Written by Kate Gannett Wells and published in 1885, this book contains chapters on individuality, the "transitional woman," and "caste in American society." About People is available online via Google Books.

This book by William Cobbett is fully entitled Advice to young men: and (incidentally) to young women, in the middle and higher ranks of life : in a series of letters, addressed to a youth, a bachelor, a lover, a husband, a citizen or a subject. Advice to Young Men is available online via Google Books.

Written by Mrs. Charles Harcourt and published in 1907, the Blue Book of Etiquette for Women is available online via Google Books.

Written by Walter Cox Green and publised in 1922, The Book of Good Manners is available online via Google Books.

Written by Florence Howe Hall, this book was published in 1888. The Correct Thing is available online via Harvard's Mirador Viewer.

This illustrated book was written by Emily Holt and published in 1902. The Encyclopedia of Etiquette is available online via Google Books.

Written by Agnes H. Morton and published in 1899, Etiquette is available online via Google Books.

This book is attributed to Monsignor Giovanni Della Cassa, and was published in 1811. Galateo is available online via Google Books.

Published under the pseudonym Fanny Fern in 1870, this book contains vignettes of nineteenth century life, chiefly in New England, covering such topics as dinner parties, the bride's new house, mourning attire, choosing presents, female clerks, English notions about women, women as speakers, servants, hospitality, men and their clothes, travel, family life and children. Ginger-Snaps is available online via Google Books.

This book was written by Heloise Edwina Hersey and published in 1902. To Girls is available online via Google Books.

Written by Richard A. Wells and published in 1894, Manners, Culture, and Dress is available online via Harvard's Mirador Viewer.

This book was published in 1837 in Philadelphia. Manual of Politeness is available online via Google Books.

This book was written by Mathew Carey and published in 1838. Philosophy of Common Sense is available online via Harvard's Mirador Viewer.

This book was written by Florence Howe Hall and published in 1911. Social Customs is available online via Google Books.

Written under the pseudonym Mrs. H. O. Ward, this book was published in 1892. Social Ethics is available online via Google Books.

Published in 1888 and written by Rose E. Cleveland, this book contains chapters on entering society, the art of conversation, mothering and family government, and culture in the home. The Social Mirror is available online via Google Books.

This book is attributed to François de Salignac de La Mothe-Fénelon, and was published in 1821. The Treatise is available online via Google Books.

This book was written by Helen Gilbert Ecob and published in 1892. The Well-Dressed Woman is available online via Cornell University Library's Digital Collections.

Under the auspices of the Schlesinger Library, the Black Women Oral History Project interviewed 72 African-American women between 1976 and 1981. The project sought a cross section of women who had made significant contributions to American society in the first half of the twentieth century. Many of these women spoke on the topic of domestic labor in their interviews, including Melnea Cass, Pleasant Harrison, Annie Nipson, and Esther Mae Scott. The collection consists of audio tapes and transcripts, all have which have been digitized and are available online through the Black Women Oral History Project finding aid, and searchable in Schlesinger Library's subject guide on the Black Women Oral History Project.

The Commercialization of the Home through Industrial Home Work was published by the United States Department of Labor Women's Bureau in 1935. This resource contains statistical information and legislative reports. Commercialization of the Home is available online via Harvard's Mirador Viewer.

Published in 1924, this bibliographic work was written by Annie Isabel Robertson, a home economics teacher at Hartford Public High School. Guide to Literature of Home and Family Life is available online via HathiTrust.

Written by noted author and speaker Charlotte Perkins Gilman, The Home is a book about women and domesticity published in 1910. In it, Gilman advocates for women's economic independence as an avenue towards the improvement of marriage and domestic work. The Schlesinger Library holds two major Gilman manuscript collections: Papers of Charlotte Perkins Gilman, 1846-ca.1975 and Papers of Charlotte Perkins Gilman, 1860-1935. In addition to correspondence and diaries, these collections include copies of Gilman’s lectures and articles written on similar topics, including shared kitchens. Schlesinger Library has digitized all of this material which can be accessed in the Charlotte Perkins Gilman Digital Collection.

This etiquette book was written by Samuel Burrage Reed and published in 1878. House Plans for Everybody is available online via Google Books.

