Bibliography

Bibliography of Japanese History up to 1912 created by Peter Kornicki

Catalogue of the pre-1900 printed books on Japan in European languages housed in the library of the International Research Center for Japanese Studies; 1,057 items.

Primary sources

Sources of East Asian tradition: The Modern period, edited by Wm. Theodore de Bary.

Sources of Japanese tradition: 1600 to 2000, compiled by Wm. Theodore de Bary ... [et al.].

Foreign media

Anglo-Japnese Gazzette (July 1902-June 1903)

In print

Japan and the Illustrated London news : complete record of reported events, 1853-1899 / compiled and introduced by Terry Bennett ; with a historical perspective by Hugh Cortazzi ; indexed by J.E. Hoare.

Egakareta bakumatsu Meiji : Irasutoreiteddo Rondon Nyūsu Nihon Tsūshin 1853-1902 / Kanai Madoka henyaku.
描かれた幕末明治 : イラストレイテッド・ロンドン・ニュース日本通信1853-1902 / 金井圓編訳.

E-journals

Early Modern Japan: an interdisciplinary journal

Japan Review :the refereed journal published by the International Research Center for Japanese Studies from volume 1 (1990) to volume 22 (2010) are available.

Japan Focus, Asia Pacific Journal

Japanese Book News is published quarterly by the Japan Foundation to make available to overseas readers up-to-date information on new books and recent topics of Japan’s publishing culture.

Institutions

National Archives of Japan 国立公文書館
Searchable catalog of 490,000 volumes of Naikaku bunko 內閣文庫, which includes official documents since the Edo 江戸government and other historically significant books and manuscripts.

Internationa Reserach Center for Japanese Studies 国際日本文化研究センター

Edo Tokyo Museum 江戸東京博物館

National Museum of Japanese History 国立歴史民俗博物館
The museum is digitizing its primary documents and compiling bibliographies and a collection catalog.

Pre-Modern period　江戸時代・近世

Western Books on Japan, selected titles, more here. More books on Japan.

The history of Japan, by Kaempfer, Engelbert. London, 1727. Enter from the link in the Hollis record.

日本植物誌 Flora Japonica, by Philipp Franz Balthazar Siebold, 1835-1870.

日本動物誌 Fauna Japonica, by philip Franz Balthazar Siebold, 1835-1870.

Narrative of my captivity in Japan, during the years 1811, 1812 & 1813 : with observations on the country and the people, by Captain Golownin, 1818.

Illustrations of Japan : consisting of private memoirs and anecdotes of the reigning dynasty of the Djogouns, or sovereigns of Japan, by Titsingh, 1822.

Japan : an account, geographical and historical : from the earliest period at which the islands composing this empire were known to Europeans, down to the present time, and the expedition fitted out in the United States, etc. by Charles Mac Farlane, 1852.

Denki-etcetera 173 biographical data of late Edo intellectuals, created by Anna Beerns.

SODA Collection: Pictorial and Miscellaneous Materials: the collection of the medical historian SODA Hajime (1921-1996) contains books and prints related to the history of medicine, history of pharmacy and the cultural history of medicine.

Hanaoka Seishu's "Surgical Casebook" held by National Library of Medicine

Modern History　近代

京都大学維新資料画像データベース

Japan Center for Asian Historical Records (JACAR) アジア歴史資料センター

国会図書館憲政資料室 Modern Japanese Political History Materials Room, NDL

Modern Japan in Archive: Political history from the opening of the country to post-war 国会図書館「史料にみる日本の近代」

"The World and Japan" Basic Documents of Japanese Politics and International Relations since Meiji governmnet are compiled by Tanaka Akihiko, University of Tokyo.

Official catalogue of the Japanese section, and descriptive notes on the industry and agriculture of Japan. Philadelphia, Published by the Japanese Commission, 1876.

Japan at War and Peace, 1930-1949: U.S. State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Japan

『写真週報』創刊号ー３５２号（1938−1944） All issues of the weekly graphic magazine Shashin Shuho are viewable.