword searching. It offers two interfaces:

  • Japanese-language interface: Search terms may be entered in Japanese, Chinese, Korean, or Western languages. Please note that characters, kana, and Western-language search terms will search for those precise terms. i.e. 蒙古, モンゴル, and Mongolia will retrieve different records. Please enter katakana terms with full-width katakana. Searching capability in han'gul is limited.
  • Western-language interface: Searching in Western scripts only for Western-language materials.