Library Research Guide for South Asian Studies

 

• Read this FAQ to learn: How can I access government documents and microforms from Lamont Level D?

HOLLIS

Maps can be searched for in the library catalog.
 

How to find?

How to find maps in the library catalog:

• Open HOLLIS, Harvard's library catalog.
• Above the search bar, there are options for different types of searches. Select Advanced Search. 
• An expanded search box will appear. At the top of the search box is the text Search for and options to search the entire system or to limit the search to only materials which Harvard holds. There are also the options to search for reserves or by barcode. Select Library Catalog. This will limit the search to only materials which Harvard holds.
• In the expanded search box is the text Search Filters. On the right side of the expanded search box is the text Resource Type. This filter limits the search to a specific type of resource, such as books, articles, databases, or archival materials. Click the downward arrow in the box below the text Resource Type and select Maps. 
• Enter a search term for what you are looking for into the search box with the text Enter a search term. 
• Select the Search button in the bottom right corner of the expanded search box. 

This search will retrieve maps held at Harvard.
 

Harvard Map Collection Index

A list of maps at Harvard which cannot be found through the library catalog.
 

Harvard University Mapping Past Societies Project

A map project using ArcGIS to visualize ancient and medieval archaeological features across Europe.

DLHS. 1-3 (District Level Household & Facility Survey: Reproductive & Child Health Project) 

This data set tracks health information in India. First survey dates: 1998-1999; second survey dates: 2002-2004; third survey dates: 2007-2008.

India District Profiles, 2011; Block Map of India with Primary Census Abstract (PCA) Data, 2011; Village Map India, 2011: Arwal District, Begusarai District, Jehanabad District, Nawada District, Patna District, Saran District & Siwan District 

Includes three different data sets: District profile map of India includes 1 layer of country-wide District boundaries with related socio-economic and demographic data ; Block map of India includes 2 layers of country-wide Block boundaries with related Primary Census Abstract (PCA) data ; Village Map India, 2011 includes layers with boundaries of villages for 7 Districts of India with demographic, socio-economic, and household data.

India: Maps and Data 

These present-day and 20th-century maps of India are provided by ML InfoMap, India’s first Geographic Information company. They include countrywide, current and historical, geo-referenced and structured map data for India. Administrative and electoral boundaries; village, panchayat and city ward boundaries are all linked to Census demographics. Urban locality and sub-locality names are available for more than 1000 Indian cities. Some products include location data for 6-digit postal codes, telecom circles, health & education infrastructure, crime and economic indicators. Other maps track climatic variables, rivers and watersheds, soils and major crops. Road networks are suitable for navigation. Millions of Points of Interest form part of ML Infomap’s repository. All data sets are available in WGS84.

Indian Census (HOLLIS Search) 

The Indian Census is the largest single source of a variety of statistical information on different characteristics of the people of India. It is administered every 10 years, beginning with 1872 when the first census was conducted in India non-synchronously in different parts. The responsibility of conducting the decennial Census rests with the Office of the Registrar General and Census Commissioner, India under Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of India. NOTE: Click on this link to initiate a search in HOLLIS for records of the Library's holdings of the Indian census. Feel free to add additional keywords, or refine the results using criteria presented on the right side of the search results screen. For example, you may refine the results to only those copies that are available online.

Documents in Lamont Library

Lamont Library is a depository library, meaning that it collects government documents and data and makes them available to the public. Collections span the world, not only the United States. Because the government documents floor is closed to browsing, items must be paged at the front desk for consultation on other floors. To receive access to Lamont Library for purposes of using government documents, see our page on Visitor Access. In the government documents collections at Lamont, materials relevant to South Asian Studies can be found under the following call numbers, which are browsable in HOLLIS by anyone or by appointment for Harvard affiliates (speak with your liaison librarian or contact Data and Government Information Collections staff at govdocs@fas.harvard.edu):

