Anthropology Research

• Annual Reviews  (Harvard Key required): Searches review articles, including the Annual Review of Anthropology.
• Oxford Bibliographies (Harvard Key required): Articles that are written and reviewed by scholars, which provide an overview of a topic and an annotated bibliography.​
• Very Short Introductions Online (Harvard Key required): Concise introductions to a diverse range of subjects. 

• Anthropology Plus (Harvard Key required): A good source for finding book reviews, both historical and current. 
• Google Books (some content  free / open access): A useful tool for searching within books and seeing book previews. 
• HOLLIS (some content  free / open access): Contains information about the many different types of items held in the Harvard Library.​

• Academic Search Premier (Harvard Key required): A general-purpose database covering scholarly journals as well as more mainstream publications.
• Anthropology Plus (Harvard Key required): Searches the major literature, including journals, in anthropology and related fields. 
• AnthroSource (Harvard Key required): Searches journals published by the American Anthropological Association.
• Google Scholar (some content  free / open access): Searches many different types of publications across a variety of disciplines. Learn how to connect Google Scholar to your library access. ​
• PsycINFO (Harvard Key required): The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
• PubMed (Harvard Key required): Search biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life-science journals, and online books.
• Web of Science (Harvard Key required): Indexes the world’s leading scholarly literature across the disciplines, with cited reference searching and filters that indicate markers of quality.
• View More: Harvard Library Databases Search Page: See all of the Harvard Library's databases. 

• Anthropological Fieldwork Online (Harvard Key required): Contains primary sources related to landmark ethnographies written by anthropologists like Bronislaw Malinowski and Ruth Benedict. 
• Anthropology Online (Harvard Key required): Brings together a wide range of written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies.
• Ethnographic Video Online (Harvard Key required): A large video streaming library of ethnographic films and documentaries. 
• Google Books (some content free / open access): A useful tool for searching within books. Once you find a book that you are interested in, check HOLLIS to see if Harvard owns it. When searching, include the terms ethnography or ethnographic. 
• HOLLIS (some content free / open access): Contains information about the many different types of items held in the Harvard Library. When searching, include the terms ethnography or ethnographic. ​
• HRAF World Cultures (Harvard Key required): Contains a variety of primary source materials on over 400 cultures. 

• Harvard Dataverse (free / open access): Harvard's open online repository for sharing, preserving, citing, exploring, and analyzing research data.
• Harvard Health Data Resources: International (free / open access): A guide to international health data created by Harvard's data librarians. 
• Harvard Health Data Resources: United States (free / open access): A guide to U.S. health data created by Harvard's data librarians.

• DASH (free / open access): Harvard's central, open-access repository for research by Harvard community members. Contains Harvard anthropology dissertations from 2012-present and some undergraduate theses.
• HOLLIS (some content  free / open access): Find dissertations and theses written by scholars from Harvard. 
• ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (Harvard Key required): Find dissertations and theses written by scholars from North American universities. Most post-1990 titles are available with full-text.