Written by Mrs. Christine Frederick and published for the first time in 1915 by the Home Economics Association, this book contains recommendations for the efficient home maker, including family financing and record-keeping, how to run a servantless household (or, alternatively, how to manage houseworkers), and methods of daily planning of housework. Household Engineering is available online through Harvard's Mirador Viewer.

This short bulletin was published by the United States Department of Labor's Wage and Labor Standard Administration Women's Bureau in 1969. It contains statistics and analyses on wages (as well as payment and collection), hours of work, unemployment compensation, and social security. Online access to Labor Laws Affecting Private Household Workers is available via HathiTrust.

Published in 1906 and written by Lucy Maynard Salmon, this etiquette book contains such chapters as "Put Yourself in His Place," "Education in the Household," and "The Relation of College Women to Domestic Science." Progress in the Household is available online via Google Books.

The Women's Educational and Industrial Union was a non-profit social and educational agency founded in 1877 by Dr. Harriet Clisby with the goal of increasing "fellowship among women and to promote the best practical methods for securing their educational, industrial, and social advancement." This collection includes a manuscript history of the Union, printed material regarding the work and operation of various departments, and reports from the Appointment Bureau and Research Department. One item, the WEIU Bulletin's Vocation Series from 1911-1912, has been digitized and made available in the online finding aid for the Union's records. Although not digitized, related material can be found in the Additional Records of the Women's Educational and Industrial Union.

A feminist and long-time activist with the National Organization for Women (NOW) and the Feminist Majority Foundation, Virginia A. "Toni" Carabillo joined NOW in 1966 and one year later helped found the California chapters. She served as president of the Los Angeles Chapter of NOW (1968-1970, 1980-1982), was a member of NOW’s national Board of Directors (1968-1977), served as a national Vice President (1971-1974), and chaired NOW’s National Advisory Committee (1975-1977). She was also the director (ca. 1980) of the NOW Equal Rights Amendment Countdown office in Los Angeles during the final ratification drive. Judith Kay Meuli, an activist in NOW since 1967, met Carabillo at a meeting of NOW in 1967. Carabillo was president of the newly founded Los Angeles NOW and needed someone to run for secretary; Meuli volunteered. They were soon in a political partnership – and relationship – that lasted from 1968 until Carabillo’s death in 1997. Some of the collection has been digitized and made available in the online finding aid for the Carabillo and Meuli Papers.

Feminist, activist, and author Betty Goldstein Friedan helped found the National Organization for Women and served as its first president (1966-1970). Her first book, The Feminine Mystique, was published in 1963. Afterward, Friedan quickly became a leading advocate for change in the status of women in the United States. Her subsequent books include It Changed My Life (1976), The Second Stage (1981), and The Fountain of Age (1993). Friedan advocated for the Equal Rights Amendment through her work with NOW and debated Phyllis Schlafly about the issue. Digitized files of her radio broadcasts, speeches, and lectures in the online finding aid for the Audio Collection of Betty Friedan, including recordings of her debate of the ERA with Phyllis Schlaffly.

This collection consists of NOW chapter newsletters from the United States and affiliates in France, Germany, and the Philippines. The newsletters, which vary greatly in length and substance, provide a window into social and political issues relevant to local groups of women across the country. Newsletter topics include information and positions on national, state, and local legislation (e.g., Equal Rights Amendment, reproductive rights, employment issues, etc.); upcoming events (demonstrations, rallies, fundraising activities, etc.); summaries of meetings and task force activities; lists of officers (and occasionally, numbers and names of members); coalitions with other groups; etc. Digital material from the collection is available in the online finding aid for the NOW Chapter Newsletter Collection.

A Quaker, lawyer, and lifelong activist for women's rights, Alice Paul was appointed chair of the Congressional Committee of the National American Woman Suffrage Association in 1912. In June 1916, following a clash between advocates of a federal amendment and proponents of a state-by-state approach, Paul founded the National Woman's Party, its sole plank a resolution calling for immediate passage of the federal amendment guaranteeing the enfranchisement of women. After the ratification of the suffrage amendment in 1920, the NWP began a long battle to end all legal discrimination against women in the United States and to raise the legal, social, and economic status of women around the world. The Equal Rights Amendment, as written by Paul in 1923, was first introduced in Congress in December of that year. A vast amount of digital material is available in the online finding aid for the Papers of Alice Paul.

