Anthropology Research

• Annual Reviews  (Harvard Key required) 

Searches review articles, including the Annual Review of Anthropology.

• Oxford Bibliographies (Harvard Key required) 

Articles that are written and reviewed by scholars, which provide an overview of a topic and an annotated bibliography.​

• Very Short Introductions Online  (Harvard Key required) 

Concise introductions to a diverse range of subjects. 

• Anthropology Plus (Harvard Key required) 

A good source for finding book reviews, both historical and current. 

• Google Books (some content free / open access) 

A useful tool for searching within books and seeing book previews. 

• HOLLIS  (some content free / open access) 

Contains information about the many different types of items held in the Harvard Library.

• Academic Search Premier (Harvard Key required) 

A general-purpose database covering scholarly journals as well as more mainstream publications. 

• Anthropology Plus (Harvard Key required) 

Searches the major literature, including journals, in anthropology and related fields. 

• AnthroSource (Harvard Key required) 

Searches journals published by the American Anthropological Association.

• Google Scholar  (some content free / open access) 

Searches many different types of publications across a variety of disciplines. Learn how to connect Google Scholar to your library access. 

• HRAF Archaeology (Harvard Key required) 

Searches books, journal articles, dissertations, and manuscripts. 

• JSTOR (Harvard Key required) 

Searches many different types of publications across a variety of disciplines. ​

• See More: Harvard Library Databases Search Page

See all of the Harvard Library's databases. 

• HOLLIS  (some content free / open access) 

Contains information about the many different types of items held in the Harvard Library.

• Harvard Dataverse (free / open access) 

Harvard's open online repository for sharing, preserving, citing, exploring, and analyzing research data.

• Harvard Map Collection (Harvard ID or Special Borrower Card required)

Offer Harvard affiliates support for and access to a number of mapping and geographic information systems tools, as well as cartographic design support.

• Harvard Geospatial Library (free / open access) 

A catalog and search tool for regional and local geographic data and georeferenced scanned paper maps.

• ARTstor (some content free / open access) 

Contains images from museums, libraries, and archives from all over the world. 

• Google Arts & Culture (free / open access) 

​​​A massive online platform that contains images from over 130 museums from around the world.

• HOLLIS  Images (some content free / open access) 

Includes content from archives, museums, libraries, and other collections throughout Harvard University.

• DASH (free / open access) 

Harvard's central, open-access repository for research by Harvard community members. Contains Harvard anthropology dissertations from 2012-present and some undergraduate theses.

• HOLLIS (some content free / open access) 

Find dissertations and theses written by scholars from Harvard. 

• ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (Harvard Key required) 

Find dissertations and theses written by scholars from North American universities. Most post-1990 titles are available with full-text.