How to find the right FILM?

•Sources for Screening Films
•Cinema Studies Journals
•Film Reviews
•Film Ephemera
•Filmography

Screening Films

Streaming Films (i.e. Swank, Kanopy):  Streaming Video @ Harvard (here)

Production Information: •IMDB  •Wikipedia  •All Movie

•American Film Institute Catalog (Harvard only) Production information and plot summaries for every American film from 1893-1975, with less comprehensive information for post 1975 films.

Distributors (i.e. Bullfrog Films, Good Docs)

Film, TV & Media Database

There are several databases that will be useful for finding articles on films and filmmakers as well as contemporary reviews of films. While you will find overlapping coverage among them, each of them searches certain unique journals so for the most comprehensive results you'll want to search each of these.   https://guides.library.harvard.edu/filmper

•JSTORE
•Film, TV, Theater, and Dance
•The most comprehensive database, with coverage back to 1914 (although most coverage is 1980 to date). This is the best place to start.
•Film Literature Index (Harvard only)
•Coverage only from 1976-2001 but contains some material not found in Film & Television Literature Index.
•Less essential, but there are still a handful of titles found here and not elsewhere.

Film Ephemera

Film Ephemera :  Posters, lobby cards, advertising material, and other collateral from the film making and exhibiting business are often housed in university libraries and archives.

•Lothar and Eva Just Stills Collection. (Harvard collection of film ephemera)

Film Reviews

Industry Magazines

ProQuest - Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (Hollis Databases)

1880–2000) covers film, broadcasting, popular music and theatre.

•Variety (1905-2000), 
•Billboard (1894-2000), 
•Broadcasting (1931-2000)
•The Stage (1880-2000).

Google Magazines has full text of many 20th century magazines, including Life, Ebony, Rolling Stone  

Reader's Guide Retrospective (WilsonWeb) (1890-1982) indexes many popular periodicals. 

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 offers over 170 periodicals from 26 states including academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations’ bulletins, annual reports, etc.

International Index to Black Periodicals (1902- ; some full-text 1998- ) indexes over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean

Newspapers

Search all ProQuest news sources using: Proquest News & Newspapers.  Search across all newspapers, or select a custom group of titles to search across, rather than searching just one title.

For smaller cities and towns, use:

•Newspapers.com. World collection (early 1700s-early 2000s). Includes papers from US, Australia, Canada, England, Ireland, Northern Ireland, Panama and Wales.  If you choose Browse at the top, you get a convenient breakdown of the available papers. If you hit Add more info in the search box, you can add place and date.
•NewspaperARCHIVE offers numerous newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries.  Contains many small-city newspapers.
•Ethnic Newspaper
•Ethnic NewsWatch (1959- ) offers full-text of 90 newspapers and other periodicals (1990- ) and of 30 African American, Hispanic American, and Native American newspapers and other periodicals (1959-1989). Includes book/film/television reviews. Lists of periodicals by ethnicity. Includes African American, Arab American, Asian American, European American, Hispanic/Latino/Chicano, Jewish, Native American newspapers. For more newspapers by ethnicity, see: U.S. Ethnic Newspaper Sources
For big city papers use:
•