This collection consists of 26 audiotaped interviews conducted by Janet K. Boles between January and May 1974 with state legislators and groups of supporters and opponents of the ERA in Texas, Illinois, and Georgia. Boles is the author of The Politics of the Equal Rights Amendment: Conflict and the Decision Process (1979), one of the first books to examine state ratification of the ERA. Audio files from the collection have been digitized and made available in the online finding aid for the Politics of the ERA Audiotape Collection.

Rankin was a pacifist, feminist, and congresswoman representing Montana. She was the only member of Congress to vote against United States participation in both world wars. In the 1920s, she worked for the National Consumers' League and the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom, and founded the Georgia Peace Society. She traveled extensively, especially in India, and worked for the Equal Rights Amendment. The collection contains correspondence, card files, financial papers, articles, speeches, pamphlets, leafless, and other materials. Digitized audio of interviews with Rankin is available in the online finding aid for the Papers of Jeannette Rankin.

Rupp and Taylor conducted interviews with women who played significant roles in the American women's rights movement as research for their book Survival in the Doldrums: The American Women's Rights Movement, 1945 to the 1960s. Each interviewee is asked to discuss when or if she became a feminist, the women's movement during the period from World War II through the early 1960s, and her relationship to the National Women's Party (NWP). Three audiotapes have been digitized and made available in the online finding aid for the Rupp and Taylor Interview Collection.

Doris Stevens (Oberlin, B.A., 1911) was active in organizations for the advancement of women both in the United States and internationally, in addition to being an author and composer. She was a suffrage organizer and a member of the National Woman's Party and the Lucy Stone League. She also served as chair of the Inter-American Commission of Women (1928-1939). In 1931 Stevens became the first woman member of the American Institute of International Law. A vast amount of material from the collection has been digitized and made available in the online finding aid for the Papers of Doris Stevens.

Katie Louchheim was a government official and was active in the Democratic Party. The collection contains transcripts of oral history interviews conducted by Katie Louchheim with Congresswomen, and the digitized audiotape of her interview with Julia Butler Hansen, a member of the House of Representatives from Washington's third district, is available openly online.

The collection is made up of audiotapes and transcripts of interviews of congresswomen and women in government service, which Lamson conducted for her book Few Are Chosen (1968). The audio recording of Lamson's interview of Patsy Mink has been digitized and made available in the online finding aid for the Papers of Peggy Lamson.

The National Women's Political Caucus (NWPC) was formed in 1971 as a multiparty organization seeking to gain an equal voice and place for women in the political process at the local, state and national levels. The Caucus and its state affiliates support women candidates for elected and appointive offices and seek to ensure that women hold policy-making positions in all political parties. The collection documents the internal and external activities and the philosophy of the National Women's Political Caucus, particularly after 1977. Digital material is available in the online finding aid for the NWPC Audiotape Collection.

A pacifist and feminist (University of Montana, B.A., 1902), Rankin was the first woman elected to congress, representing Montana for the 1917-1919 and 1941-1943 terms; she also was the only member of Congress to vote against U.S. participation in both world wars. The collection includes campaign materials, speeches, and correspondence with both government officials and constituents. Some material from the collection has been digitized and made available in the online finding aid for the Papers of Jeanette Rankin. There is related material in the Additional Papers of Jeanette Rankin.

Under the auspices of the Schlesinger Library, with support from the National Endowment for the Humanities, the Women in Federal Government Oral History Project has interviewed 39 women in appointive and civil service positions in various departments and offices of the United States federal government. The collection consists of tapes and transcripts of the oral histories and supporting documentation. Topics covered include the interviewee's family background, education, choice and development of career and how it was affected by her sex, personal circumstances, memberships in organizations, awards, and her attitudes towards the Equal Rights Amendment and the women's movement. The audio of two interviews, those of Lucile Atcherson Curtis and Isabelle M. Kelley, has been digitized and made available in the online finding aid for the Interviews.