yuu

Fortune Magazine (1930-2002) includes front and back covers as well as advertisements and all articles

Google Magazines has full text of many 20th century magazines, including Life (1936-1972).  List of Magazines included. Full text searchable.

Nation Archives (1865- ) includes full text of complete run of The Nation. Annual update lags behind 1 year. Full text searchable.

New Republic Archive (1914- )

Newsweek is available via Nexis Uni from 1975-2013. 

Opinion Archives offers a full text, as well as author/title, search of full runs of the following opinion periodicals:
American Spectator (1972- ) - Commentary – (1945- ) Commonweal (1924) - Dissent (1954- ) - Harpers Magazine (1850- ) - Moment (1975- )- NACLA (1966- ) - Nation (1965- ) - National Review (1955- ) - New Leader (1924- ) - New Republic (1914- ) - New York Review (1963- ) - New Yorker (1925- ) - Orion Magazine (1982- ) - Progressive (1909- )- Washington Monthly (1969- ) - Weekly Standard (1995- ) Full text searchable.

The political orientation of several of these magazine, together with that of several others, is specified in the News and Opinion section of the biennial Magazines for Libraries (1969- ).

A history of American magazines, by Frank Luther Mott. Cambridge, Mass.: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 1938-1968, 5 v.
FindIt@Harvard
--V. 1. 1741-1850 -- v. 2. 1850-1865 -- v. 3. 1865-1885 -- v. 4. 1885-1905 -- v. 5. Sketches of 21 magazines, 1905-1930, with a cumulative index to the five volumes.

PAIS International and PAIS Archive (1917- ) covers the literature of public policy. Indexes over 1200 periodicals, essays in books, and books in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.

Periodicals Index Online indexes contents of thousands of journals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 1995. Covers journals from North America, the United Kingdom, and the rest of the English-speaking world and journals in other European languages including French, German, Italian and Spanish. Includes the complete table of contents for each issue of each journal.

ProQuest - Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (1880–2000) covers film, broadcasting, popular music and theatre.

Reader's Guide Retrospective (WilsonWeb) (1890-1982) indexes many popular periodicals. 

 

Vogue Archive (1892- ) full text of all issues of Vogue magazine

African American

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 offers over 170 periodicals from 26 states including academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations’ bulletins, annual reports, etc.

 Ebony in Google magazines (1959-2008)

International Index to Black Periodicals (1902- ; some full-text 1998- ) indexes over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean.