Library Research Guide for South Asian Studies

British Library Resources for South Asian Studies and catalogue

 

Columbia University South and Southeast Asian Studies Library

Includes access to the South Asia Resource Access on the Internet (SARAI) Library, also known as the South Asian Studies Virtual Library, which includes maps, periodicals, and statistics for South Asia in general, over a lengthy period of history. Unusually, it also holds literary sources (recitals and bibliographies), particularly on Urdu and Bangladeshi literature.

Digital South Asia Library

The Digital South Asia Library, a project of the Center for Research Libraries, is a global collaborative effort to make important and rare South Asian resources available to the international community.
 

Internet Archive

Includes a growing number of materials, including Cultural Resources of India.
 

Library Hub Discover

Search a database of 179 UK and Irish academic, national & specialist library catalogues.
 

Nizami Ganjavi Library, South Asia Collection, University of Oxford Bodleian Libraries
 

Research Guide to the South Asian Collection at the Library of Congress 
 

South Asia digital collection from the Library of Congress 

This full-text digital collection, hosted by the Internet Archive (IA), represents a subset of South Asia collections held by the Library of Congress.
 

South Asian Studies collections at the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) 

Harvard is affiliated with CRL and you may order materials from CRL through interlibrary loan.
 

South Asia Union Catalogue

The South Asia Union Catalogue is an historical bibliography describing books and periodicals published in Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, colonial Burma, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka from 1556 through the present and a union catalogue of holdings.
 

Southern Asia Collection at the University of Chicago Library
 

Urdu library catalog of the Urdu Research Centre (URLC)

URLC has made accessible the private Urdu collection of Mr. Abdus Samad Khan. Mr. Samad Khan's library is widely considered one of the world's finest for early Urdu periodicals and printed books. Holdings are well rounded across all areas of Urdu publishing. Most imprints date from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries and are unavailable at any U.S. library. There are over 26,000 monograph titles in the URLC collection.
 

WorldCAT

There is also a public interface to WorldCAT database.