• Ind Doc (government publications) [Browse by Call number - Old Widener]
  • India: Ind Doc 1 and onward (e.g., Ind Doc 2, 102, 103, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 114, 116, 132, 133, 134, 135, 148, 149, 403, 1807) 
  • Pakistan: Ind Doc 2002 and onward
  • Bangladesh: Ind Doc 2400 and onward
  • Sri Lanka: Ind Doc 2507 and onward
  • Maldives: Ind Doc 2950 and onward
  • Afghanistan: Ind Doc 3007 and onward
  • Nepal: Ind Doc 3300 and onward
  • Myanmar; Bhutan: Ind Doc 3507 and onward
  • Thailand: Ind Doc 3802 and onward
  • Malaysia: Ind Doc 4003 and onward
  • Singapore: Ind Doc 4303 and onward
  • Brunei: Ind Doc 4705 and onward
  • Sarawak: 4807 and onward
  • Vietnam: 5107 and onward
  • Cambodia: 5707 and onward
• Ind Doc (government publications) [Browse by Call number - Other]

 

Online Resources for Government Information

India From Crown Rule to Republic, 1945–1949; Records of the U.S. State Department

Provides access to 53,824 images of RG 59, Records of the Department of State, Central Files, India, 1945-1949, Decimal numbers 645, 745, 845 and 711.45. The collection consists of thousands of pages arranged topically and chronologically on subjects, such as: political parties and elections, unrest and revolution, human rights, government, administration, fiscal and monetary issues, labor, housing, police and crime, public health, national defense, foreign policymaking, wars and alliances, education, religion, culture, trade, industry, foreign relations, and natural resources.

Official Publications of India

Government documents related to pre- and post-Independence South Asia.
 

Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan; 1947-1980

This collection consists of the main British Government files on South Asia. Section I covers the period between Indian and Pakistani independence and the death of Jawaharlal Nehru. Section II covers the period from Nehru’s death to the separation of Bangladesh from Pakistan and the subsequent war and humanitarian crisis. The period also saw renewed war between India and Pakistan over Kashmir (August-September 1965), the accession to power in India of Indira Gandhi, Nehru’s daughter, and the continuance of military government in Pakistan under Yahya Khan. The documents, from the Dominions Office (renamed Office of Commonwealth Relations in 1947) and Foreign Office, include diplomatic despatches, correspondence, newspaper cuttings, economic and military reports, statistical analyses, maps, photographs, minutes of meetings, and leaflets and other ephemera.

ABD Data Library 

From the Asian Development Bank. A great resource for government information and data from Asian countries, including many in South Asia. Data is publicly available and published according to open data standards (DCAT).

IndiaStat: Revealing India . . . Statistically 

Provides a broad range of statistics on India at the national, sectoral, and state level. The data can be downloaded in MS-Word, MS-Excel, or HTML format. Access to the associated state level sites is also provided here. The site is frequently updated. ACCESS NOTE: Contact Lamont Government Documents for the password: govdocs@fas.harvard.edu
 

States of India (CMIE) 

Provides statistics, official documents of state governments, comments of CMIE analysts on the data and CMIE forecasts. The statistics are sourced from official documents and from CMIE's own monitoring machinery. These are presented in formatted tabulations, which are updated regularly. The service also provides scanned copies of the original official documents, such as the Statistical Abstracts. CMIE analysts comment on the trend seen in individual states, on significant developments in a state and also on inter-state comparisons on various parameters Data from tabulations can be exported to charting and mapping tools that form an integral part of the service. Tabulations, charts and maps are inter-active. The data can be exported to spreadsheets. The database is updated everyday as new data becomes available. ACCESS NOTE: Restricted to users with a valid Harvard ID or who are on campus using a computer with a Harvard IP address. Once connected, you will need to create a login with your own e-mail address.
 

Annual Survey of Industries (ASI). Detailed unit level data 

Contains detailed unit level data; also contains text files with data dictionaries and other technical documentation.
 

Annual Survey of Industries. (ASI). (panel level) (common factory-ID) data for year 

Contains detail-level data; also contains text files with data dictionaries and other technical documentation.

Joint Sitting of Houses of Parliament Debates 

Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha

British Library Maps

The British Library has one of the largest collections of maps, plans and topographical views in the world, numbering some 4.5 million, with a chronological spread of over 2,000 years.